We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect evening sail”

Northwest Classic Daysailing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering 3-hour day-sails aboard Classic Wooden Sloop "Aura" from May to October, departing from the Deer Harbor Marina. Learn to sail, steer and handle lines as much or as little as you desire. Bring food for a floating picnic. We will navigate through the scenic heart of the San Juans. Maximum 6 people. It's beautiful out there!
Reviewed September 29, 2016

We had a perfect evening sail with Ward. He is friendly, competent & informative. And he let me take the tiller for the evening (with guidance, of course). Lovely experience!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank OregonTravelerOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain ward"
in 19 reviews
"relaxing sailing"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"san juan islands"
in 7 reviews
"orcas island"
in 11 reviews
"knowledgeable captain"
in 3 reviews
"hour sail"
in 4 reviews
"sailing trip"
in 3 reviews
"an awesome experience"
in 2 reviews
"experienced captain"
in 2 reviews
"tiller"
in 13 reviews
"aura"
in 7 reviews
"sails"
in 12 reviews
"sailboat"
in 12 reviews
"seals"
in 10 reviews
"helm"
in 4 reviews
"motoring"
in 2 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2016

We had a lovely full moon sail this last weekend. Our schedule was tight and Captain Ward accommodated us very nicely. The boat is in great condition and has nice cushions so you are nice and comfy. He made sure we saw some animal life and it was a lovey experience. Very mellow and beautiful. I think this is a great addition to an Orcas trip. You see things differently out on the water.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank TKaupp2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Our sailing experience with Capt. Ward was nothing short of wonderful! The weather was perfect, as was the whole sail. He let us sail the boat and experience the real feel of the morning breezes and waters. Capt. was knowledgeable, enjoyable, and gracious. HIGHLY recommend this 3 hour experience of heaven on earth!! Would definitely repeat this trip!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

It was a wonderful opportunity to spend really quality time with my grown daughters and a fiance. We were able to sail the boat as if it was ours. If we get back to Orcas we'll do it again.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2016

Our three-hour 4:30 pm sailing trip included our 2.5 year old son, which could have easily been a disaster. Much to our delight, it was laid-back, beautiful, calming and informative. Captain Ward was patient, kind and thoughtful. Our son remembers seeing seals (yes!), porpoises (yes!) Orcas (nope.) and grandpa (referring to Ward). A child-size life jacket was provided and fit him perfectly, which allowed us to go to the bow of the boat with him for a different view. The weather was warm, sunny and calm. We would recommend this trip for anyone wanting a relaxing view of the islands.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank happyfam2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northwest Classic Daysailing also viewed

 
Orcas Island, San Juan Islands
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to Northwest Classic Daysailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing