We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, well-prepared seafood”

Oyster Bar on Chuckanut Drive
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Bow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed November 4, 2018

We happened upon this place on the Chikanut drive, not knowing its fine reputation in the area. What a great find, if you have some splurge money at your disposal. The views from the dining room are stunning, overlooking a few oyster beds, the woods and some distant mountains past the bay. A daily special, Ling Cod with chanterelle mushrooms, was beautiful and delicious. Oysters, both raw and fried were exactly right. Service was friendly and prompt. This is great place for special occasions.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kutskurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 365 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2018

Linen table napkins, fresh rose in a vase on the table, and a burning candle, presented on a beautiful white tablecloth. Cozy, romantic, relaxing….Walking in you are impressed by the view of the water through the wall of windows... Perched on the hillside, hanging off the cliff, overlooking beautiful trees and water. It is a very small restaurant with about 60 seats split between two floors. The entry floor dining room is tiered to provide views for all tables. There are booths along the upper level and tables in front of the windows.
They do not have a full bar but they have a very expensive wine list and some craft beers along with spiked apple cider and soft drinks. The restaurant opened in 1936 with very little changes other than some updates on the interior. There is parking in front of the restaurant which is right on Highway 11…Off of the main floor there is a spiral staircase leading downstairs to a small dining area which leads out to very narrow balcony with four tables.
Terry had the fresh baked shrimp and it was beautifully presented and, according to her, it had a very subtle delicate flavor with no one flavor out-matching the others. My salmon tacos - hand made corn tacos - fresh salmon steak surrounded by sliced avocado, fennel, pico, crème fraiche and jalopeno….YUM!
The sous chef is also the pastry chef and I had the best flourless chocolate cake I’ve had in many many many months. Terry had the crème brûlée made with coffee and brandy, with the sugarcoating custom-made to your liking (thick crust or thin crust)..Great experience – romantic or just casual & relaxed; good attentive service, fantastic flavors, great atmosphere…pricey.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018

We were taken to this restaurant by friends at the end of a trip to the area; what a finale.
Superb location. The view over the water was stunning and we enjoyed our meals as the sun was setting. Superb food, wine and service. A great way to conclude our visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank geoff e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The FOOD oh my goodness! It was heaven on earth. We sat on the patio and have the view of the bay and the hills! They gave us blankets to put around our legs. the whole experience was totally amazing!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ritaoxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2018

I go here every summer and am always pleased with everything. What a great drive to get there and great meals and service. Wonderful setting and view. If you want a table instead of a booth be sure to ask and always make a reservation. Parking available on the street in front. Not an inexpensive to go but worth the experience. Unbelievable wine selection all stored in a cool and dry environment. Professional service for sure. Main courses in the $32 range.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Explorer1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oyster Bar on Chuckanut Drive also viewed

 

Been to Oyster Bar on Chuckanut Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing