We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial houses---love them!”
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Williamsburg Inn
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We spent two weekends in Williamsburg for my daughter to tour William and Mary and stayed in colonial houses run by the Inn that are right on the DOG street in Colonial Williamsburg. The location of the one we stayed in was superb (same one both times)---walked right our the front door to the Walter Raleigh Tavern and just steps to the King's Arms and Chownings. An easy, pretty walk to the college and all the considerable amenities of the Inn at our disposal. All four of us agreed that we had the best sleep of our lives in those beds---the mattresses? Pillows? Both? Our room service breakfasts were delivered fast and hot. The price was incredibly reasonable---considering we could walk right into the gorgeous spring weather in the colonial area. I can't recommend these highly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RamblerReston_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Williamsburg Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

I first visited Williamsburg & the fabulous Williasburg Inn when I was 17...I'm now 67, & it's still the Best after all these years. When you want the best, you go to the best...fabulous antiques, great food in the restaurants...hey dress-up in the Colonial garb, you'll feel like a "1700's" local & you'll look great. It helps to make some else's vacation experience a little richer.

Room Tip: Every room is a "good" room & the furnishings are the very best...your budget determin...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gunther1431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Beautiful and spacious. We even had our own patio. The service was great!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geegee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My girlfriends and I wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of NYC so we headed down to good old Colonial Wililamsburg (CW) for a quick weekend getaway. As an alum of William and Mary, I'm not so used to being a tourist in CW. Let me just say...I would come back any day as a "tourist" and will always look to the Williamsburg Inn for my hotel needs. They are the absolute best!

We arrived mid-morning (10:00 am) and the staff greeted us at the front door and directed us to check-in. While our room wasn't ready (no surprise, it's 10 am!) they went ahead and checked us in and took our cell phone number so they could call us as soon as it was available. They hooked us up with a listing of special events for the weekend as well as a ticket for a free gift which could be picked up on CW grounds. My friends and I freshened up, purchased our "length of stay" passes for Colonial Williamsburg (what a deal), and were on our way. Just a few hours later we received a call letting us know our room was ready.

We stayed at the Providence Hall portion of the Inn and it was fantastic! A super spacious room with two queen beds, a small dining room table, full couch, and a glorious bathroom. Everything was super clean and comfortable. We even had a little patio area with a table and two chairs looking out on the woods.

The next morning my girlfriends and I were a bit sleepy and it was raining outside. Instead of trekking out for breakfast and coffee, we decided to order room service. Two of us ordered a traditional american meal with eggs, breakfast potatoes, bacon and such. The other two ordered fruit plates with yogurt. All were amazing and arrived in less than 30 minutes from when we placed or order! We opened up the patio, listened to the rain roll by, and enjoyed our breakfast in our little home away from home.

A fantastic weekend at the Inn...I would go go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegglesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Wow! What a great resort!
Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we stayed in a Colonial House which was really atmospheric. Since there were 5 of us, we had to get two rooms (max occupancy is 4), so we had an entire two story house with a suite on each floor. The suites has in room coffee and small fridges (but not a mini bar).
The ground floor room had a fireplace, and the houseman will come and build a wood burning fireplace if requested. Room service set up a round table in front of the fire for us, and we started the day with a lovely breakfast.
We stayed there during Easter, and the gated garden – complete with well – provided a perfect setting for our Easter Egg hunt.
Being right in the middle of the colonial area is really cool, though being in such a nice hotel is a bit of a negative in that we spent perhaps too much time in the spa and at the pool instead of visiting the colonial sites.
The spa charges a $25 fee for a day pass to use the facilities (large whirlpool, sauna, ice shower in locker rooms) , but it is included with spa/salon services so my hubby and boys each got $30 haircuts and I got a $30 manicure.
There are two outdoor pools – a quiet one and family one - plus an indoor one in a solarium with a Jacuzzi. The landscaping is beautiful, and the bar service was attentive.
We had planned on spending our last day of our east coast trip in Richmond to finish up the traveling History lesson, but the Williamsburg Inn was so comfortable we couldn’t leave.
The room rates are expensive, but everything else is reasonable, e.g. no resort fees, free parking, and reasonable rates from room service.

Room Tip: The colonial houses are unique and memorable.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pattidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you've visited Colonial Williamsburg more than once, like we have, you come to understand to avoid the touristy hotels with tons of screaming kids filled in cholorinated pools. Nothing is worng with economy hotels, but even adults need quiet once in awhile. The Williamsburg Inn is where the Queen of England laid her head when she last visited CWI. It's 1800's brought current with most amenities provided quite nicely. When you tire from walking around dusty cobblestone streets with visitors and children packed in tightly in CWI, you need to walk into a nicely decorated lobby, relax with a good glass of Williamsburg wine and view the wysteria across the way for the Abby Rockefeller Musuem. Rooms are good, quite, clean, lovely attired and all within walking distance to the Marketplace. A good value.

Room Tip: Rooms away from bus drop circular drive are a good idea, and not to close to the banquet room too.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooffwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We were booked into the Brick House Tavern, which was very comfortable and had a great location. The concierge desk at the Inn was very nice, but could have been more forthcoming in pointing out to us the offerings for kids, such as the day-long scavenger hunt. The multi-day pass for guests booking thru Colonial Williamsburg and various promotional discounts at the shops and restaurants made it an excellent value, though the restaurants are pricier than expected for dinner. I'd definitely go back and do this again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oneisawanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 km away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.3 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 km away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
8.2 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Address: 136 E Francis St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $563 - $747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Williamsburg Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. Experience true luxury at the Williamsburg Inn. While you might not be a Rockefeller, we'll treat you like one with our attention to detail and gracious southern hospitality. The Williamsburg Inn features a selection of unique rooms in an unforgettable setting, just steps from the Revolutionary City. Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TravelClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing