We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb accommodations that fit the Williamsburg experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
1 review
“Superb accommodations that fit the Williamsburg experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

A very serene and beautiful place to stay. The innkeepers Dick and Sue embody southern hospitality! Wonderfully romantic accommodations that top off the historical visit!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglpta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    8
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

The room was beautiful and restful. I loved the breakfast served in the room and Dick always had the day's weather and news update which was wonderful. Very short walk over the bridge and you are in colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

My husband & I have stayed in numerous B&B's in Williamsburg over the years but by far our favorite is Governor's Trace. From the moment you arrive Sue & Dick, the innkeepers, make you feel like family. They welcome you in, offer you refreshment, ask how your drive was, and show you your room. They never seem rushed and are more than willing to offer information on what is new, what is good to see and where to eat (even offering inside knowledge on great tables, exceptional wait staff and adult only seating areas). The rooms are immaculate, the beds are dressed in warm, rich tones and so very comfy! The brick fireplace & wall laterns add to the colonial feel & homey ambience. The shades & shutters keep the sunlight out until you're ready to wake up & let the sunshine in. The Spotswood room (our personal favorite) has the absolute best bathroom. It is huge, has plush white his & hers bath robes, a gigantic shower and is so clean & bright. The breakfasts are always delicious, served in your room at one of two times and can be eaten either at a small table in your room or at a table on a screened in porch off your room by candlelight while listening to the birds chirping outside. We can not say enough good things about Govenors Trace. If you are looking for a quiet place to spend a romantic weekend away this is the place to go! Walking distance to the colonial district, friendly helpful innkeepers, great rooms, delicious breakfasts & a restful weekend. The only complaint is we couldn't stay longer! Thanks Sue & Dick...we will see you again soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennRN520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orefield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We've stayed in over a dozen B & Bs, and Governor's Trace was definitely on top for hospitality, comfort, and ambience! We had the pleasure of staying in the Francis Nicholson room for our first night, which was decorated with colonial and Victorian-era antiques. The bathroom was a little small, but well-appointed with everything we needed. This room included a large, screened porch which would be wonderful on warm days (too cool during our March visit). We were fine with staying in that room for our remaining two nights, but Dick, our innkeeper, assured us that the Alexander Spotswood room would be worth the move. He was right! While we were out visiting the Williamsburg museums, our new room was readied for us and Dick carried up our belongings. After a tiring day, we came back to a spacious room beautifully decorated in the colonial style Williamsburg is known for. There was a king-size bed, a reading corner with two wing-back chairs, a cozy table where our candle-lit breakfast would be served, and a fireplace waiting to be lit! Complete with a huge, modern bathroom, the Spotswood also had a small private porch. A delicious and charmingly-presented breakfast was served in our rooms each morning by Dick. Our genial hosts, Sue and Dick, provided a wealth of information for enjoying Williamsburg, but we most appreciated the restaurant recommendations. The Fat Canary (for a fabulous dinner) and the Cheese Shop (for a special cheese plate lunch) will be at the top of our "must do" list when we return to this favorite vacation spot next year. Several of our friends have asked about Governor's Trace B & B, and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jj9395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

The owners of the Governor's Trace were very gracious hosts! The location was very convenient to the village - and their breakfast was fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

This was a 30th wedding anniversary gift given to us by our children and parents. Our daughter did her homework and arranged our weekend stay at Governor's Trace Bed & Breakfast. Eventhough we arrived earlier than our check in time our hosts welcomed us.
Sue took time to sit down with us, gave us a packet of information and proceeded to suggest places to see and the order in which to see them. Dick and Sue had very helpful reviews of local restaurants, most of which they had eaten at but they also based their suggestions on the reviews of their previous guests. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We had access to a screened in porch but it was rather chilly this time of year. We were served a delicious candlelit breakfast by Dick both mornings of our stay. Dick and Sue not only allowed but recommended we leave our vehicle at their Bed and Breakfast and walk the short distance over to Historic Williamsburg. We were given a set of keys so we could come and go as we wished. We had a great time! We only wished it was longer.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

These accomodations were the one great disappointment in our much anticipated trip. I had read all the reviews and looked at the photos, and I must say that I can't understand how anyone could consider this place "romantic." The room was oddly appointed with tired linens and an uncomfortable bed, was much smaller than the picture portrayed and was lacking in attention to cleanliness (don't look above the bed draperies if you don't want to spend the evening sneezing). The bath was an addition done with out-of-place Greek frescos on the wall, and the screened-in porch that I had envisioned quiet meals on was dark, cramped and nothing more than what a storage area would be that overlooked the roof. The "inn" is the second house back from the railroad tracks, which, coupled with the bed, made sound sleep difficult. There were no complimentary receptions or food/beverage offerings at all in the evenings or at any other time of the day as we have enjoyed at other inns, and even if there had been, there really would have been no place to sit and comfortably enjoy them. The entire house was a virtual doll museum that we found cluttered and unsettling. There was no landscaping or anything remotely distinctive at all to the exterior of the property. Overall, we felt we were just house-sitting in an extra room of a stranger's residence.
In all fairness, I have to say that the substitute inn-keeper was extremely pleasant and the home was convenient to one end of the historic area. My husband also thought the breakfasts were quite delicious. After so much research and the cost of the rooms, however, we had hoped for more and were disappointed enough to consider changing accomodations during our short stay, but in the end just settled for spending as little time there as possible and checking out early the next morning. I hate to leave poor feedback about someone's home, but, since it's a business and run as such, differing opinions and experiences are to be expected.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Non_Plussed_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 km away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 km away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.0 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.5 km away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
1.5 km away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 21 in Williamsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast

Property: Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast
Address: 303 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cross this threshold and have a uniquely romantic, private, and memory making experience at Governor's Trace bed and breakfast. Located just a minute walk from George Washington's favorite tavern in Colonial Williamsburg, Governor's Trace B&B is the closest Williamsburg bed and breakfast to the Historic Area...just a 30 second walk and "you have arrived." Governor's Trace is also the oldest continuously operating bed and breakfast in Williamsburg, VA. Sue & Dick Lake, innkeepers with more than 30 years experience in operating this bed and breakfast in Williamsburg, have created an environment that allows you to make the most of being alone---together. Governor's Trace "...vies for the most romantic (bed and breakfast in Williamsburg)"...WASHINGTON POST ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing