We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about our stay”
Review of Magnolia Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnolia Manor
Ranked #15 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved everything about our stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I both agreed that we loved everything about our stay here. This was our first B&B experience and it exceeded all our expectations. We were warmly welcomed, given a tour, and brief review of what was closely around us. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, not too frilly (important for my husband) and very comfortable. There was a TV/DVD player and DVDs around to borrow for all; which we enjoyed in the evening. Breakfast was AMAZING!! The owner makes his own jam which is to die for. The owner was so nice, so informative, and great to talk to. It felt like we were staying at our parents house with the comfortable rooms, great breakfast to start the day, and a plate of cookies always available. It's in a great location; right next to Historic Williamsburg. Did I mention, it was a great price too! We loved it, would recommend it, and wish we could go back sooner than later!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    12
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dc
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We simply loved the Magnolia Manor. Love the location, loved the separate sitting room in our suite and loved the outdoor deck (where we enjoyed a glass of wine and a snack). Most importantly we slept great. The hosts were accommodating, helpful, personal and charming. I would highly recommend this inn and we can't wait to come back. Thank you Scott for a very enjoyable stay at your beautiful bed & breakfast. Katherine Z.

Room Tip: The suites have a separate sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had an excellent stay at Magnolia Manor when we were visiting Williamsburg. This was our first time staying at a bread and breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We stayed in the Magnolia Suite which was very nice. The bed, while a little more firm than we like, was beautiful. The fireplace worked well and the tub was deep and comfortable. As all the rooms have hardwood floors you can hear the people walking in the suite above, but it was really not that loud and was not an issue. The house is older and has a lot of charm. Breakfast consisted of bacon, potatoes and some kind of baked apple french toast bread (it was really good). Overall we were extremely pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: We really liked the Magnolia Suite. You can hear the people walking above but luckily the people ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Hubby and I stayed here for Valentines/anniversary in the Honeymoon Retreat suite for only 1 night unfortunately,wouldve stayed longer. First B&B experience and it was great. Innkeeper very nice, knowledgable about the area, made us feel very comfortable. Met the other couple there over breakfast, it was a nice mix to the ordinary continental breakfast at a hotel. They were good table company and innkeeper joined us to conversate before we all began our day. The only bad was that the house is starting to show some wear in small areas but overall its in great shape and some of the cosmetics add to the aptmosphere. Personally I love older homes. We plan to return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fk2009gav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed in the Colonial Getaway room as a pre-Valentine's vacation. We were a little late arriving, but received a warm greeting from Scott. He was super friendly as he showed us around the beautiful home. They have so many neat treasures like an old cash register & leather-bound Edgar Allan Poe book.

The room was BEAUTIFUL!! I have never seen a prettier bed (or more comfortable bed). The gift basket was lovely, including the sparkling cider. It ended up pouring down snow that evening, so we stayed inside & watched DVDs that were available for us for borrow.

Breakfast was good, but would've been nice to have some sausage, bacon (or some kind of meat). But everybody was so nice!!

We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Colonial Getaway is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We were pleased that the Owner named Scott allowed us into our room prior to 4:00 pm check-in. As a couple we both felt the Owner seemed a bit rushed. We felt a little uncomfortable because we thought the owners behavior might have been because we arrived earlier than expected. We chose the second floor room with a lovely fireplace. We enjoyed the garden tub, the jets worked well, and the tub was modest and roomie enough for two. We enjoyed our evening up until 8:00 PM when we realized we had made a mistake to pick the second floor! The ceiling in the living room area was poorly patched from an apparent plumbing issue. We both felt a little unsafe once we noticed how loud the water sounded draining from the incrediablly NOISEY garden tub above! I had never heard walls vibrate so loudly before. The worst part was that our loud neighbors above kept dropping things which made my wife jump out of her skin! My wife and I barely got a wink of sleep the entire night because the guest above us thought they'd make a marothon of pacing back and forth from room to room. If you plan to stay at Magnolia Manor make sure to pick the third floor, else your visit will be as stale as the breakfast that is served on warmers the next morning. Do not pick the second floor if you DO NOT like to hear road noise as well. At breakfast Scott once again spoke nearly a hundred miles a minute. He asked was if we had any questions about the Williamsburg area. One other couple sat at the empty table with us and you could cut the silence with a knife after Scott's brief chit chat, following a quick exit. I am being polite not to add a few choice words for Scott when I say that the only thing he said to us upon leaving was, "are you leaving now?" and "maybe the next time, we could stay a bit longer." I could be wrong but I don't remember if he asked us if we had enjoyed our stay! I give Magnolia Manor an average rating because with a dedicated owner, as well as a fresh coat of paint and repair work, this Bed and Breakfast would be better than average.

Room Tip: Select the third floor. The second floor is loud when people walk or run the tub. Outside road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith_r6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catonsville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was a wonderful bed and breakfast that I will definitely visit again! Both Scott and Jennifer were very friendly and helpful host and hostess. The manor was spotless, well maintained and the location made it very easy to get anywhere of interest within a few minutes drive.
Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.7 km away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.6 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.8 km away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
596 reviews
0.8 km away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
1.6 km away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Manor

Property: Magnolia Manor
Address: 700 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnolia Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing