We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect Luxury. Received Budget”
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2016

I booked this property based on their website - it looked like luxury. An amazing pool, nice views, great restaurants, great rooms. I was fooled. The pool was overrun with children screaming, the views were disappointing, their best restaurant was more like a sports bar, and rooms were fine but a bit dated. Tried to rent bikes - was told they closed early for the day. Really was not able to take advantage of anything there. Needless to say I left very disappointed and will not return. I rather have stayed at the Hampton Inn and saved my $$$

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina B, Guest Relations Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you, Daniel M, for providing feedback on your experience. It is through your feedback that our team can continue to improve. We strive to provide a high level of satisfaction in the Kingsmill experience – in this case we did not succeed and for that we do apologize. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2016

Kingsmill is a very nice resort, it is a little spread out, but they have shuttles or golf carts to bring you anywhere you would like to go on property.
We requested Anderson's Ordinary & a high floor, but we got neither. We spent a week in building 10 (Richmond's Ordinary) River View section, 1 bedroom condo. When requesting a room (river section), try to get into Anderson's Ordinary and the top floor. If you aren't on the top floor you hear every step the person above you takes, including children running back and forth across the entirety of the space. Splurge and get a river view, we sat out on the balcony and drank our coffee in the morning (so relaxing).
I would suggest Anderson's Ordinary because its closer to the river pool.
The amenities were plentiful and there were things to do for all ages. (bikes, jet skis, kayaks) - Also, shuttles to Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, and Colonial Williamsburg.
I would come back when my toddler is a little older so she can enjoy the kids camp.

Room Tip: When requesting a room (river section), try to get into Anderson's Ordinary and the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ASNGW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina B, Guest Relations Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you, ASNGW01, for your kind comments about Kingsmill Resort--it truly is a beautiful and relaxing resort for a getaway with friends, family, or both. Kingsmill does its best to ensure customer satisfaction and provide a relaxing vacation, and we sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Had a great 3 night vacation with my wife and 2 kids (7/10). Some friends picked the place for a reunion and we all met there. Resort was beautiful on the James river very and in great shape. We reserved a small deluxe room to save some money and it was fine (normal hotel size room with 2 queen beds and a bath). Some friends reserved the larger rooms and cottage and they were quite nice. The kids a absolutely loved the pool and we also took out a jet ski for an hour. The guys at the marina were very helpful. If you plan to use the marina, call ahead to make reservations. We did eat breakfast one day at the resort and it was a phenomenal breakfast with everything you could think of as a choice and it was all excellent tasting food. A bit pricey, but in my mind worth the money. Would highly recommend for a couple days visiting the area.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina B, Guest Relations Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you, Nicky S. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kingsmill Resort. Thank you so much for the wonderful review--it always feels great when our hard work pays off. We hope you make the trip to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Resort is large but very easy to navigate. The shuttle bus to and from Busch garden and Colonial Williamsburg was convenient. Restaurants on site were family friendly and food pretty good. Avoid James Landing Grill near marina. Not so good. Dinner at Element 1010 and Eagles good. Stayed in two bedroom condo which was large. One large king room with bath, second bedroom had two double beds with bath. It would be better if two queens. Living room had sofa bed which was used for third child. Overall the resort was convenient, and staff friendly. The property has two pools and a small lazy river. Good place to spend day or relax after a long day at parks.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank boater2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina B, Guest Relations Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you, boater2, for choosing Kingsmill Resort on your recent visit to Williamsburg. We are happy to hear that overall you had an enjoyable experience at our Resort. At Kingsmill we strive to accommodate our guests and their needs and I am happy that we were able to provide that for you. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

This was our fourth visit to the resort, and although many things continue to be done very, very well the resort is losing its edge. Golf is now very expensive relative to other courses in the Williamsburg/Newport News area, and the James River Grille remains popular because of its great views - not the food.

Still we managed to have a great time at the resort and nearby Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina B, Guest Relations Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you, Robert L, for taking the time to let us know about your experience during your recent stay at Kingsmill Resort. We use feedback like yours to assist us with improving the quality of the products and services we offer here at the resort. Thank you for staying with us we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We stayed 3 nights at Kingsmill. During that time, if we weren't sleeping or grabbing a bite to eat off the grounds, this family could be found poolside.

My 5.5 year old son probably spent at least 10 hours floating around the lazy river and went down the pool slide 20-100 times. The zero-entry pool was perfect for my nearly-2 year old daughter...and her mother, who realized that laying in the shallow end was far preferable to roasting in the sun on a lounge chair.

Nice riverfront room, lovely grounds, and I'm sure the spa, fitness center, golf course, tennis courts, and marina are all great...but I wouldn't know. We could've spent another 3 days there just hanging out by the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina B, Guest Relations Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

We appreciate your compliments about Kingsmill Resort, Janet C. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our team members, particularly at the River Pool. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

What a GREAT place! We were only there for a two days but what an amazing place to stay. Perfectly situated between colonial Williamsburg and Busch gardens it was just a perfect place to escape. The room we stayed in was in this pod of rooms that had a balcony overlooking the lake and the rooms were clean and it was a quiet stay for how many people where there. The layout is great and it has this amazing pool with a lazy river and a sand pit, they have pontoons and tennis and shuttles to Busch gardens and Williamsburg and the breakfast is amazing. What a great place to stay and we will definitely be going back. Perfect for a family and couples getaway weekend! The only thing I wish they did was send two buses instead of just one at the end of the evening for Busch gardens. We almost all didn't make it back and we had to squeeze on. But we made it!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina B, Guest Relations Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you for your kind comments about Kingsmill Resort, Melanie D. We are pleased that you had a positive experience with our facilities, accommodations, and restaurants. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
13.2 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
5.6 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
656 reviews
5.6 km away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
6.8 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
7.7 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $216 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort a AAA Four Diamond resort situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in over 400 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 10 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing