We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Very clean, quiet, and close to food which is exactly what I was looking for. Only downfall was the hotel restaurant closes at 9pm on the weekend..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopperhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P, Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
I am happy to see that we were a great fit for your accommodation needs while you were in Winchester! Thank you for your fair assessment of our hotel and I hope we'll be able to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    121
    38
    12
    2
See reviews for
122
122
26
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Traveling as a family with a toddler (2 years old), looking for an overnight stay on our journey from Tennessee to NJ. Our priorities were to find a place that was safe, clean (bug-free!), quiet, and affordable. At under $80/night and all the positive reviews, we were happy to say that we were not disappointed. We arrived late at night, check-in process took under 5 minutes, fridge in room and free wi-fi were welcome plusses, lobby was bright and cheery. Ample parking, room was spacious and clean, staff were friendly. Building looks like it was recently renovated with new looking furniture and beds.

Only downside is that there is no free breakfast, though there is a restaurant on site. We did not use the indoor pool, the gym, the restaurant, or any other amenities. We arrived late at night (9 PM) and checked out early (8 AM) and were on our way. Hotel was everything we expected and more.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P, Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments of our hotel! We try to make your experience as pleasant as possible and I am happy to hear that our staff was able to provide that for you!

As with Holiday Inn standards, we don't have a continental breakfast option and instead offers a full service restaurant and room service. You may have us confused with IHG's other brand, Holiday Inn Express, that only offers the continental breakfast option.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will stay again the next time you are traveling along the East Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed overnight recently and was impressed by this hotel. Beautiful lobby, very clean room and the staff was exceptional. Traveling alone, I was very comfortable here. Easy to find off I-81. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BrendaG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P, Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
I am happy to see that you felt comfortable while staying with us! It is our goal to do just that and it's nice to know that our guests, like you, are affirming our efforts for success. Thank you for staying with us and I hope that you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is our second stay at this hotel. The lobby is bright and the check in without a reeservation was easy. The rooms are very affordable. We spent the evening in the lounge watching sports with some locals. It is always a plus when locals wvisit a hotel bar. We will be back when we are in the area again. The room was very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P, Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Thank you for coming back to our hotel and taking the time to write about your experience! I am delighted to know that each time has been a pleasant one and that you are interested in staying with us again. It's also wonderful seeing the community try our restaurant and lounge to give our guests a local experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Winchester for an overnight with family. Pleased with the staff, common areas, and rooms. Rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable, and to the standard I expect at the upgraded Holiday Inn properties. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and were impressed with the wait-staff and with the food, both the quality and the price.

One negative I must point out: the room temperature was not good. Outside it was only in the 40s, so it should not have been difficult to get the room to stay cool. Even though we turned the air conditioning way down, it cut on and off all night, so it was at one turn comfortable, then cool, then hot. I noticed a sensor above the door, which may explain this. Whatever caused it, it was very frustrating. Had I been there longer than about 14 hours I would have asked for someone to look at it.

In spite of the temperature issue, I recommend and I would return to this property if my travels take me to Winchester again, but I would get the temperature issue sorted out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear quequedub,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are pleased you liked you room accommodations as well as our friendly staff. We are deeply sorry you had problems with the climate control in your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The design and newness of this H.I. were quite surprising when I walked into the lobby. Very spacious and upscale looking. Loved the indoor pool - good sized for exercising. We didn't eat in the restaurant but friends did and said it was fine. Room was clean and spacious and this hotel is easy to get to and convenient to attractions. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P, Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
I am very happy to know that you like the new look of Holiday Inn! The brand has really made great efforts to stay current and competitive! I will let our staff know to keep up the great job as they work hard to keep the hotel looking fresh and clean. Thank you for your kind remarks and I hope that you can stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We picked out this hotel through Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Stayed here just one night on our way north from FL with a planned stop the next morning at the Antietam Battlefield about an hour north of Winchester. Nice room, reasonable rate. After being on the road all day, we opted to eat both dinner and breakfast at the hotel and food was quite acceptable. Would certainly stop here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maritimevisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P, Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
It is wonderful to see that your stay met your expectations after reading our reviews, and then you were so kind as to add your own review! The drive up to Antietam is filled with beautiful countryside, mountains, and crossing the Potomac at Harper's Ferry is a sight! We are very fortunate to be surrounded by so many historic battlefields and that you were able to experience one of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
3.4 km away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
694 reviews
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602-7320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Winchester
#9 Family Hotel in Winchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing