We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners are wonderful and great location!!!”
Review of Aldrich House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aldrich House B&B
Ranked #12 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My husband and I felt at home here, and found the room to be very cozy and decorated exactly how you would like to see a Williamsburg B&B. The breakfasts were great. Sue made something different for us every day. You will fall in love with K.C. It was great being within walking distance of Duke of Gloucester. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in my favorite city for my 30th birthday trip. Thank you Sue and Tom!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KParkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2010

We spent the weekend at the Aldrich House Bed and Breakfast and loved everything about it, especially their little cat KC. What a dear! The house is beautiful. Breakfasts were wonderful and the family was very helpful, giving information and tips on the area, sharing their love for the area. We would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catlover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

While both our moms were visiting near their birthdays, my husband and I decided to surprise them with a trip to Williamsburg. As we searched B&Bs in the Williamsburg area, we finally settled upon Aldrich House. We based our decision on several factors: walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg, accommodation for the 4 of us in one room, and reasonable price. It was the least expensive B&B we researched, and that was our only concern (i.e., “you get what you pay for”). Well, I am here to testify that you get a whole lot more than what you pay for!

Aldrich House is lovely and charming…there is nothing pretentious or overly embellished about it… it is like visiting your favorite aunt and uncle out in the country. When we arrived, Sue and Tom were not able to greet us, but they left us a note along with a key to the house. We walked in, and both our moms were delighted. We were all amazed when we walked into our huge room (the Anderson Room), which exceeded our expectations. It was tastefully and lovingly decorated, and it was all very clean and tidy.

On both mornings, we walked downstairs and were treated to a simple, delicious breakfast (i.e., scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit salad and French toast). Combined with orange juice and coffee, it was a perfect way to start our day. Sue and Tom are down-to-earth, friendly, and hospitable. They were helpful with directions and dinner suggestions; at breakfast, they provided pleasant conversation and interesting anecdotes about their experiences at Aldrich House. After breakfast, it was only a 5-10 minute walk to Colonial Williamsburg.

My husband and I had a lovely time and would return in a heartbeat to Aldrich House. Our mothers, on the other hand, found their visit to Williamsburg to be one of the most memorable trips of their lives. Thank you, Sue and Tom, for helping create that memory for us.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idea_Spaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldrichhouse, owner at Aldrich House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2009

Thank you so much for your review. We enjoyed you staying with us also. What you experienced is what we strive for with all our guests. We hope your Moms visit again soon and ya'll make a return visit to us or just come and treat yourselves. Take care and God Bless.
Sue and Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2008

Nice little B&B just a 5 minute walk from Colonial Williamsburg, and while I'd stay there again, I'd bring sleeping pills. The rooms were extremely bright at night from the street lights and the blinds didn't do much. At midnight, with the lights off, it was bright enough to read a book comfortably. We ended up hanging towels over the windows.

The indoor/outdoor 3 legged cat was a suprise, especially when it cried all night outside our door. Both mornings, the other couples complained about the cat noise as well. Its not just your usual meow, this can has a "special" sound that remind me of stepping on a bassonist. Tylenol PM is a must for sleeping here. Cute little cat, but loud.

Floors squeak very loudly, too. If you plan to stay out late, everyone will hear you come in... or you'll hear them if you want to sleep before they're home.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank morbid0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldrichhouse, owner at Aldrich House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2009

You are right. The cat will cry out sometimes. She's almost 20 years old now and has a bad night occasionally. We have also changed the blinds to a larger width. They look nicer and hopefully, turned the right way, will block the light better from the street light.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2007

My family will be spending Christmas in Williamsburg, and we will be staying at the Aldrich House for the fourth time. We love this B&B! First, we like the fact that it is smaller than most other Williamsburg B&Bs, with only four rooms, so it feels cozier and more like home. Tom and Sue Patton welcome you into their family. Tom is actually running the B&B, while Sue works out of the home. He is ex-military and has also worked for Colonial Williamsburg, so he really knows the area. The B&B itself is a salt box style located a mere two blocks from the Capitol end of the Historic District. That can be a real plus in a busy season, since you won't have to worry about parking. Breakfasts are plentiful and good and are served in their dining room family style. This promotes getting to know the few other guests. The two other common areas are a formal living room, with colonial sofas and wing chairs, and a comfortable TV area with sink-in leather couches. The bedrooms are spacious, especially the Anderson Room upstairs and the large bedroom downstairs (I don't recall its name). If you have kids, the Anderson Room can accommodate them - in addition to two king beds, it has a loft that younger ones can use to "camp in" with their stuff. The downstairs bedroom is great for couples or an older person who does not want to climb stairs. I have saved a great point for last - this B&B is very affordable compared to others in the area and much less expensive than staying in a Colonial Williamsburg property. The only potential drawbacks are two - a house cat for anyone who is allergic and their payment method - which requires a 50% deposit when you book and the remainder paid by cash or check at the time of the visit. I put my 50% down on January 13th for this Christmas visit, so you know what a fan I am of this place. I bet one visit here will not be your last!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BandBLover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2006

Our Family just spent 3 lovely nights and delicious breakfasts at Aldrich House, a quaint B & B in walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia (On the Capitol end of town) .Our 3 children, ages 8, 10 & 14 shared the Anderson room, which could have fit our entire family comfortably, but only in hindsight did we know this. It has an adorable loft in which our kids took turns making comfortable sleeping arrangements. Plus it has 2 king sized beds! I think there was also a pull out under one of them! The other room was the Lewis Room and a very comfortable room for my husband & me! The Innkeepers, Tom & Sue Patton, were very pleasant and most willing to be accommodating. Tom is also a licensed tour guide, although we cannot vouch for his services, since we did not take advantage of them this trip. Yes, there is a cat, but KC is very friendly . Our kids loved KC. Tom prepares a wonderful breakfast with fresh fruit salad, eggs, pancakes or waffles or french toast etc... and also some sort of breakfast meat. Fine china and a well set table makes it very welcoming. We would highly recommend this B & B. Remember, May 2007 is when the 400th Anniversary of Jamestown Settlement is being celebrated. Don't miss checking out this great B& B! Probably great all year round!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeNJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2006

The Aldrich house was great and my wife and I are planning a return visit in the future. We were in Williamsburg for the 4th of July and it was quite crowded. Luckily, the Aldrich House was within walking distance to the Historic District (entering from the back of Christiana Campbell's Tavern), so we never had to worry about parking.
The owners were very approachable when it came to directions, providing some insight into which restaurants were best and they even called around for reservations. But the thing that stands out the most is the breakfast, a must for anyone visiting! If you're thinking of staying at a B&B in Williamsburg and don't want to spend a fortune, the Aldrich House is just right for you.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingcheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.1 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.1 km away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.9 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 km away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrich House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrich House B&B

Address: 505 Capitol Court, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: $125 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldrich House Bed & Breakfast guests have stated how our proximity to Colonial Williamsburg is wonderful. A short walk and you are in the Historic Area. We offer an unpretentious atmosphere and serve a full breakfast (family-style) that will keep you fueled for the day. Stay at the Aldrich House Bed and Breakfast for your trip back into history, your visit to the College of William & Mary, Busch Gardens, or to just get away and relax. Our place is your home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing