We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Charming and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

On a college-tour visit to William and Mary, my daughter and I stayed at the Williamsburg Lodge. Each staff member we encountered went beyond friendly. The room was clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities I require. It is perfectly situated to walk to Colonial Williamsburg. The breakfast buffet was superb. The bacon melts in your mouth, the scrambled eggs are perfectly fluffy, the sausage divine. And the grits are great. You can also have an omelet made to order and there is a selection of fruit and pastry. Overall, it was a convenient, comfortable and clean place to stay. It had charming decor, lovely public spaces and a decent dining room. Although the Trellis Restaurant at the end of Colonial Williamsburg is the best place to eat. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    517
    210
    69
    31
See reviews for
683
662
54
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We traveled to Colonial Williamsburg March 2-7 for both business and pleasure. We were attending a conference there and also toured the historical area. We had a fantastic time and our room at the Williamsburg Lodge was wonderful. We were in the South Guesthouse area. The queen size poster bed was very comfortable, we sometimes awake with backaches in some hotels, but not this one. Our room was large, with a loveseat, wing chair, big desk, dresser, and cabinet with a TV. There were good sized tables with lamps on each side of the bed. The flooring was an old-fashioned hardwood floor that did creak when you walked in some places. The bathroom was large and very clean. Inside the bathroom, there was a drop-leaf table with a Keurig coffee maker. There were only three things that could have been better. 1. We had a room that had a door to an adjoining room, and we could hear the folks in the next room whenever they came in. 2. There were both helpful and not-so-helpful ladies at the front desk. 3. The South Guesthouse, as well as the other two units, were separated from the lobby area and conference area by covered walkways. It was cold and sometimes rainy, so it would have been better if it had been connected indoors. Our housekeepers were fantastic, as well as the lunches and one dinner we enjoyed at the conference. We walked three different days to the historic area. The South Guesthouses are the farthest away from the historic area, so if you're not going to a conference and need close proximity to that area, I would ask for the building that's closest to the historic area. I will post some photos later.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FacebookFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We were in Williamsburg for the Mid-Atlantic Innkeepers Conference, and it is a brave hotel that has the confidence to host that! Our room was in the South Building - the Lodge consists of several buildings interconnected by covered walkways. I suspect that the South building may be one of the older ones referred to in a review below, but I only think that because it was just about impossible to view the television from either of the seating locations in the room. This was not much of a problem because the conference kept us so busy but others may be concerned. A drawback to the South building is that it backs onto the area where the receiving dock is located, and one morning we were awakened at 5:15 or thereabouts by the beeping sound of reversing trucks. Not a problem for us, but may possibly be for others.

The biggest problem was that the Keurig machine in the room (a nice touch in most ways) had the usual problem that tea made in it always has a slight and discomforting taste of coffee. We resolved that by traveling with our own electric tea kettle, teapot, and tea bags!

We were there for four nights, and we follow the recommended practice of leaving a small tip each day for the housekeeping staff. For the first time EVER we found each day a handwritten "Thank you" on our pillow. This courtesy is just one example of the way in which the staff of the Lodge really contributed to a "feeling good" experience. It is almost unfair to pick one person out but Elizabeth on the reception desk was outstanding. Her constant good humor and can-do demeanor was a delightful greeting after a four and a half hour drive from South Central PA.

The first day there we had breakfast in the Lodge restaurant, choosing the buffet option. For a buffet, the food was way better than normal. The fried potatoes were excellent! There was an omelet station - and I suggest asking for a more lightly done omelet than normal. The coffee was good as was the OJ.

The bar was good with generous drinks, although the service could be a little distracted on occasion. The log fire was a treat - more for the ambiance than the heat.

Finally, I have never, repeat never, been in a hotel where the wifi was so solid and well thought out. It never missed a beat, and seemed to be available in every last corner of every building. As a techie, I can tell you that it is hard to attain, and the Lodge did it beautifully!

We did not eat dinner in the restaurant at the Lodge because we discovered the Trellis. See my other review for that one.

All in all, congratulations to Colonial Williamsburg and the Lodge for a good job well done.

Room Tip: Avoid the far end of the South Building unless you can drop back to sleep easily!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Williamsburg Lodge is far beyond a normal hotel. It is truly exquisite but at the same time simple - a righteous combination. The advertising photo of Lodge does not do the complex of buildings justice, so I have included some of my own. It is connected to a wonderful spa right next door, to which all guests have free access. Best of all, it is set within gardens, and located almost within the old colonial Williamsburg. At first you cannot tell when the old town ends and the hotel begins, and so you are living in history and utter beauty. There are no power lines, telephone poles, billboards, traffic lights. There are no gaudy tourist traps. It is a place of tranquility, art, dignity, reflection, and the harmony of town and nature.

Caveat: Avoid the older hotel building, Tazewell. Be sure to book your room in one of the newer buildings named Nicholas, Tyler, Custis and Ashby. The newer buildings actually look older (I've included photos), so don't be confused.

Tazewell has darker brick and looks like a parking garage - and actually the rooms are built over an underground parking garage. Needless to say you don't want to be there unless you are desperate. We were assigned a room there and upon entry discovered an odor of chlorine so strong that my tongue was stinging. We returned to the check-in desk and requested a room in another building. I had heard through tripadvisor that the newer buildings were superior, and sure enough, after some pleading, we were very pleased to have a charming, fragrant room in Nicholas. Avoid trouble and make sure in advance that you are in a newer building.

The staff were so gracious that my wife and I spoke for days about what everyone could learn from them about hospitality and courtesy. And the food was outstanding. At the Lodge restaurant and elsewhere (the town center is within easy walking distance) you have an overwhelming selection of truly fine restaurants, the kind of restaurants where the kitchens are open to the dining room and yet you don't hear any disturbing noise. Now that's culinary performance. Expect to pay about $50 per person for an appetizer and entree. We tried both the Fat Canary (one dinner) and the Lodge restaurant (two dinners), and although FC was excellent and we look forward to returning, we preferred the kitchen at the Lodge restaurant. The food there was far less oily, more varied, more flavorful, and the dessert, a chocolate tart, was outstanding.

In cold months take advantage of free access to the spa's indoor pool and Jacuzzi. The spa too is set in a garden. While swimming or soaking you look out the windows and see ducks or geese flying by, towering evergreen trees, and broad sky. This facility matches what Europeans would expect in a fine spa. It's not large (the pool is 3 lanes wide and about 20 meters long), so try to book in the off season times. Most of the time we had the place to ourselves! There is also free access to an outdoor pool, and a beautiful golf course available to guests for a reduced fee.

Highlight of the spa: After you complete your workout, swim or soak, you shower in a stall with the largest rain showerhead you'll ever see; the stall is cramped and utilitarian, but you'll love it anyway because the dressing rooms are wonderful and the new age music is inspiring. Then you dress and walk in a daze out into the beautiful garden amidst the trees and beautifully preserved buildings, art all around.

For those curious about the Williamsburg Inn, I can give a thumbnail sketch of our visit to its lobby and grounds. The guests there have the same spa privileges as the guests in the Lodge, and these are the only hotels in town with such access. Our impression of the Inn is that it is grand yet staid, shading towards stiff. But I'm sure the rooms there are wonderful. While both are elegant, the Inn is Great Britain, and the Lodge is colonial. Being simpler, the Lodge is more relaxed - and it is a bit closer to the spa!

We have enjoyed stays in some of the most beautiful places in the world: Hotel Bristol in Vienna, Amertha Bali Villas in Bali, a private chalet looking onto the Eiger in Grindelwald, Switzerland... And we were filled with joy to find a simple, pure, world-class treasure in our own backyard that gave us the same uplifting feelings of renewal. This place represents the best of America in many ways. And I have faith that other towns and cities will be similarly inspired to create, in their own infinitely diverse ways, an environment that honors the best in humanity, that brings what we dream and hope into reality.

Room Tip: Avoid Tazewell and book your room in one of the newer buildings: Nicholas, Tyler, Custis or Ashby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank bkrider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Just finished my second visit to Williamsburg Lodge and while the conference facility served our groups purpose beautifully, the guest room was lacking the attention to detail. The staff was friendly and quickly brought us new keys when we were given the wrong room configuration.
Then we had a handicapped room which didn't allow me to hang up my dress in the half closet. Housekeeping needs to do a deep clean in the room and get all of the corners, especially in the bathroom.
Food in the dining room was good and the staff was attentive. This property is in a great location to easily access the historical area which unfortunately doesn't always happen when you attend a conference.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn't face the street so that you can open your blinds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We were at this hotel for our convention. I know we were looking for the best value we could get as times are tight. They gave us a great rate for the off season! I did not realize that the colonial town is pretty much closed except for restaurants and the book store but it was still fun to walk around the colonial village - the center is just 10 minutes walk away.

The rooms were very nice - not huge but for the price and location great. The food for a convention was very good and filling. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akron, ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed here for a 3day conference in Feb 2012. We found the Lodge to be a great location to stay, we were only one block away from the main drag of Colonial Williamsburg. Duke of Gloucester Street leads you to see all of the main sites in the restored villiage.

The inn was very clean, the staff was very friendly & helpful. Our room was always cleaned impeccably & it had everything we needed. The restuarant offered a wonderful buffet breakfast every morning & the food was very good. The staff in the restaurant was very friendly & they went out of there way to accomodate us. I highly recommend Lodge to travelers

Room Tip: Try ot stay close to the fromt desk & ask if there is a haunted part of the Lodge; so you can av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.4 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.2 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.1 km away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
3.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection

Property: Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
Address: 310 S England St, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4266
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. Enjoy a relaxing hotel escape in the heart of the Revolutionary City. Just steps from the action, the inviting lodge boasts a world-class restaurant and convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. Admission ticket discounts and special daily events are just the beginning of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing