We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
12
17
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
17
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful view stay there again units marina orcas
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 37 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

when we checked in, we were greated by a great staff employee who was so helpful. She answered all our questions and even more. The suite was at the top of the hill with an unbelievable view of the harbor. We had other family members stay at different suites and all had incredible views. So no rooms are bad. They were clean and comfortable. For us, this is the place to stay if you are going to be on Orcas Island.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlcroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathrooms had a lot of space. The view was nice, but large trees blocked some the bay view. The location is about 10 minutes from the “downtown” area, which had everything you needed from an IGA and a sports store to local shops. There were quite a few restaurants and cafes. We were able to pick up salads and sandwiches at the IGA for our day trips. The ferry is super easy and free for walkers and bikers. We took it to San Juan islands (Friday Harbor) where there was a lot more action than Orcas Island. Orcas was more quiet and quaint compared to San Juan where it was more lively and energetic, so it just depends on what you are looking for. We did find a local brewery close to the airport called Island Hoppin’ Brewery. They didn’t serve food, but a great stop for some live music and a cold beer.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great views, newly remodeled inside (doesn't look like it from the outside). A little spendy, but really nice. We had a king suite with two rooms (living room + bedroom) and two bathrooms, full kitchen, oven, fridge. It's ok to spend a little more on the room if you use the kitchen even a few times.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWideWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent four nights in July in one of the newly renovated rooms in the part of the resort away from the lodge itself. We had a small deck that overlooked the water and with a view of the resort in the distance. We could walk to the resort to swim in the pool, eat a fancy meal in the evening, or go to the pretty small spa. One afternoon, there was a piano concert with a slide show that told the history of Rosario. That was interesting.

There were not many other guests during our visit, so it was peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed two dinners at the lodge, and it was romantic looking out at the lights and the water. The restaurant was good, but expensive.

I have to say that I think the whole place is overpriced, though.The massage at the tiny spa was average, but expensive. The room we had was brand new and nice, but not really special for the expensive price... It looked like the simplest of comfy bedding and furniture from Pottery Barn, with no color or personality. The view was nice, and we did enjoy drinking our own wine on the chairs on our little deck, but I bet there are tons of places in the San Juans with a similarly nice view that you'd call special! This was not, really.

I will say that the pool was warm, and that was enjoyable. There was a plexiglass wall that blocked the wind, but not the view. The loungers were comfortable, but if it was more crowded, there would not be enough.

I would not go back or recommend this place because although it looks and sounds like it is going to be a cool resort (we saw it in Sunset Magazine), it is just expensive and average. I do wonder what the rooms in the lodge itself would have been like... might have been worth the price for the history and if there was an interesting ambiance.

If this review was helpful, please let me know with a "click." Thanks, and happy travels!

Room tip: Other than the location right on the water (which any number of other hotels have), there was nothing special or memorable about this place for us. Not worth the money.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodiedillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent three nights in the Roundhouse Suite. Pricey, but the best room at Rosario. The lodge itself is run down though. The spa left a lot to be desired. I tried working out in the fitness room but it smelled so badly I had to leave. The restaurant wasn't impressive. But the views are awesome. We had many spiders in our room. The weekly concert/historical presentation was AWESOME. This place has so much potential. A little more maintenance and updating and it could be a five star resort.

Room tip: If you don't mind spending a bit more... book the Roundhouse Suite. The room is separate from the resort ~ private with amazing views.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews