We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best!”
Review of Blue Heron chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Heron chateau
Ranked #1 of 1 Castle Rock B&B and Inns
Umatilla
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This is the best!”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Purchased a Living Social Coupon and had no idea what to expect. When we arrived I was more then pleased! The view is spectacular.....the rooms are clean and comfortable with wonderful views from the balcony.....excellent breakfast served "farm style" with more then enough to have seconds and thirds...and best of all was "the family"....really it was a "staff of amazing friends" of the owners and each one was a delight......just hated to leave....could have spent several more days in these surroundings......Do yourself a favor and plan a nice weekend away at this wonderful B & B....probably the best one I've been to!

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room in this B & B.....all face the mountain and if the mountain is co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umatillapole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    23
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I loved this place. The setting was beautiful. The breakfast was to die for. We had fresh fruit, 2 kinds of quiche, hash browns, muffins and fresh juices. The common areas were cozy. The inn keeper (Brenda) was very cordial and ate breakfast with the guests which I thought was a nice touch. I can't say enough about how Brenda made the visit pleasant. We were a little bit rushed so we didn't get to enjoy the common areas like would would have liked. However, it had a fireplace and vaulted ceilings with a veranda. Every room had a nice view from a balcony. The weather was misty for us so we didn't get the full view of the forest and the lake but we enjoyed the mist all the same since we come from the dessert of Utah. Please check out my pictures if I can figure out how to attach pictures.

Now, why 4 stars instead of 5? If you are a light sleeper, this place is not for you. My wife is a light sleeper and she was particularly concerned about how easily you could hear the other guests. Fortunately, the other guests, who we met at breakfast, were courteous and settled in early.

Room Tip: Only experienced one room but I can see that they all have the same view and all had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmcsoon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We live outside of Seattle and wanted a short getaway and came to the Blue Heron Inn in Castle Rock, WA. My husband and I were so glad we did! We actually purchased the deal from Living Social, and the whole experience was well above expectations. We were greeted by Brenda, who was so nice and accommodating. We were happy just to wind down, so we went to our room, which was extremely cozy. We were in #3, which supposedly had an amazing view of St. Helens. The mountain was cloud covered when we arrived, so we went downstairs to taste the wine and enjoy picking out our free bottle. We chose the Sangiovese, but their dessert wines were really good too. We took a stroll around Silver Lake and came back to relax. It was a nice treat to get the fresh baked cookies in the afternoon! We had brought our own beverages and snacks, so we plopped down in front of the tv, watched football, and relaxed. We met another awesome couple who joined us for a bit. Being our first B&B, we were hesitant that the owners would be too intrusive, but it was the complete opposite. Brenda exited and simply told us breakfast was at 9am. After a while, we went to our room, and it was then that St. Helens had shown her beauty. We went to sleep with the memory etched in our minds. Breakfast was amazing, and Teresa was quite hospitable. Luckily, we had some snacks left over from the night before becuase we woke early and had a while before going downstairs. The breakfast was divine, and we got to enjoy two other couples. We were sad to leave, and wish we could have extended our stay, but we will be back. I had read other reviews and heard the bad stigma a gentleman named Eric had put with the place, but have no fear, this was a stellar stay. Please, do yourself a favor and stay here. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room number # 3 had an amazing view! Pack a snack or a light dinner. There are fridges you can use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmcsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Great time was had! My husband and I spent our time touring the area of Mt St. Helens, and loved being able to come back to the warm and friendly B&B.
Brenda was so welcoming to her guests, un-intrusive, and made the best breakfast. We had fun getting to know everyone.Our room was cozy and inviting as well.
We also enjoyed getting to know June and Gary that run the wine tasting bar.
Overall, it was a treat from beginning to end, I would recommend this to my friends and plan on returning in the spring. Maria and Sean.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and stayed with our extended family at the Blue Heron Inn and had a lovely time. Beautiful rooms, sitting areas and fantastic service. We especially like being across the street from the Mt St Helen's Visitor's Center and the wonderful (easy) walking trails. The house was inviting to relax in and the breakfast was superb with fresh fruit, muffins, quiche and more. We will definitely stay here again. I could see staying here from Portland to Seattle or to go over to Multnomah Falls. A relaxing and fond memory to be sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikDeborahTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Couldnt be any nicer. Relaxing atmosphere. Best of all.....very quiet. Enjoyed my two days here and would definitely look into it again if I should return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jco237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Blue Heron Inn. The building is very nice looking and has many great common areas with couches, books etc. There is also a big porch and each room has it's own little balcony to check out the fabulous view of the lake and mountains. Our bedroom was comfortable and spacious. The inside decor was a bit sparse and mismatched but that's about the only negative comment we had. The manager was helpful in suggesting local places to eat, was generally very hospitable and cooked us up an excellent, huge breakfast in the morning. We would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenicium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Rock
20.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
17.8 km away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
18.1 km away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
18.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Kelso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.7 km away
Timberland Inn & Suites
Timberland Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Castle Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron chateau

Property: Blue Heron chateau
Address: 2846 Spirit Lake Hwy, Castle Rock, WA 98611-9719
Region: United States > Washington > Castle Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Heron chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inn is located diagonally opposite the Mt. St. Helens Visitor Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Heron chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Castle Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing