We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always sail”

Northwest Classic Daysailing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering 3-hour day-sails aboard Classic Wooden Sloop "Aura" from May to October, departing from the Deer Harbor Marina. Learn to sail, steer and handle lines as much or as little as you desire. Bring food for a floating picnic. We will navigate through the scenic heart of the San Juans. Maximum 6 people. It's beautiful out there!
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Ward Faye will always make sure that you experience a real classic wooden boat under sail. He'll also let you operate the tiller and experience what it's like to steer the boat under sail. He welcomes you and your snacks and wine. It's fun to sail with Ward out of Deer Harbor afternoon, evening or anytime.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain ward"
in 19 reviews
"relaxing sailing"
in 4 reviews
"hour sail"
in 4 reviews
"san juan islands"
in 7 reviews
"beautiful afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"orcas island"
in 11 reviews
"knowledgeable captain"
in 3 reviews
"sailing experience"
in 3 reviews
"an awesome experience"
in 2 reviews
"experienced captain"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 2 reviews
"tiller"
in 13 reviews
"sails"
in 12 reviews
"sailboat"
in 12 reviews
"aura"
in 7 reviews
"helm"
in 4 reviews
"seals"
in 10 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2018

Capt Ward does a great job of providing a comfortable, enjoyable sailing experience. He explained sailing terminology and decisions he made as we sailed, so we learned a lot from him. My husband enjoyed helping out the whole time. Ward's laid back personality made for an enjoyable, relaxing morning on the water.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank drnra48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

We had a great time with Ward and the other guests on this sailing trip. It was a beautiful day on Orcas, and being aboard a cool, vintage boat with an experienced captain, who knows a lot about the area, was fantastic. Ward let us take turns at the tiller, and working the lines for the sails. He took time to explain sailing concepts, and told us interesting tidbits about the area. It was a wonderful afternoon and one of our best experiences in the San Juans. Highly recommend it!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank BeckyNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Do you like sailing? You’ll love this trip! Never been sailing? You’ll love this trip! I had an unusual experience in that no others had signed up that afternoon and I had the boat and Captain Ward all to myself. I’ve done a fair amount of sailing, so he let me do a lot of the “work”. I loved it. If you’re new to sailing, he’ll gladly teach you as much as you want to know or do. Or, just let you relax and enjoy the ride. I can’t think of anyplace more beautiful to sail than the San Juan islands. The area within range of a three hour sail out of Deer Harbor is spectacular. This is one of the most memorable things you can do while on a vacation to Orcas Island.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank drpaulSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

We went yesterday with our six year old. I was concerned that the light summer winds around here would make for a lot of motoring but was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the sailing. Ward was a great host.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northwest Classic Daysailing also viewed

 
Orcas Island, San Juan Islands
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to Northwest Classic Daysailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing