We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
So much variety in such a small place

We did the trail in about 2 hours because there is a lot of neat scenery to take in. It's an... read more

Reviewed July 15, 2018
Sharity C
Excellent Trail to See the Impact of the Mount Saint Helens Landslide - Wildlife Also

I've hiked this trail twice, with my younger son in the late fall a few years ago during a light... read more

Reviewed July 14, 2018
William B
,
Frisco, Texas
Read all 20 reviews
  
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
10
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews johnston ridge mile loop visitor center toutle river landslide wetlands eruption observatory forest habitat helens mt
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2018

We did the trail in about 2 hours because there is a lot of neat scenery to take in. It's an interesting trail that takes you into rain forest type areas with a little stream running throughout and then you come out and see bigger hammocks and rocky ares and swampy areas. Lots of variety. It was a fairly relaxing trail. We went in the morning and were the only ones on the trail. It can get wet in certain areas with the plants right next to the trail and they can get you pretty wet. I had to wring my socks out when we were done. But it was worth it.

2  Thank Sharity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018

I've hiked this trail twice, with my younger son in the late fall a few years ago during a light snow and in late June with my older son. It gives a sense of the scale of the landslide that happened during the 1980 eruption.

Looking at the large hummocks and then turning to Mt. St. Helens and realizing these house sized boulders were sent hurtling down the mountain in the landslide was quite impressive.

On both occasions we saw wildlife. Notably Elk on the hike in the fall - we were able to see a group of Elk (one bull and four cows) on several occasions on the hike although they stayed far enough to prevent getting any good pictures. On the hike this summer, we saw two deer and were able to get very close (see pictures).

It's not a difficult hike, okay for younger kids and worth the time. Another reviewer suggested going to the visitor center and/or Johnston Ridge first. I completely agree with this advice. Definitely want to get a good view of the mountain and a sense of the scale of what happened before this hike.

Definitely worthwhile if your schedule allows.

Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

We hiked the trail in March during light snowfall, temperature in the low 30's, and encountered equal amounts of snow and gravel/mud. Trail was still easy to discern. Beautiful this time of year too, although too overcast on this day to see the mountain.

Thank FrauP7121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017

This is a relatively easy hike...not too strenuous. The parking lot for the trailhead is right on the scenic highway. Because there were no real "wow" moments, I would suggest going to the visitor center and observatory first to get all of your Mt. St. Helens info, and then do the hike if you have time/daylight.

3  Thank MidLifeCrisisGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2017

This is one of the better hikes that I have taken in both Mt. Rainier and Mt. St. Helens. It is a 2.5 mile loop that isn't too steep either going up or down. Along the way, you will pass through different habitats ranging from deciduous forest to open grassland to marsh/wetland. The views of the mountain and Toutle river are gorgeous and you can cover it all in about an hour.

2  Thank County-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2016

We walked Hummocks after hearing a talk at the main center ....really helped with knowing what we were looking at. It was a very hot day and we were glad that we had water. I would say this trail was easy but longer than I expected. I am 63 and had no trouble even with a grouchy knee. Enjoy!

4  Thank retiredsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

Went through this trail today with a 5 and 3 yr old. Our 3 yr old rode in the hiking backpack almost the whole way. Would have been a bit much for her, especially up and down some of the steeper inclines. Our son did amazing and did not complain once! Pretty easy 2 1/2 mile loop that give you the option of circling back after 1/2 mile. Some really pretty views, would definitely do again!

2  Thank 571toniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016

A hummock is a steep-sided hill that used to be part of the peak of Mount St. Helens. The hummocks were created in the valley of the North Fork Toutle River where the landslide that followed the volcano eruption deposited portions of the former peak.

This hike is fantastically beautiful! It is a 2.4 mile loop trail that meanders up hill and down dale through hummocks, young alder forests, ponds, and wetlands. The wild flowers were beautiful and there were 5-foot tall foxgloves growing everywhere!

When you arrive at the trailhead, a sign informs you that there are numbered posts along the length of the trail that correspond to an informational brochure describing what you are to see. And the brochures are available in a box at the trailhead—which was empty when we arrived—or at the Johnston Ridge Observatory. So, if you are going to do this hike after visiting the Observatory, be sure to get a brochure there before venturing on. Maybe the brochure explains what a hummock is.

1  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2016

We visited Mt. St. Helens while the road was still closed at the Hummocks until the summer season. We used the Hummocks Trail the connect to Boundary Trail to hike all the way to Johnston Observatory. We'd recommend this experience even when the road is open. Slowly traversing the landscape was a much better way to appreciate the environment & the up close details you miss from the car. Seeing a toad & a garter snake eke out a living deep in the still recovering blast zone was really cool. Also getting Johnston Observatory all to ourselves, mere weeks before it will be open to hoards of tourists, was really unique. The hummocks, and their formation, is definitely worth the short hike here but why not make it an all day affair and really get to know St. Helens up close & personal?

1  Thank TheSpeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

Very easy trail, great for small children. Essentially flat, with an easy turn around spot if the full loop is too long for you. The sites are fairly mediocre. If you have the skill for a more difficult trail, I wouldn't recommend spending your time on this one.

1  Thank MrsAJG1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews