We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
83
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
8
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgracious hostsrooms are comfortablemy husband and icobblervisiting the areab and bshenandoah mountainscrepessusanwaltlambsroscoepropertyfarmshikingcountryaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 93 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2008

I recently had my 3rd stay at Fairlea Farm and it was wonderful, of course! The property is beautiful, with lovely mountain views, a deck , and friendly donkeys. Each time I've stayed in a different room (2 of the upstairs rooms and the downstairs suite) and each has been delightful. The upstairs bathrooms are fully renovated with spa-like showers. Very comfortable beds and large rooms with all the comforts of home.

The breakfast is also fantastic! Susan is a wonderful cook and you never leave the table hungry. So many options and each day was a different breakfast.

Susan and Walt are the perfect hosts, and are very knowledgeable about the area. I highly recommend spending a night (or three) at Fairlea Farm.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2008

This place is superb!

We stayed here for 5 nights during our 2008 holiday in the USA. When we booked four months earlier we were a little unsure as to whether this was a good choice since, based on most of the other reviews, Fairlea Farm appeared to be suited to people living in Virginia or nearby states who stayed for 1 or 2 nights. We needn't have worried however. We knew this place was going to be just right as soon as we arrived, met the owners and were shown around.

The location, accomodation, breakfast and the welcome are as close to perfection as can ever be expected.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank SussexSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We weren't quite sure what to expect from this B&B as there were only a few pictures on the website--but we were MORE than pleasantly surprised when we checked in.

For one, the owners could not have been nicer. Susan spoke with us at length on the phone before we confirmed our stay, answering all of our questions about things to do in the area, the type of food served at breakfast, etc. Both she and her husband were very personable when we arrived, and made us feel right at home.

The room we stayed in had a beautiful, clean, newly renovated bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was clean and very tastefully decorated. At the foot of the bed were two windows that looked out over a large magnolia tree and a pasture. The room was very quiet, as well.

After breakfast one morning, we walked outside to sit in a swing in the backyard, overlooking the mountains and the nearby pasture, and watched the cows -- literally 8 feet from us! Susan and Walt invited us to see their 2 sheep and miniature donkeys, too, which were just adorable.

The scenery was stunning, the owners could not have been more friendly or helpful, and the room was comfortable, clean, and inviting. We’re already planning our second trip. It was the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Amanda_747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2008

recently stayed here again after having been unable to return in awhile and had an excellent time as always. our first visit to this bed and breakfast was 15 years ago and every time we have stayed here the quality of our stay has been awesome. this time we were treated to newly renovated bathrooms which were wonderful and the breakfast is undeniable the best around. the innkeepers susan and walt are excellent hosts, friendly without being intrusive and a great source of information about the surrounding area. would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area , a great place to relax , enjoy great food, wonderful views and just unwind from life.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birthday58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2008

When we travel (as we do often for business and pleasure) there are a few mainstays that we look for: great accomodations, great food, and lovely surroundings. You can't beat the Fairlea Farm for any of these in this little corner of the world.
Walt and Susan exemplify the best of inn-keepers; they are warm and friendly, without being too inquisitive or distant. They provided the right touch for information, and lent their opinions and books for places we wanted to travel in the area. Not one recommendation let us down!
The rooms are lovely, done in appropriate period, with comfort as the hallmark. The food is interesting, abundant and delicious. Not typical, as other places have been. Our afternoons out in the garden after a day of cycling or hiking was just the respite we needed, readily sharing our wine and theirs, with the other guests.
Given the cost of the other places to stay,we would say that this is the best value for the money for Little Washington. And we will be back, Susan and Walt.
Thanks again for your kind hospitality!
Stacey Cannon and Tim Bond
Lexington MA

Stayed: June 2007
Thank TimandStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews