We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find From The Lake!”

Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe
Ranked #30 of 51 Restaurants in Chelan
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

Wow, what a fun cafe! We're always looking for a place to eat accessible by boat. Bit of a hike, but you'll need to work up an appetite for the delicious food. Mostly outside seating with some under cover. Deck, grass, and creek side tables. Food is excellent and generous. Also a nice variety of beer, wine, and local cider. Easily accessible from Watson's Resort or Chelan State Park.

Thank KayceezPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertwatsonjr, Manager at Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you found us and enjoyed your time at Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2016

We ate here on a rare rainy day this summer, and so probably did not experience this (mostly) outdoor cafe at its best. Still, the food exceeded my expectations, while sticking to the basics -- in a good way. The burgers were good, the veggies were thick cuts and fresh, the buns were fresh and tasty, and fries and shakes were simple but well prepared, and there is a good selection of beers and ciders to go with it all.

Alpenhorn was recommended to us by the fuel attendant at the nearby dock and gas station on the south side of Lake Chelan. We ended up driving by car the next day. But in the future we will take advantage of the nearby public docs and walk up from the lake. The walk is not super short, but short enough, and it will be a nice burger break for a day on the lake.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JustBits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertwatsonjr, Manager at Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe. Yes, we have had some funky weather this year but I am glad you enjoyed your experience regardless of the weather. We hope you will stop by next time you are around when the weather is nicer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2015

You can't visit the south shore of Lake Chelan without stopping in at least once to the Alpenhorn. All outside seating on the decks, lawn or by First Creek. Wide selection of drive-in type items. We especially like their burgers and shakes. On weekends it gets pretty busy so relax and enjoy the out-of-doors as the delivery gets a little slow.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JudgeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertwatsonjr, General Manager at Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2016

Judge T - Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review for Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy our burgers and shakes. Please know that for 2016 we have a few new items you may enjoy such as the Slide Ridge Burger which is our mushroom burger. Also our Lake Chelan Yacht Clud. Yes, a Club Sandwich. How about our new coconut shrimp with Sweet Thia Marmalade dipping sauce? These are outstanding.

You are entirely right in the fact that sometimes we have huge waves of business. We are not a fast food place and we have a limited kitchen. We hope people do not come to Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe thinking that we are a fast food place. We want to be known for our great food, not fast food but we do the best we can to get food out and quickly as we can.

Thank you again for the comment and taking the time to make the comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2015

gotta get one of those 22 in. hot dogs then go over to the lake and sit on the pier and soak up the rays! Try the chowder too!

2  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertwatsonjr, General Manager at Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2016

Richard

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe.

We are sorry to say that we may not be able to get those outstanding 22 inch dogs this year. The company we got them from came up with a new policy that would have required us to purchase something like 120 cases of these dogs. We only go through about 3 or 4 cases. I am searching for other options however and I hope this does not keep you from returning again.

Please know that we have a few new items on our menu for the 2016 season.

Thank you again for the review and sorry I was late replying. Just got signed up for this. We hope you have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Alpenhorn is located directly opposite the entrance to Lake Chelan State Park. It is the only Wi-Fi for miles, so really handy for campers to walk over to and check their e-mails.
The cafe has all odf of the classic burgers, fries, and milkshakes, plus more. They sell beers and ice as well. It's a walk up service window, and a large deck seating area. Nicely shaded and an old TV to watch. The service is excellent and everyone was super friendly. They even let us sit and watch several World Cup games while we were there. Thanks for that, and we'll see you next year.

3  Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertwatsonjr, General Manager at Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2016

Thank you so much for the nice review. I am sorry I am so late in replying but I just got signed up on here.

I think I remember when you were here and watching the World Cup games. You may be pleased to know that the old TV is gone and we have a new flat screen now.

Hope to see you this summer and thanks again for taking the time to say nice things about Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Watson's Alpenhorn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing