We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location! Location! Location !”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunrise over Puget Sound with Mt. Rainier in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise over Puget Sound with Mt. Rainier in the distance
another beautiful sunrise behind Mt. Rainier Beach House & Deck wth Mt. Rainier to the South
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Sunrise over Puget Sound with Mt. Rainier in the distance
another beautiful sunrise behind Mt. Rainier
Beach House & Deck wth Mt. Rainier to the South
Living & Dining Areas downstairs
Living Area showing sleeper sofa & stairs to 1 Bedroom
full Kitchen
King Size Bed in upstairs Bedroom
Bath with stall Shower
corner of Beach House Deck with owners' housein distance
Moon rising over Puget Sound
all weather Tennis Court
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gig Harbor, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jim s
1 review
“Location! Location! Location !”
Reviewed April 14, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

I don't know how you can do better than the Beach House on Fox Island. It has everything starting with the most amazing waterfront location. My wife and I had an extended stay at the Beach House and the extra time allowed us to enjoy it all: kayaking, fishing, walking the beach, and observing all the wildlife. What we enjoyed most was decompressing as we enjoyed the solitude of the private beach and expansive views of Puget Sound.
The cabin is charming and comfortable. It is well maintained and equipped with a full kitchen, internet, and television. The hosts, Bill and Sue are close by and are there to help if there is anything you need.
We will be return visitors to this awesome secret waterfront getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shortsinw...
Puyallup, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This is our go-to island getaway spot!”
Reviewed April 11, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have stayed at the Beach House on Fox Island three times. The facility and the owners (Bill & Sue Spencer) are delightful and very hospitable. This comfortable cottage is right on the beach, with a huge deck in the back perfect for sitting and enjoying sunsets and watching the boats and kayaks go by. It's just 40 minutes from our home, connected by a land bridge to Gig Harbor, so no ferry is necessary.

The kitchen is well-stocked, and the upstairs loft bedroom very comfortable.

There are lots of great features in the area -- hiking trails, a fishing dock, and a nice beer garden.

Bill and Sue will make sure you are comfortable and well taken care-of.

Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzie S
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxing with amazing views”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is right on the water with a nice sandy beach at low tide. We were able to launch our kayaks at the boat ramp and explore the beautiful area. Walks on the beach at low tide were spectacular!
The cabin has everything you need, including a nice BBQ grill, just bring food. There's no reason to leave this quiet, relaxing property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric R
1 review
“Beautiful and Relaxing Setting”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Bill and Sue provided everything we needed for a great getaway. House has fantastic views of the Sound. It was a nice escape from the crazy traffic in Seattle. Gig Harbor was very close by and was visited frequently. One of the nicest downtown's with plenty of shops and restaurants. Bill even invited my son and I to join him at the Historic Community Center on Fox Island for coffee with many other locals. It was fun just to listen to stories and meet people who go there every Wednesday. Thanks to Bill for inviting us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and views of the sound
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa B
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Beautiful waterfront cottage”
Reviewed March 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Very cozy little cottage open plan downstairs, with one bedroom upstairs Beautiful views from a large wooden deck with bar-b-que etc. out across the water. Set in an enormous plot / garden. Bill and Sue are really very friendly and welcoming, and also very accommodating of our children, providing them with bikes etc. Not sure that's normally part of the package but we really appreciated it.! We would highly recommend this for a family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view across the sea
Liked least: Wish it had another bedroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari L
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Bill and Sue make fantastic hosts, and this cabin offers the best of a peaceful and relaxing vacation spot. The deck is expansive with comfortable furniture. We had great weather and spent hours on the deck watching the water and to our treat, spotted harbor seals and porpoise quietly moving through and seahawks looking for their meals. If the weather doesn't cooperate for you, don't worry- you still have wide picture windows to enjoy the view while you stay nside the comfort of this cozy cabin.
This cabin offers a tranquil getaway for anyone, couples, families, young children, friends. It is a great amenity to offer a full kitchen and laundry while travelling with a family. There is one bathroom but it is spacious.
Bill even took the time to show my kids how to search for sand crabs during low tide. It is a place we will never forget, we made great memories and hope to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance and views
Liked least: Having to arrange to pay in cash
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal_A...
Auburn, Washington
1 review
“Relaxing location with a beautiful view”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The beach house was actually better than advertised! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. I recommended it to my mother and I will be staying there again.

The owner, Bill, is very friendly and talkative. He was very concerned about our comfort and gave us lots of great information about things to do and places to eat on the island and in Gig Harbor. He was a lot of fun to talk to and was quite flexible about check in time and check out time since there wasn't anyone else booked to stay before or after us.

The deck is quite large and the view is beautiful. There is a BBQ grill, a table, and a lot of chairs to choose from on the deck. Down some beautiful stone stairs is a small yard. Down another set of stairs is an area with a fire pit that is right on the water at high tide. Wood is supplied and Bill had actually set up the kindling for us before we arrived. When the tide is out you can walk down the beach. It is rocky in front of the beach house but turns to sand when you walk a little ways down the beach. The neighbor's dog plays in the water nonstop which is entertaining as heck to watch. We saw some otters and lots of seabirds while we were there. The view of Tacoma and Gig Harbor at sunset is breathtaking.

The house itself is quite nice. The kitchen has everything you need in the way of dishes, utensils, pans, and condiments. Tea is provided as well. The fridge has an ice maker and water dispenser. The living area has a very comfortable sofa that pulls out into a bed. There is a television, but it is quite small and we did not use it very much. It has cable and a DVD player. There is a small DVD library available. The bathroom is rather large and has a shower but no bath. Plenty of towels and toiletries are provided. The loft area upstairs has a king size bed that is probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. The bedding is soft and fluffy and clean. There is a TV up here that is supposed to be able to connect directly to Netflix but we did not use it. It is quite small but also has cable.

There is not much to do on Fox Island, but really if you are just trying to relax on the deck of a beach house you won't mind at all. There is a gas station on the island that has a different food truck come by on Fridays and Saturdays. The food is pretty darn good from the Caribbean truck. The gas station has basic groceries and a deli and sells pizzas you can take home and bake. The people on the island are super nice and welcoming.

Gig Harbor is about 20-30 minutes away and we drove out there to eat breakfast at the Devoted Kiss Cafe which was very good. Sea Hags next door was a fun shop that sells local artists' creations. There are some truly gorgeous back and white fine art photographs there. There are lots of things to do in Gig Harbor, including gorgeous parks on the ocean.

The only negative about our stay at the beach house was not being able to pay with a credit card but considering how nice the beach house was, it was worth the slight inconvenience of mailing in a deposit check and remembering to bring cash when we got there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deck and the view from the deck
Liked least: Not being able to pay with a credit card.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing