We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but definitely it needs an update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosario Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
178 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good location but definitely it needs an update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The venue is located at very nice and quiet spot in Orcas Island. Needs update both the rooms and the whole premises. They´re doing some repairs on the draining system but still I´m afraid they still have a long way to run.

Rooms: 3/5 The pictures you can see in the website with the balcony and the bay as a landscape are true, but only that. I mean, the bay view is amazing but the room still needs update, for example the carpet or the bathroom. They have the sink out of the shower/toilet room which is nice but don´t forget to grab a towel from inside the shower room if you decide to wash your hands as there is no towels there (disappointing if somebody is having a shower while you´re using the sink.

Restaurant: 3.5/5 Nice, great service but it looks pricy; however I have the feeling that it´s below the average of this island for this category of restaurants. Food is good, seafood is excellent and the menu is nice. However the brunch looked to me very poor, both quality (the mashed potatoes were disgusting) and presentation. The lady who was our server at the brunch time (no other servers were there) was very kind but lack of professionalism (slow, didn´t refill coffee, forgot stuff, misunderstood the order, etc).

Spa: The fitness center is small but enough for some work out. The machines are outdated too. The jacuzzy is ok but lack of coziness. They are remodeling the indoor pool and it looks like it will be very nice. Don´t expect at all an luxury Asian-looking spa.

What they call the Mansion is worth a visit. A building of the 1920´s when Orcas Island started to receive "excursionists" or tourists. There is a museum on the second level with a lot of artifacts and pictures of those times. I spent easily 1,5h strolling and wandering that floor enjoying a lot.

Room Tip: Bay View was amazing but only the view though it´s nice for a romantic getaway. The Skagit building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marchador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for being our guest. We do currently have a great deal of remodeling going on. We are about to remodel our guest rooms as well and are awaiting the arrival of the furniture, drapes and soft goods by June. Your suggestion of a towel rack by the sink area is excellent.

I apologize for your lack of service during brunch, but I appreciate that you thought the food was good and seafood was excellent. Our menu (posted online) is mid-ranged price compared to other restaurants on Orcas Island and we are one of the few that have a beautiful waterfront location.

Our Spa is also going through a remodel with a complete renovation of the historic indoor pool. Inspired by the original design of the resort centerpiece, the 1909 Moran Mansion, all of our remodeling designs are influenced by the Arts and Crafts period, emphasizing hand-craftsmanship, time spent with family and inspired by nature.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    183
    72
    23
    9
See reviews for
122
285
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenbank, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was our 1st visit to Orcas Island - thus to Rosario Resort - & - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
We had read several articles about Rosario Resort - incl in Coastal Living mag & hot it might be a good place to go (someday).
Then with our 50th anniversary on the horizon - I thot it might be a nice touch to surprise my 'bride' & take her there !
Due to the President's Day weekend - I had to book it for a couple of days after our
anniverary - which worked out fine.

From the time we arrived - til' we left for home - we had a wonderful time there.

Our room was awesome ! = the vistas - privacy - and the decor !

And... when we arrived we discovered (in our room) a 'special' surprise gift - a CD of beautiful piano music by Christopher (the General Mgr) - which we will treasure ! What a thotful gesture that was !

We had our Sunday dinner in the Mansion Dining Room - the food & service were superb !

We spent a good deal of time exploring ( and hiking) in various areas on Orcas Island - from one end to the other - and were very impressed !

All of our other meals were at other restaurants (in Eastsound - and - again- the food & service was fantastic ! We highly recommend the New Leaf for dinner !

In sum - we wish to give HUGE kudos to the staff of Rosario Resort for making our 50th anniversary very "special" - as my wife has aptly put it ... " It was 'magical' ! "

And... to paraphrase Gen. Douglas MacArthur ..." We SHALL return ! "

WF
Whidbey Island, WA

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Rosario resort is waiting for some renos, we were given a room that was advertised as a suite at 159 Dollars, but the room was like a 39 dollar Motel room. we complained and the gave us a modern 2 bedroom suite . Very nice, but was priced a lot higher .
The restaurant wea very good and we had a lovely time

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hongsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
This guest had booked a room in our newly acquired neighboring property Cascade Harbor Inn.
The room rate for a one bedroom waterfront condo was $139. This great rate for a waterfront suite on Orcas Island is our pre-renovation price (these units will be renovated before summer). Since this guest was obviously not happy, we were able to offer an upgrade for the same price.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

While searching up and down the BC and Washington coast for a great, origional, west coast style wedding location, we found Rosario Resort and Spa. For us as Canadians, it was perfect. It was far enough away from home to get that, "away," feeling, but close enough for all our friends and family to be able to attend. The Point lawn was affordable and offers a great backdrop to be married, and the Discovery house was the perfect spot for our reception. The Discovery house reception hall is large enough to accomidate good size party, with a really cool deck, right over the beach, looking out into the bay. The staff at Rosario Resort and Spa helped us out in any way they could, with a smile, and a great attitude. Jolene, the resorts wedding coordinator/manager was always available to help us in any way she could, and answer any questions we had. There was plenty of accommodations at and around Rosario Resort for our entire group, which made it a great weekend away for all of us. We highly recommend Rosario Resort and Spa for anyone planning on getting married.

Room Tip: Book a block of rooms months in advance, it books up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

My family started our 10 day island hopping vacation last summer - on bikes - on this island. While I wouldn't recommend this island for the bike part, I would highly recommend this island as a beautiful stop. And I would highly, highly recommend this property as a place to consider staying. It's a ways from the ferry drop off and it's somewhat secluded from most of the island's population, but it's a great location. The rooms aren't fancy. But many, including ours, have a water view with a small patio. We watched seaplanes land regularly as there's a marina here, too. Fun outdoor grill/food/patio and a GREAT restaurant on property. There's also a pampering spa on site. While I was there, my family biked to the top of Mt. Constitution one day while I sat by the pool and soaked up some rays. The hotel staff made margaritas to order poolside. Aaaaahhhh...Tip: If it's available, don't miss the afternoon piano "concert" in the main house...it's a fun musical review of the property's history and those who built it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ca_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for two nights last week. We actually stayed in the recently purchased part of the resort (Cascade Harbor Inn) which the staff told us will be remodeled in the near future..which would be a nice improvement because the decor was a bit dated. Our room included a small deck with chairs and a table...and an amazing view of the harbor and Rosairo Mansion.
The night we arrived, we enjoyed some appetizers in the lounge - seared Ahi and salads (it was great and the food we spied in the restaurant looked fabulous!). The staff at the hotel was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We didn't have time to experience the spa or athletic room, but the facilities were nice! There is a indoor Jacuzzi and a pool which was under renovation. Don't miss the Mansion's museum located upstairs (while exploring that, I swear that one particular room felt haunted - weird, but seriously! I later read that there are stories of the hotel being haunted). Also, there is a beautiful music room which includes a pipe organ and grand piano...we were sorry to have missed the weekly concert (every Saturday).
We drove up Mt Constitution and were lucky enough to have perfect weather and visibility to experience the 360 degree views of the San Juans (and into Canada) from the observation tower - lots of history here too!
We highly recommend the New Leaf Cafe in East Sound - wonderful service and incredible food!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

While a bit on the pricey side for my income, it was certainly worth it. The staff are amazing, friendly and will go out of their way to help you with whatever you desire. The food in the restaurant in the main building was excellent, the bed was heavenly, the towells were awesome, and the scenery - amazing, simply amazing. Even in January, when we went the first time, it was freezing cold but still absolutely beautiful. Highly recommended for a couples getaway or even for the family. There is plenty to do on the island for everybody.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairbear69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
6.1 km away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
9.4 km away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
16.1 km away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
16.0 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
13.8 km away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Property: Rosario Resort and Spa
Address: 1400 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8570
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic waterfront resort located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing