We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Enjoyed Smugglers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smugglers Villa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smugglers Villa Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Northeast US
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Smugglers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

Stayed at Smugglers for a week with wife and two children. Excellent place for families as there were a lot of other kids around. Pool, tennis court, hot tub, nightly fire pit, a marina right there and a little over a mile to town of Eastsound. Our two bedroom "villa" was in good shape with a very good kitchen and a washer/dryer. One of the beds could have used a new mattress though. Smugglers is right near the airport so you have to get used to take-offs and landing by propeller planes during the day but it's not really a big deal. Also, nice owners who were very helpful.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Ridgetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    22
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at Smugglers for four days in July. I was shocked when I walked in the door to our rambler. It was more space than the two of us needed but I loved it. Everything was clean and the overall atmosphere was very inviting. The pool was awesome and they even have an "Adults Only" hour which was nice. The resort managers were also very kind and helpful.
The location is nice as well. We enjoyed walking to the water to watch the sunset. It's also only about a mile walk into Eastsound, where the stores and restaurants are, and there's a public path that takes you straight there.
My only complaint is the resort is over run by kids and parents that don’t control their volume when most of us would. I wouldn't mind the noise if it weren't for the fact that the noise went on until about 11:00 or 12:00 at night and then started back up at about 7:30 AM. For this reason only, we would not stay here again. We really wanted to be able to sleep in on our vacation. The resort is also right next to an airport but the noise didn't really bother us. It stopped at night.

I would definately recommend this resort to large families that are looking for a nice getaway. It's a great place for families and their young ones to let loose. The managers even encourage it. : )

  • Liked — The rambler was awesome. The managers were very accomodating... even when I locked our key in the rambler...
  • Disliked — Noisy kids and parents... couldn't sleep in. : ) AND we couldn't bring our dog with us. They have a
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank writer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2007

A really nice place to stay for a family summer vacation. The 2BR townhouse was comfortable, clean, and reasonably well equipped. The furniture, kitchen, bathrooms and decor were dated but not ugly. TV and DVD were in good working order. Good working private BBQ. Comforable large private deck. Resort grounds were nice and well maintained with partial ocean view. Outdoor pool area and hot tub were very good. Manager was friendly and helpful. Outdoor fire pit for evening use was fun and a good way to meet others. Good central location on the island with access to amenities in East Sound. I enjoyed being near the small island airport and watching small planes take off during the daylight hours.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank s0ccerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2007

Pretty yucky all around. The property's location has great potential because it sits right on the water's edge, but the best of the view and beach is taken up by the owner's home; there is a little creek or canal right alongside the property that boats moor in. All of the accomodations face this little water way which is at right angles to the beach. Just on the other side of this little canal is the island airport, so there is non-stop plane take offs and landings. When we were there, the 'resort' was also home to a large raucous party of young parents and their kids. Right outside each accomodation is a deck and strip of common lawn with tables, chairs, etc. Even though the property is a little old and tired, the deck and the strip of grass next to the little canal could have been pleasant, but this group of families spilled over onto our space THE WHOLE WEEKEND. Young kids screaming, running, melting down with their parents sitting or standing around right outside our door and deck. Young families also came from outside the resort and the day and evening long get togethers lasted until late in the evening because it stays light until nearly 10 PM. As a result, there was no peace for us. We felt very hemmed in by their large presence just outside our door. We did barbeque and eat outside, but even while we were doing so, they invaded - clambering over the table while I was setting it, leaving baby bottles, pacifiers, etc. on our deck - even inside our dated little unit with the windows closed we could hear the commotion.

The bathroom is tiny and all the fixtures are dated and tired. Ditto the kitchen and family room.

We won't go back!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dated and tired fittings, appliances, furniture
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank NotinIrvineanymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingly, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2004

Smugglers is #1. We had a fantastic family vacation. Everything was clean and totally equipped with all your household needs while on vacation. We never ate out! The resort manager was very helpful and even let us borrow his canoes and telescope. I strongly recommend this resort for families...it's A++

Helpful?
8 Thank alisaherget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
2.1 km away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
11.9 km away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
10.1 km away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
13.1 km away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
21.9 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Villa Resort

Property: Smugglers Villa Resort
Address: 54 Hunt Rd, Po Box 79, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Villa Resort on Orcas Island is a collection of 20 2-bedroom waterfront condo-homes - clean and comfy - perfect for young families and old friends - casual and calm. Smugglers is the perfect island vacation location - Incredible waterfront views, walk out beach, heated pool, hot tubs, nightly beach fire, amazing lingering sunsets, walking distance to quaint Eastsound Village, easy drive to Moran State park, kayak tours and whale watching depart from our dock, Dish TV, WiFi, real homes with full baths and kitchens, well equipped including laundry. Please call us soon. Thanks ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smugglers Villa Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Villa Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing