We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The Historic Powhatan Resort(Williamsburg)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rodeway Inn & Suites(Williamsburg)
US$60
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Williamsburg)
US$42
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Colonial(Williamsburg)
US$51
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$53
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$178
US$127
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
67
9
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
9
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspotswood roomwonderful hostsprivate screened in porchb beach morningbreakfast is servedcolonial williamsburgbeautifully decorated roomswithin easy walking distancefirst floorhistoric areaboth morningsdickfireplaceprivacytilecw
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The room was beautiful and restful. I loved the breakfast served in the room and Dick always had the day's weather and news update which was wonderful. Very short walk over the bridge and you are in colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

My husband & I have stayed in numerous B&B's in Williamsburg over the years but by far our favorite is Governor's Trace. From the moment you arrive Sue & Dick, the innkeepers, make you feel like family. They welcome you in, offer you refreshment, ask how your drive was, and show you your room. They never seem rushed and are more than willing to offer information on what is new, what is good to see and where to eat (even offering inside knowledge on great tables, exceptional wait staff and adult only seating areas). The rooms are immaculate, the beds are dressed in warm, rich tones and so very comfy! The brick fireplace & wall laterns add to the colonial feel & homey ambience. The shades & shutters keep the sunlight out until you're ready to wake up & let the sunshine in. The Spotswood room (our personal favorite) has the absolute best bathroom. It is huge, has plush white his & hers bath robes, a gigantic shower and is so clean & bright. The breakfasts are always delicious, served in your room at one of two times and can be eaten either at a small table in your room or at a table on a screened in porch off your room by candlelight while listening to the birds chirping outside. We can not say enough good things about Govenors Trace. If you are looking for a quiet place to spend a romantic weekend away this is the place to go! Walking distance to the colonial district, friendly helpful innkeepers, great rooms, delicious breakfasts & a restful weekend. The only complaint is we couldn't stay longer! Thanks Sue & Dick...we will see you again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennRN520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We've stayed in over a dozen B & Bs, and Governor's Trace was definitely on top for hospitality, comfort, and ambience! We had the pleasure of staying in the Francis Nicholson room for our first night, which was decorated with colonial and Victorian-era antiques. The bathroom was a little small, but well-appointed with everything we needed. This room included a large, screened porch which would be wonderful on warm days (too cool during our March visit). We were fine with staying in that room for our remaining two nights, but Dick, our innkeeper, assured us that the Alexander Spotswood room would be worth the move. He was right! While we were out visiting the Williamsburg museums, our new room was readied for us and Dick carried up our belongings. After a tiring day, we came back to a spacious room beautifully decorated in the colonial style Williamsburg is known for. There was a king-size bed, a reading corner with two wing-back chairs, a cozy table where our candle-lit breakfast would be served, and a fireplace waiting to be lit! Complete with a huge, modern bathroom, the Spotswood also had a small private porch. A delicious and charmingly-presented breakfast was served in our rooms each morning by Dick. Our genial hosts, Sue and Dick, provided a wealth of information for enjoying Williamsburg, but we most appreciated the restaurant recommendations. The Fat Canary (for a fabulous dinner) and the Cheese Shop (for a special cheese plate lunch) will be at the top of our "must do" list when we return to this favorite vacation spot next year. Several of our friends have asked about Governor's Trace B & B, and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jj9395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

The owners of the Governor's Trace were very gracious hosts! The location was very convenient to the village - and their breakfast was fabulous!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This was a 30th wedding anniversary gift given to us by our children and parents. Our daughter did her homework and arranged our weekend stay at Governor's Trace Bed & Breakfast. Eventhough we arrived earlier than our check in time our hosts welcomed us.
Sue took time to sit down with us, gave us a packet of information and proceeded to suggest places to see and the order in which to see them. Dick and Sue had very helpful reviews of local restaurants, most of which they had eaten at but they also based their suggestions on the reviews of their previous guests. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We had access to a screened in porch but it was rather chilly this time of year. We were served a delicious candlelit breakfast by Dick both mornings of our stay. Dick and Sue not only allowed but recommended we leave our vehicle at their Bed and Breakfast and walk the short distance over to Historic Williamsburg. We were given a set of keys so we could come and go as we wished. We had a great time! We only wished it was longer.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews