We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a cozy place to stay at christmas time!”
Review of Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Warrenton B&B and Inns
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a cozy place to stay at christmas time!”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The Black Horse in is a fantastic place, i had stayed there with my aunt for a night a few days before christmas and the house was beautifully decorated for christmas. and the house itself is a shining star deep in the heart of hunt country, you feel like you have stepped back in time apon driving through the main gates and seeing the big white house surrounded by gardens and rolling pastures. this is a terrific place to stay and i would recommend it to anyone interested in historic buidings or horses. the staff was very helpful and the owner lynn was just terrific she came strolling into the house in the morning and gave us a warm greeting in full formal hunt attire! it was like something out of gone with the wind. she was late for a fox hunt, but had made a point to come in and thank us for staying at the the Black Horse and told us if there was anything we needed to give her a call. My aunt and i were so touched by this, its so hard to find good customer service anymore but at the black horse inn they know how to treat you not like a guest but like family and that is something truely special. Keep up the good work Lynn!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eaa2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
67
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I was a bridesmaid in a wedding this weekend and we had the inn for the weekend. The B&B isn't marked as well as it could be, however, it wasn't extremely difficult to find. The Inn itself was very well kept, the grounds were beautiful and they were very accommodating. The reception hall area was quite large and was again beautiful. Each room has a theme, we stayed in the "Garden Room" which was very cute. We would definitely recommend this to our friends & family.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livefromthelidodeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed at the Black Horse and attended my niece's wedding there this past weekend, and we took over the Inn. The facility where the wedding reception was held is a short stroll from the Inn itself and is a beautiful venue, with a terrific patio adjoining the main room. The owners and housekeeper could not have been friendlier or more accomodating. I would highly recommend the Black Horse for a family celebration. Thank you for your care and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatherineScarsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My boyfriend and I were in desperate need of a weekend away from the city, and found the Black Horse Inn online. I am so glad we chose it! Everything about our stay was wonderful- Pam and Joyce were so welcoming (and cook up some amazing breakfasts!) and our room, the Fox and the Grape suite, was clean, cool and lovely. We chose it because of the privacy afforded by the private entrance (its an english basement suite) but also loved the exposed rock walls and in-room kitchen.

We also did quite a bit of exploring in the surrounding towns and found a great lake nearby with canoe rentals, a fantastic restaurant in historic Warrenton- Claire's at the Depot, and had so much fun at all the local wineries!

I would recommend The Black Horse Inn to anyone who is looking for an escape from city life and a little bit of Southern charm.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodlover333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2011

my wife and i stayed here for our anniversary. we arrived just prior to the check-in time of 4pm and wandered the grounds for a bit before checking in. the check-in process was quite personable. beyond that, all amenities within this incredibly old home function properly, the decor is exactly what you'd expect to find in Virginia's hunt country, and the personnel staffing the place were all quite nice and eager to offer up history lessons on the home's and property's history. candidly, aside from the time we spent sleeping, we were probably only on the property for an additional 2-3 hours, as we spent a good deal of time in the town of warrenton walking/shopping/eating.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyholbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The grounds are beautiful, the house is comfortable, well-appointed and replete with amenities. You arrive to a plateful of assorted cookies, sherry, port, and wine and cheese which is all included in the price of the room. If our bathroom sink had drained properly and if I could have found all of the available packages online before arriving, I would have given 5 stars. I forgot to mention the sink while there or before I left but sure could have used some flowers and chocolate covered strawberries if you know what I mean!

We will be back as it is only a two hour drive and near to a fantastic spa (Poplar Springs) and the Manor House Restaurant which has wonderful food. Warrenton is a quaint, small VA town that is slowly being swallowed by DC so don't linger too long before you go and don't pay attention to the one negative review as that certainly sounds like a bad experience but everyone is entitled to one event gone awry.

It is obvious the owners are personally involved in the operation of the property as their personal touchs are everywhere.

Room Tip: Not a chance! We will be back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The grounds of this Inn are beautiful and well kept. The Inn itself is attractive and relaxing. The owner, Lynn, and the innkeeper, Pam, made me feel at home. My suite (Great Expectations) was nice, spacious and comfortable and included it's own enclosed porch with a view of the grounds. This Inn hosts many weddings and I would recommend it as a wedding location or for a horse country getaway. There are good nearby restaurants in Warrenton.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaSB004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenton
8.0 km away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
169 reviews
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
4.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
18.1 km away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville
#2 of 3 in Gainesville
64 reviews
18.4 km away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Property: Black Horse Inn
Address: 8393 Meetze Rd, Warrenton, VA 20187-4340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Warrenton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Warrenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Inn, Warrenton, Virginia is the ideal escape for romantic get-away's, weddings, business meetings, and revitalizing retreats. The natural solitude of this historic, hunt-country estate encourages effective meetings and creative thought. Just 45 minutes from Washington, D.C., this spectacular setting will provide just what you need to refresh and revitalize! Ten rooms with private baths, corporate center for 200. Lunches and dinners upon request. Team-building activities, WiFi & televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Warrenton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing