We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Salish Seaside Escapes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Salish Seaside Escapes
pretoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“always fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was our second time at North Shore, and it's always such a pleasure. Elizabeth is the most generous host you will ever meet, nothing is too much trouble for her. The experience is unique and fantastic. Cottages are super creative and very comfortable. Brilliant views on a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Go for Eagle's nest cottage if you are on honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pierreduplessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    11
    5
    10
    2
See reviews for
23
35
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

If you, want rest, and more rest, and if you want excellent service then North Shore Cottages is for you.
Nothing is to much for Elizabeth to do and they are so helpful. I can recommend North Shore Cottages as your first choice. You will not be disappointed, so if you still wander, stop and phone Elizabeth at North Shore Cottages, you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharldeBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed at North Shore Cottages for 4 nights. Although we've been here before, it was always in winter...which in itself is an amazing experience, but this time was unbelievable.

Leaving Anacortes on the Ferry is like leaving the world behind, and stepping onto orcas Island is like stepping into yourself.

Our cottage was fantastic (each cottage has its own unique theme and character). We stayed in Heron Cove. The architecture is mind blowing, and the view just incredible. We especially loved the hot tub - o great way to spend the last hour or so before bed time. And, of course, the free high speed internet just put the cherry on the cake.

The owners, Len and Elizabeth Sweet, shows a hospitality within a class of its own. You feel as if you own the place!

We honestly and gladly reccomend that you use this facility. It is great.

Room Tip: So unique, every cottage is different and splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DriesL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We arrived with our 2 grandchildren at Salmon Shoal, one of the NorthShore Cottages, late afternoon on June 30. The owner showed us around and the views were spectacular.
The cottage is very roomy, however the third bedroom is in the BASEMENT, with a dehumidifier running all the time and the bed in the middle of the room. We decided the kids could not sleep there so they made do in a queen bed upstairs. The linens, I guess were clean, but so rumpled and unmatched it was hard to tell. The plumbing was slow, to say the least, and one day we had to use the plunger which was conveniently stashed in the bathroom - hmmm.We did not attempt to use the bathtub as it looked horrible, discolored, rusty etc.
Basically everything was dirty. Windows so bad that at sunset it was difficult to see out ! The advertized outside grill was so dirty we had to put tin foil on it before using. There was a broken window pane repaired with a piece of cardboard. The livingroom tables were so dusty you could write your name on them. Several missing light bulbs with open sockets.
All things considered, we were very disappointed, especially for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank BA95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We planned to have our wedding at the North Shore Cottages, made reservations, and put down a deposit. I will say that these cottages are incredibly beautiful and we were very excited to get married on Orcas Island. Unfortunately, there was a serious medical emergency that forced us to cancel our wedding just abut two weeks out. We communicated this issue with the folks at the cottages and worked out a deal to pay the full peak-season amount for ALL cottages and, in exchange, they would allow us to have our wedding sometime in the off-season later that year or early next. We paid, dealt with our family emergency, and a few months later tried to contact these folks to set a new time for the wedding. Email after email after email...no response. I found it hard to believe that someone, knowing that we were trying to plan the wedding that we were forced to cancel, would simply not respond. I made a few calls, a few more emails, and finally heard back. The owner said that the agreement had been for ONE cottage one weekend during the off-season. This was absolutely outrageous (I had the email showing the previous arrangement), and we could not afford to rebook all of the cabins, or housing anywhere for that matter. After a few emails, thoughts of legal action, and extreme disappointment, we gave up on the idea and chose to get married in the town where we live so that people could stay at our house and save the expense. It's always a sad moment when people really make you realize that a person's word means nothing and their sense of goodwill towards others in times of trouble is outweighed by their greed. I would not recommend you stay here. We did not even take the ONE cottage weekend because we did not want to share space with people of this nature.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank OlyKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenSweet, Owner at The Salish Seaside Escapes, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
We too were very saddened by this problem and the unhappy exchanges it brought about. This party did book all of our cottages for a wedding in mid-July—-the height of the tourist season. Seven days before their scheduled arrival they cancelled all of their reservations due to a medical problem. Although we were completely sympathetic to their situation they contacted us well after our cancellation policy period had passed. We did agree to refund any part of their payment if we were able to rent any of the cottages for those dates at the last minute. Despite our best efforts, we did not.

Feeling badly for the bride and groom, we did offer them a free stay some weekend in the future at one of our cottages. At the time that offer was made we were unaware that the bride had misunderstood the nature of the offer we were making. Our offer was for the bride and groom to come and stay at no new expense. It was never our offer to make the entire property available to the wedding party at no cost to them. We were simply trying to make a nice gesture of a free weekend to the bride and groom because we felt badly about their cancelled plans.

We doubt there is any vacation rental—or wedding rental—business that does not have and practice a set cancellation policy. We are very sorry that in this particular case it has led to such unfortunate feelings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

I stayed a little less than a week and also had an opportunity to tour the other cottages.

As one who travels often, I would say that my stay at Northshore Cottages was among the highlights. The only place that would compare is the Biltmore Inn.

The cottages are simply outstanding. Each cottage has a unique theme, and each is cosmetically and structurally amazing. The artwork alone is captivating.

I found the service to be top-notch. The atmosphere inside was quiet and cozy. The outside view breathtaking. I had everything I needed and more. And I was treated with kindness and class.

All told: I've made plans to stay again. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankViola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Our family of 5, two adults, two teens and a pre-teen, undertook a 6400 mile journey-by-car this summer, the absolute highlight of which was our three-night-stay at North Shore Cottages' Screech Owl Swoop. The proprietors welcomed us after our late-evening ferry arrival, and made us feel welcome to our private, upper-floor cottage with a view. The breeze blowing through the nautical porthole, the wide fieldstone hearth and many decorative light fixtures made the cottage glow with welcome. The leather furnishings in the sitting area called us in to relax after our journey, and the amazing 4 1/2 foot high bed in the private bedroom made the adult's stay both romantic and fun. Everything was well maintained and clean, with great attention to every detail of convenience and comfort. Our family had plenty of space to stretch out and relax. From our cottage we enjoyed walks along the beach, visits from deer, easy access to sightseeing, whale-watching and dining on the island. Especially fun, though, were the interior details of the recently remodeled cottage decor, including stained glass interior doors, original artwork, antiques and bric-a-brac, a truly fantastic jacuzzi, and the special joy of watching the eagles soar above the canopy of cedar boughs over our deck. Priceless! If you want a beautiful, comfortable and truly unique experience, you couldn't do any better.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegoodings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
2.2 km away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
12.2 km away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
10.5 km away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.5 km away
Beach Haven Resort
Beach Haven Resort
#4 of 10 in Eastsound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
8.0 km away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#1 of 5 in Eastsound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salish Seaside Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salish Seaside Escapes

Property: The Salish Seaside Escapes
Address: 327 Sunset Ave, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9646 (Formerly North Shore Cottages)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Eastsound
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salish offers six standalone artisanal cottages on the North Shore of Orcas Island. Escape to beautiful Eastsound and enjoy beach access from the privacy of your own cottage. Cottages are uniquely furnished to inspire luxury and seclusion during your Orcas Island getaway. You'll enjoy the rich and cozy furnishings, private hot tubs, full kitchens and onsite sauna. The Salish gladly accepts pets who are welcomed with the same warmth and level of service as our two-legged guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Salish Seaside Escapes Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing