We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with reasonable rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with reasonable rates”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Williamsburg, where we stayed at this hotel. Over all, we were very impressed. Since I am in a wheelchair, we stayed in their wheelchair accessible room with a king size bed and a roll-in shower.

The room was very nice and clean, as was the entire hotel. The thing that immediately caught my attention about the room was the size. In most wheelchair accessible hotel rooms, the size is adequate, but I still find myself being careful not to bump into things. In this room, there was about size feet between the end of the bed and the dresser, and there was plenty of space to comfortable get the wheelchair alongside the bed on both sides. At one end of the room, there was several feet of extra space, creating a large open area that made it easy to maneuver in my chair. The extra space in this room would have made me much more comfortable even if I was not in a wheelchair. The room also had amenities such as a large HD tv, refridgerator, and microwave. I was also surprised to find that the bed had both soft and firm pillows, which I've never seen in any other hotel. The service was very good, and Bistro 515 restaurant had decent food at a reasonable price.

I only had a few criticisms. There was something wrong with the lock on our bathroom door, so the first time we closed that door, with nobody in the bathroom, the door locked and we couldn't open it. We notified the front desk, and in a few minutes they had maintenance there to look at it. They showed us how to unlock the bathroom door from the outside, by inserting the edge of a coin in a groove in the handle and turning it.

The only other critism I had concerned the roll-in shower. It was adequate but could have been better designed. It was small, taking up basically the same space as a tub. There was a seat attached to the wall, which was good, but it was small to fit on the wall at one end of the shower. It was at the opposite end of the shower from the showerhead, so I was unable to adjust the water temp, etc. while sitting on the seat. Also there was a grab bar on the wall over the seat, which made it necessary for me to sit near the front edge of the seat. As a result, I had to be careful not to lose my balance and fall forward.

These issues with the shower would not prevent my from staying there again. My wife was able to help me, but these things could be more of a problem for people in a wheelchair who may be traveling alone. It's also good that they have a shower seat attached to the wall, because I typically don't see features like that except in more expensive hotel chains.

The location of the hotel was also very good. It is about a mile from Colonial Williamsburg and also near a wide variety of restaurants, etc. Jamestown and Yorktown are only a few miles away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtrollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear rtrollins,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay in our hotel. We are so happy that you were happy with your stay. Thank you for the suggestions about the bathroom accessible shower. We have passed these comments on to our management so they can look into it. Your suggestions help us improve our hotel for you and for future guests to our hotel.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will come stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    324
    90
    21
    15
See reviews for
638
306
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Wonderful hotel, big nice rooms. Great location, very convenient to Colonial Williamsburg and Jamestown Settlement. Everything was perfect about our visit. Great value!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Susan B,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

We appreciate all of your comments. We hope that you will come stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Check in was fast.The room was clean, other than a little dust there was no problems, believe me I looked. Staff was very friendly.Stacy at the bar was very nice and can mix up a pretty good drink.I did not try the restaurant so I cant comment on that

Room Tip: "top floor is best"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Motman25,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments, and will pass them on to our staff. We thank you for telling us about your concern about the dust in your room. We are currently working with our housekeepers to correct that. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

As stated, there are tons of of hotels to choose from. We choose this based on Trip Advisor reviews. I would not rate it a 5, as it was what I expected but did not exceed. We had some LOUD people on our floor that woke us at 2am. Called front desk and they promptly took care of it.
Rooms were nice with the extra sitting area and TV away from the beds. Bathroom was bright and adequate. Not sure I would stay again, would consider a different brand for the same or less price.

Room Tip: We had top floor (5th)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear lfinks,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments. We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay. Sorry that you had a loud floor. We are currently looking into this situation. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. We hope that you will give us another chance.

We hope that you will consider us again. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Williamsburg is overrun with similar new hotels. This one is a good choice. Of several hotels on a trip, this one is not memorable - good or bad.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank onthesameday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Another nice Holiday Inn. Clean and good service. I don't rate any Holiday Inn 5* as most that I have been to are fairly similar. As a business traveler it served it purpose.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmcraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Cmcraven,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments and will pass them on to our staff. We appreciate your business.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearlake, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I had two kids with me, I wanted a safe place to stay for a night, te front desk Kristen was at the desk she looked up the rate but gave my kids the wifi code to keep them occupied she gave me a rate of 81. Signed me up for priority club and gave me an upgrade to a suiteFOR THE SAME RATE!! So I could have a break after traveling 18 hours with a 12 year old daughter and 14 year old son. She gave us our room keys check in was fast. Our room was clean and I loved having my own private space! I came down to see if food places were open at 1230 am and she went online placed an order for dominoes pizzeria. You cant get staff like that. I called down asking for pillows.and extra blankets and she asked if we needed.anything else. She brought up more.than what was needed asked.about the room. When I told.her I.was checking out at 5 am to be back on the road she remembered because in the morning she made.coffee for me to get back on the road told me where I could get a quick good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Amanda S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that we could make you and your family very happy. We are so happy that we could accommodate you. You and your family are always welcome to stay with us.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope that you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.2 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.4 km away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
711 reviews
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
2.1 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
583 reviews
6.5 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing