We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”
Review of Atrium Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atrium Resort
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Staff, Services and actual rooms were great! Was a tad dirty from the previous person before (smudges on window/ crumbs in a nightstand drawer) but other than that it was really awesome and I do recommend it for anyone wanting to own a time-share. I do have to say though that I would have more fun if we had not gone during the off-season.

Room Tip: 5th floor was nice and quiet
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuana T, General Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

We thank you for your great review of the Atrium Resort staff and facilities. The issues you expressed concerning the unit have been addressed, and we certainly look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Atrium Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

my girlfriend and I stayed at the atrium resort 9/22/11 and we loved the time we spent thier.the room was neat, clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful..we even got help and directions from the young lady that was cleaning. we had to leave a day early because of a matter back home, but besides that their was one negative...it rained everyday of our stay..if tha atrium staff could have done something about that, it would have been perfect...we recommend this resort.

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LARRY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuana T, General Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

We appreciate your appraisement of our wonderful staff and facilities. Thank you for choosing our resort as your vacation destination and we look foward to your future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Normally I don’t do reviews, but in the case of the Atrium Resort in Virginia Beach Va. I will make an exception. I am an exchange customer and the Atrium Resort was the only available space on the east cost for the particular week we chose. After making the exchange, I started reading the online reviews and became very concerned about our decision. A lot of the reviews online were extremely negative about the room furnishings, the resort staff, noise, and distance from the beach. These are just a few of the listed complaints. However, we decided to go ahead and try the resort. Driving distance to this resort was 560 miles, a long way to go and be in a negative situation. We have been doing exchange for over 20 years and we have only had one bad exchange in that time frame. The week before we left Irene hit the east cost and I called the Atrium to check on their cancellation policy if necessary to do so. The Staff member I spoke with was very courteous and polite and explained that I should call back after the storm had passed the area. One of the things we did not like about this exchange was the Friday check-in. Since my wife is still working a Friday check-in meant we would lose a day of vacation.

When I called back after the storm, and found out that everything was OK I informed the staff that we would be arriving late and they informed me that this would not be an issue. As it turned out we had a death in the family that week which made us arrive a day later than planned. During all of these conversations with various resort staff everyone was extremely nice and helpful.

We arrived at the Resort on Sunday and checked in. We immediately went to our assigned unit and checked it out before bringing anything in. We found the unit extremely clean, neat, and everything was in working order. These are not large spacious units but they are very nice. If you look at their website, pictures are provided showing the size of the rooms.

We had a very nice stay at the Atrium Resort and would recommend this Resort to anyone. The Resort is a little noisy during the day especially if activities are taking place in the lobby but there was no noise in the evening at all. The Staff took immediate care of any need that arose during our stay. This Resort is two blocks from the beach. This should be considered for anyone who has trouble walking that distance before choosing the Atrium as a place to stay. There were negative reviews about the distance to the beach which has nothing to do with the resort at all.

Room Tip: Higher floors west end of the building. (Be advised there is only one elevator)
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jr1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuana T, General Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

We thank you for your response about the resort facilities and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This was a small time before the renovations. Staying there made me not get a timeshare because the visit was so bad. In fact we ended up leaving a day early. It was suppose to be a family trip but the couple that stayed next door was so drunk and loud and we heard everything in our room including the couple having sex. And yes I do have kids!!!! I had to get up at 2 am and get the security guard to diffuse the situation. I visit Virginia Beach often but I have never been back there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antione P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuana T, General Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your vacation with us from September 2010. We apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations and hope that you give us another opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed there August 12-17, 2011 in room 609 (top floor) on an RCI exchange. The room was very nice (with a couple of minor issues, see below) and comfortable. I believe the whole place was recently renovated as everything seemed new in the room. The partial kitchen, located between the living area and the bedroom, was small but worked fine for us. Counter space is VERY limited. But it was well stocked with everything you could need. The view from the one window in the unit, located in the bedroom, was great.

But there were a couple of housekeeping items that we noticed upon check-in:
1. The coffee maker was very dirty inside, where you pour the water in. I had to ask for another one.
2. There were 2 dirty towels from the previous guests hanging on the back of the bathroom door.
3. I found a used pillow on the floor behind the chair in the bedroom.
4. The back top of the toilet was dirty, the part you can't see when the lid is up.

But I consider these relatively minor things that did not materially affect our stay. Overall we were very satisfied with the Atrium and would definitely go back...if we are lucky enough to get an exchange again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gacekfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolBing, General Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

While we are happy to hear of your overall satisfaction with your vacation
experience, we likewise apologize that the unit did not meet your standards
upon check-in as it certainly did not meet ours as either. The issues stated
have been addressed and we would certainly look forward to your future stay
with us if given the opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Maybe this place is okay if you have kids, but don't stay here if you are an adult looking to relax. The living room has no outside window - just a window on a hallway that is noisy and lit brightly 24 hours a day. The resort is 2-3 blocks from the beach with no view. You have one small window in the bedroom - that's it. We felt like we were in a prison.

Kids run around at all hours making it hard to sleep. The furnishings are renovated, but the living room has one hard sofa and one hard chair with a small dining table pushed against the wall. The pool is tiny and is located in the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Infreque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolBing, General Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

We thank you and appreciate your feedback. We apologize that your vacation
experience was not an enjoyable one, but we definitely hope that we are
given a future opportunity to provide a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

When we arrived early in Virginia Beach we called to see if the room was ready and were told they wouldnt even check if a room was ready until three pm. I called again a few hours later and again was told the same thing. I asked if there was a place we could put our belongings such as a hospitality suite and was told there was no such thing. After a late check in and two nights in the hotel I noticed that there was a ten am check out. I called to ask if we could check out at eleven and was informed that the charge was fifty dollars an hour. The manager did overide this and we appreciated being able to check out at eleven am. The room was clean and a nice size the beach was a reasonable distance. However, we did need to call security in the middle of the night due to the noise in the halls but they came right away and stopped the racket.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolBing, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

We apologize that your vacation experience did not meet your expectations.
We appreciate the feedback and hope that in the future we are given the
opportunity to ensure your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
334 reviews
1.7 km away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,088 reviews
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
630 reviews
0.6 km away
Alamar Resort Inn
Alamar Resort Inn
#66 of 109 in Virginia Beach
196 reviews
1.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virgi...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Resort

Address: 315 21st St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3322
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $135 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Atrium Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront, just blocks away from the boardwalk, the 90 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with an open-air lobby and relaxing environment. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• 24 hour fitness center• On- site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Atrium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Hotel Virginia Beach
Atrium Resort Virginia Beach Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing