We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey, Noisey, Noisey” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Obertal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Obertal Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Harbor, Washington
1 review
“Noisey, Noisey, Noisey”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Walls way to thin, heard everything going on in next room. The toilet tank had a leaking flapper which caused it to refill every 5 minutes which was very loud. Put in a complaint at front desk the next day, was told that nothing can be done until the next day. The small refrigerator was loud while the compressor was on, (finally unplugged it the second night). The brochure said there was a fireplace in the room. It was a fake non-heating fireplace. On the good side, the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard4623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
As always, we very much appreciate the feedback. We sincerely apologize to this guest for their disappointment.

We appreciate this guest complimenting us on our friendliness because we take customer service very serious and we do control that outcome of the stay. We hope that all the benefits of our Inn will appeal more to you (the reader) than anything else.

We are aware that, with an older building, there is sometimes some noise bleeding through the walls. Our little Inn was built in 1984 and the materials used in those days were not very good in sound proofing a building. Add to that we are a completely wooden building and that doesn’t help matters.

We did have a problem with the toilet and it required a new part. We immediately went to the store to buy it so it could be installed. Unfortunately they did not have the part in stock. We ordered it online for next day delivery and had the problem fixed the next day.

Our guests want refrigerators in the room, unfortunately, everything with a compressor produces sound. I don’t like the quiet hum of a refrigerator either, nor of the heating system for that matter, but it is an expected amenity and we are not able to diminish the sounds from the fridge.

The “fake” fireplace is a top of the line electric fireplace that provides a wonderful ambiance to the room. The heating units in all rooms are very effective so we chose the option of having the effect only and did not add the heating capability. The vast majority of our guests us love these fireplaces because they are so well made and really add the fireplace ambiance to the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    551
    142
    22
    4
See reviews for
493
843
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I like variety, trying new places, but this is probably the first hotel I could see myself coming back to. The breakfast itself is worth the return, it's delicious. The rooms are clean and modern, the staff helpful, and the location is good. Overall a great stay, would come here again, but would try the 'spa rooms' next time.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LHym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you so much for yhour wonderful comments, especially you seeing yourself coming back for a repeat visit. To all readers out ther, this guest is right, our breakfast is wonderful and there is something for everyone. Visit our website for a full list of what is included.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Loved the place, breakfast offerings, staff, coffee, location, location, location. Highly recommend staying here. AAA discounts offered.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

From the outside the Obertal looks like a bavarian motel. I was a little worried why I was spending $200 + on a motel room even if it was during the Lights Festival. I had a large deluxe room which I believe they consider a suite. It was surprisingly clean (especially given dogs are allowed in the rooms). The bed was very comfy - I slept great. The breakfast was better than your standard continental and all the staff was very friendly. The location is great - within walking distance to everything but not noisy. The only complaint was I could hear everything in the room above me; heels, muted talking and barking dogs. I called the front desk about the dogs and they had the owners return to the room to quiet them. I'll definetly be staying here again!

Room Tip: If stairs aren't a problem ask for a third floor room - less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed in one of the suites and were satisfied. The staff was friendly. Yes, it had a jacuzzi and a king size bed.... But some of the down sides; the walls seem paper thin. I've never heard through the wall of a hotel like this one, we could hear every foot step. Also the carpet was so dirty it was disgusting, it was a dark blue carpet too, so that means it was really stained. The outside looks Bavarian but the inside of the room didn't have a touch of bavarian-ness. We wanted the bavarian feel like the Alpine Rose Inn, we stayed there before and like it better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
We appreciate this guest's feedback.

The reviewer is right, the inside of the rooms is not really Bavarian, however, we have invested over $100,000 last year to upgrade our rooms. All our rooms have flat screen LCD TV's, fully upgraded premium bedding package, new comfortable chairs in every room and bedlamps as well as in-room standing lamps are all new.

Our next big project is the bathrooms. we are working on giving those an update and expect this project to be completed by April 30th of this year. We continuously invest in our Inn and our intent is to make this a very special place in Leavenworth. We have ownedthe Inn now for a little over 1 year and are pleased with our progress sofar, while realizing that the improvement never really stops.

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

The room was pretty mid-range and the public areas were nothing special, but there are so many special touches to Obertal that we're likely to come back. It's about a block from all the winter wonderland action on Front Street and the hot tub is a nice treat after long cold walks around town. The complimentary breakfast is GOOD--fresh make-them-yourselves waffles with an array of sauces, including strawberry ginger. The thick cinnamon french toast is lovely. Hans recommended Mountain Springs Lodge for sleigh rides and snowmobiling and was kind enought to handle the reservations for us. It was wonderful--and he made it so easy. The tickets were waiting for us at the front desk along with directions to get there. He also recommended taking my son to Ski Hill for tubing, and it was awesome. We couldn't have had a better time both days.

Room Tip: Let Hans help you make arrangements for side trips--he's knowledgeable and very gracious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We had a great stay at the Obertal Inn. The lady at the counter was very friendly and helpful, our room was ready early and it was clean, comfortable and quiet. But the best part was being able to bring our elderly small dog. It gave a peace of mind knowing we didn't have to leave him home - so we thank you for that! We will be recommending the Inn to friends and family and will stay again on our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank plynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
We are so thankful to all of our guests who post such encouraging comments on our Tripadvisor page.

We want everyone to know that we take our business very seriously and that every guest's satisfaction is our primary concern. Our goal is for you to have a great time while you are visiting Leavenworth and we are glad that the vast majority of our guests like what we do.

Thank you for making 2011 such an amazing year for us.

Hans Mulders
Inn Keeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.2 km away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
1.2 km away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.6 km away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.9 km away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.8 km away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Leavenworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obertal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertal Inn

Property: Obertal Inn
Address: 922 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please accept a heartfelt welcome as we invite you to spend a night (or two or three) at the Obertal Inn; we are one block from everything in downtown Leavenworth, also known as "Little Bavaria." Explore the shops, enjoy fine European cuisine and soak up the tranquility of our beautiful village.Our tastefully appointed guest rooms have two Queen or one King bed. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and LCD TV. High speed wireless internet is free for hotel guests and is available in every room. All King rooms have electric or wood burning fireplaces and have a 37” LCD TV with a Blu Ray DVD player. Two King rooms have Spa Tubs in the room to enjoy a luxurious soak after your busy day. Wake up to breathtaking mountain views and enjoy a wide variety of foods on our breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Obertal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obertal Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing