We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice weekend stay”
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I took my boyfriend out for a romantic weekend for his birthday. The room we got reminded me of a more luxurious and much cleaner ski resort. Garden-apartment style buildings and some strange angles in the room. Comfy bed, fluffy towels and great smelling (chocolate mint!) toiletries. We did room service the first night and it came within an hour. My grilled chicken salad was shockingly good. I would, however, skip the cookies. We also didn't have much of a view - unless you like staring at a golf course.

We came right after one of the hurricanes, so the River course was open, but the other two were still in clean-up. The golf course crew was very personable, though they were a bit confused by the voucher we handed them from the front desk. Apparently, the different parts of the resort don't talk to each other much. We also had an issue with one of the golf carts. Thankfully, the marshals came by regularly (slow day) - so we were able to get the cart issue taken care of quickly. By the way - highly recommend the River course if you are a golfer. Especially the closing holes. Bring a camera.

We also did a spa treatment. The spa area was very clean and the woman who did my massage (don't remember her name) managed to work out a shoulder issue I came in with. Again - highly recommended.

Overall - a great trip and I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sakecat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

“Great Trip and I would go back in a heartbeat” are great compliments and we thank you sincerely! We are happy that you enjoyed our Spa, Golf, and Accommodations during your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,469 - 1,475 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had a package for the Hollow Scream. When I called to make the reservation I asked if they had an indoor pool. They said yes so my two boys were thrilled. Friday night it rained so we went to the indoor pool and the pool was closed for renovation. We ended up it the game room but it seems weird the reservation staff would not know the pool was closed.

We also had problems with breakast at the Eagles restaurant at the resort. The service was really slow. It took twenty minutes just to get coffee. Our food took forty minutes.

The rooms are nice and the location and shuttle are worth the price. The service is lacking.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravelfivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for choosing Kingsmill Resort on your recent visit to Williamsburg. It is great that the location was perfect and you enjoyed the shuttle service. I do apologize for the pool being closed and the slow service at Eagles Restaurant. Unfortunately there were delays with our pool repair that was scheduled to re-open and I apologize that it was not communicated. Your feedback is extremely important to us, because with out it, we can not continue to improve our services.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We decided on a quick getaway, this was the perfect place. We took the recommendations to spend the extra money to get a 2nd floor river view, definately worth the price. Rooms were VERY clean (and I am a picky person) and had all the amenities you needed. Bathrooms were clean and beautiful as well. Probably the most comfortable bed I ever slept in. Had a kitchenette with your basic needs. Loved the little balcony too. The grounds were very pretty to walk around, you didn't feel like you were in VA. Their were a variety of places to eat. Loved the place where you could sit outside on the white rocking chairs and watch the golfers. We ate breakfast at the "Mill" right near the tennis courts. Was the cutest place. Great hot coffee, small grab breakfast items, but even made an egg crossiant sandwich that was to die for. Loved the outside seating too. The workout gym had everything you could possible need and even had some exercise classes going on. My husband and I got a couples massage at the Spa, they were very organized and it was a neat experience. My husband really felt relaxed after the massage. The Marina restaurant was closed when we were there, but looked really adorable. Their is plenty of stuff to do for everyone, including kids. The location is great, 15 minutes from Williamsburg Winery, Busch gardens around the corner. My husband even convinced me to play the 3 par golf course. I would definitaley return to this resort and recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: spend the extra money for the river view and ask to be on the 2nd floor. Other reviews said they cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pokerface2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for choosing Kingsmill Resort on your recent visit to Williamsburg. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your room on the River banks, Housekeeping met your standards, and that you overall had a wonderful experience at our Resort. At Kingsmill we strive to accommodate our guests and their needs and I am happy that we were able to provide that for you. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My two sons (18 and 21) and my husband rented a two bedroom condo with a river view for our visit to Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and the many interesting historic battlefields in this area last month. We loved the view of the James River and the condo itself. It has a washer/dryer, which was very helpful, as we had come from the first leg of our journey, as well as a DVD player and TVs in both bedrooms which allowed us to relax at night with one of the movies we brought with us if we were too tired to go out. The resort has a pool (inside and outside) and health center and tennis and a marina with some jet skis (I believe) you can rent and we didn't really have time to take advantage of these. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we could have spent longer at Kings Mill and just spent a day there trying out their amenities and just enjoying the relaxing atmosphere. You can also rent bikes and the huge property would have been great for bike riding. They also offer a shuttle service to Williamsburg and to nearby Busch Gardens (the nicest amusement park I've visited outside of Disney), which we considered using if our boys wanted to spend more time there than we did.

Overall, it was a great experience and we definitely would go back.

Room Tip: Consider the river view; it's near the pool and a pub they have there that we didn't get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank boslfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for choosing Kingsmill Resort on your recent visit to Williamsburg. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with the amenities in your accommodations. The view of the James River is truly majestic and holds a very rich history at Kingsmill. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My tennis team traveled from Maryland to play a weekend tournament in Newport News. Although USTA provided good rates at a nice hotel in NN, we opted to stay at Kingsmill so that we could use the tennis courts between matches. Each of us was extremely happy with that choice - Kingsmill is terrific! The staff is extremely accommodating - from Katrina Hicks who helped with reservations, to the incredibly helpful tennis club staff, and the spacious suites and comfortable beds - everything was top notch. We lounged poolside Friday afternoon, hit the courts Friday and Saturday, used the ball machine, walked the beautiful grounds, sipped wine on the deck of the Marina - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Kingsmill to all. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The suites were spacious and comfortable! We booked on 3-room suite and one 1-room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kathleen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for choosing Kingsmill Resort on your recent visit to Williamsburg and we thank you for staying with us during the USTA Tennis Event. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your kind comment about Katrina Hicks our Reservations Manager, she is truly an asset to us at Kingsmill. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were looking for a nice relaxing vacation destination but also something for the kids to do. Someone suggested this place to my wife because they knew I enjoyed golfing. Well im so glad someone reccomended this place for us. This place is AMAZING. We tried to book our vacation for the following year before we even left to come home. This place is worth every cent and the staff and food and hospitality is first class all the way. We only went for 5days this year so next year we are going for 7. We enjoyed Busch Gardens but the kids enjoyed staying at the resort even more. Plan your next vacation here without a doubt. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsxrguy124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

“This place is AMAZING and Can’t Wait to Go Back” are great compliments to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Kingsmill creates a very peacefull setting and relaxing atmosphere. The grounds are well kept and all venues are within walking distance of one another. Our suite was nicely appointed with separate kitchen and dinining area, fire place and large living room. The bedroom was also large with nice views of the grounds. My wife used the spa and was very pleased. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slb003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.6 km away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
5.6 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
632 reviews
6.8 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
6.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
5.7 km away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $228 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort a AAA Four Diamond resort situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in over 400 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 10 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing