We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful room, breakfast and hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonds, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delightful room, breakfast and hosts.”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed in the Pelican room and it was so charming. There was a gorgeous view from the covered balcony, perfect for sipping wine and watching the the bay. The bed was very comfy and it was peaceful there. They had a birthday balloon in the room for me which was a sweet touch. Breakfast was so yummy, pumpkin pancakes.
Oh, they are very dog friendly too.

Room Tip: The Pelican room has it's own bathroom and besides the king bed,a day bed with a trundle underne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLMac694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
60
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dover
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Three nights here, but we could have happily stayed twice as long. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel more than welcome. Orcas Island is a relaxing and tranquil place within the San Juan Islands, and the small village of West Sound where the Blue Heropn B&B is located is tranquil and peaceful indeed - an ideal place for a few days relaxation. Our hosts at the Blue Heron were attentive to our needs throughout our stay, from advising on things to do, places to eat, booking up a local restaurant for us and even though we were the only ones there, lit the fire for us in the comfortable guest lounge. Light refreshments were always available together with tea and coffee. We enjoyed our time here and appreciated our hosts' company and conversation; they provide a comfortable and restful home and we would be more than happy to stay here again. Easy to find, plenty of car parking and only a short drive from the ferry - and a well-behaved and friendly dog.

Room Tip: Choose the Egret room if you want ensuite shower and a good view across the water to the next island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We chose the Blue Heron because it was the most reasonably priced on San Juan or Orcas islands, but did not sacrifice anything in terms of quality. The Egret Room was cozy, with an outdoor deck with a breathtaking view of the water. Breakfast was delightful, with the staff cheerfully accommodating my low-carb-yet-meatless diet. Speaking of the staff, they were bright and friendly throughout the stay. Lovely downstairs area with a fireplace in each room. As an added touch, they surprised me with a balloon on the door when they found out it was my birthday. They were also extremely knowledgeable about restaurants and locations on the island, and were more than happy to give us suggestions on where to go for our first trip here. When we come back to the islands in the future, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This B&B is cozy and friendly. The hosts are helpful and gracious. The food is fabulous. Best of all, the scenery and atmosphere provide a break from everyday hustles and hassles. It's in a quiet part of the island, near Turtleback Mountain. We'll be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony view. The pelican room is great for a couple or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Post Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My wife and I spent 6 incredible days with our gracious and extemely helpful hosts Bogdan, Carole and of course Pulaski. The views from the B&B are beautiful and made me nostalgic for the Maine coast where I grew up. It is centrally located and within minutes of restaurants, kayaking, hiking, biking etc. Carole and Bogdan were helpful with tips on adventures and reservations.September was wonderful for Orca whale watching and the weather was perfect.
We stayed in the Walrus room which was clean, comfortable and charming.Carole is a creative chef. The breakfasts were excellent and kept us going to early afternoon. I highly recommend the Blue and Heron and our hosts as a base for adventure or a cozy place to relax.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucky65_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This is a lovely B&B on a very scenic part of Orcas island. Carol and Bogdan were very kind and gracious hosts. We had a great time while staying here. You can reach most parts of the island in 15 minutes (or less) from this location.

They have 4 rooms at this B&B so if you plan to stay here during the summer months, then you should make reservations ahead of time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpm-indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2011

I stayed here in September 2010 with my wife on a soggy trip to the San Juan Islands. We stayed here for two nights in between camping to treat ourselves and we weren't disappointed.

Carol, Bogdan and Pulaski are excellent hosts and were always available to suggest places to go on the island, give cycling tips and, in the case of Pulaski, chase a ball around the yard. The breakfasts are also fantastic.

We stayed in the Pelican room and it was beautifully decorated and had a wonderful balcony with a view of the bay. The room was very comfortable and felt private.

We would definitely recommend the Blue Heron. It is a bit expensive, but it isn't out of line with accommodation elsewhere on the island.

If you are a cyclist, don't miss riding up Mt. Constitution. It is very challenging and immensely rewarding.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryJ0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
8.0 km away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
2.7 km away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
265 reviews
4.0 km away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
459 reviews
11.6 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
507 reviews
12.6 km away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Address: 982 Deer Harbor Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9284
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron B&B, an historic 1910 home, is located on West Sound Bay and has beautiful water views and beach access. It is close to the ferry and the village. Continental Breakfast and afternoon snacks are included. Upgrade to a full, hot breakfast for only $5.50 Per person. Internet and information about activities and restaurants available. Friendly hosts. Pets and children welcome. This B&B is for sale on Orcas Island in the Pacific Northwest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing