We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast!”
Review of Obertal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Obertal Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I like variety, trying new places, but this is probably the first hotel I could see myself coming back to. The breakfast itself is worth the return, it's delicious. The rooms are clean and modern, the staff helpful, and the location is good. Overall a great stay, would come here again, but would try the 'spa rooms' next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you so much for yhour wonderful comments, especially you seeing yourself coming back for a repeat visit. To all readers out ther, this guest is right, our breakfast is wonderful and there is something for everyone. Visit our website for a full list of what is included.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,912 - 1,918 of 1,992 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Loved the place, breakfast offerings, staff, coffee, location, location, location. Highly recommend staying here. AAA discounts offered.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

From the outside the Obertal looks like a bavarian motel. I was a little worried why I was spending $200 + on a motel room even if it was during the Lights Festival. I had a large deluxe room which I believe they consider a suite. It was surprisingly clean (especially given dogs are allowed in the rooms). The bed was very comfy - I slept great. The breakfast was better than your standard continental and all the staff was very friendly. The location is great - within walking distance to everything but not noisy. The only complaint was I could hear everything in the room above me; heels, muted talking and barking dogs. I called the front desk about the dogs and they had the owners return to the room to quiet them. I'll definetly be staying here again!

Room Tip: If stairs aren't a problem ask for a third floor room - less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed in one of the suites and were satisfied. The staff was friendly. Yes, it had a jacuzzi and a king size bed.... But some of the down sides; the walls seem paper thin. I've never heard through the wall of a hotel like this one, we could hear every foot step. Also the carpet was so dirty it was disgusting, it was a dark blue carpet too, so that means it was really stained. The outside looks Bavarian but the inside of the room didn't have a touch of bavarian-ness. We wanted the bavarian feel like the Alpine Rose Inn, we stayed there before and like it better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

We appreciate this guest's feedback.

The reviewer is right, the inside of the rooms is not really Bavarian, however, we have invested over $100,000 last year to upgrade our rooms. All our rooms have flat screen LCD TV's, fully upgraded premium bedding package, new comfortable chairs in every room and bedlamps as well as in-room standing lamps are all new.

Our next big project is the bathrooms. we are working on giving those an update and expect this project to be completed by April 30th of this year. We continuously invest in our Inn and our intent is to make this a very special place in Leavenworth. We have ownedthe Inn now for a little over 1 year and are pleased with our progress sofar, while realizing that the improvement never really stops.

Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The room was pretty mid-range and the public areas were nothing special, but there are so many special touches to Obertal that we're likely to come back. It's about a block from all the winter wonderland action on Front Street and the hot tub is a nice treat after long cold walks around town. The complimentary breakfast is GOOD--fresh make-them-yourselves waffles with an array of sauces, including strawberry ginger. The thick cinnamon french toast is lovely. Hans recommended Mountain Springs Lodge for sleigh rides and snowmobiling and was kind enought to handle the reservations for us. It was wonderful--and he made it so easy. The tickets were waiting for us at the front desk along with directions to get there. He also recommended taking my son to Ski Hill for tubing, and it was awesome. We couldn't have had a better time both days.

Room Tip: Let Hans help you make arrangements for side trips--he's knowledgeable and very gracious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We had a great stay at the Obertal Inn. The lady at the counter was very friendly and helpful, our room was ready early and it was clean, comfortable and quiet. But the best part was being able to bring our elderly small dog. It gave a peace of mind knowing we didn't have to leave him home - so we thank you for that! We will be recommending the Inn to friends and family and will stay again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank plynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

We are so thankful to all of our guests who post such encouraging comments on our Tripadvisor page.

We want everyone to know that we take our business very seriously and that every guest's satisfaction is our primary concern. Our goal is for you to have a great time while you are visiting Leavenworth and we are glad that the vast majority of our guests like what we do.

Thank you for making 2011 such an amazing year for us.

Hans Mulders
Inn Keeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Obertal Inn this weekend. We were warmly greeted by two ladies in the office who gave great advice as to what do to around town, restaurants, etc. The decor may come across as dated, but the room was very clean, had a comfortable bed, and had a nice Blueray/ flat screen combo. The complimentary breakfast downstairs looked delicious and full of options (waffles, oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruit, etc.), but because of our plans, we did not take advantage of it. You cannot beat the location - it is not on the main road so it is quiet, but in the heart of downtown and close to everything. Thanks for a fun stay, Obertal Inn! I will definitely recommend you if anyone asks about good Leavenworth accommodations!

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you have mobility concerns, you should request a ground level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madroy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.2 km away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,009 reviews
1.2 km away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.6 km away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#13 of 19 in Leavenworth
433 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#6 of 19 in Leavenworth
649 reviews
0.5 km away
Linderhof Inn
Linderhof Inn
#4 of 19 in Leavenworth
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obertal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertal Inn

Address: 922 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range: $145 - $670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please accept a heartfelt welcome as we invite you to spend a night (or two or three) at the Obertal Inn; we are one block from everything in downtown Leavenworth, also known as "Little Bavaria." Explore the shops, enjoy fine European cuisine and soak up the tranquility of our beautiful village. We have a variety of lodging options, from a plain hotel room to a 3 bedroom townhouse. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms have two Queen or one King bed. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and LCD TV. Our townhouses, apartments and, suites offer excellent accommodations for families traveling together. High speed wireless internet is free for hotel guests and is available in every room. All King rooms have electric or wood burning fireplaces and have a 37” LCD TV with a Blu Ray DVD player. Four King rooms have Spa Tubs in the room to enjoy a luxurious soak after your busy day. Wake up to breathtaking mountain views and enjoy a wide variety of foods on our breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Obertal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obertal Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing