We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SO IMPRESSED. SO HOMEY. SUCH KIND DOWN TO EARTH PEOPLE.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Der Ritterhof Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Der Ritterhof Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Bellevue
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SO IMPRESSED. SO HOMEY. SUCH KIND DOWN TO EARTH PEOPLE.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

For the past 13 years my family has been coming to Leavenworth in January for their Bavarian Ice Festival. We normally stay at another hotel but attempted to make reservations too late and our normal accommidations were booked. We found this place last minute and we were very satisfied. The main reason I can sum it up in one word: Debbie. The lady at the front desk was so helpful and went out of her way to make us comfortable. We had to change rooms around a few times because of my picky father and younger sister who didn't want to sleep with her parents, but Debbie helped us out willingly every time. The hotel rooms were simple, clean, and all we needed when we spent most our time outside exploring the town. I would without a doubt come back here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cnsoleim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    177
    35
    16
    13
See reviews for
106
135
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed at this place right after Christmas 2010 for 3 nights. We had a large group/extended family with both young children and teens. (4 rooms between 4 families) This place was all we could find at the time in Leavenworth for skiing trip. Next time we will start our search earlier, so that we would not get stuck in a place like this.
The PROs: walking distance to Front Street/Bavarian Village, and that is about it!
The CONs: let's see... One of our rooms had a kitchen that had lots of pots and pans and utencils but NO cups, plates or bowls. the lack/inconvinient placement of electrical outlets was very annoying - something (TV, lamp, microwave, fridge, alarmclock) has to be unplugged in order to charge even one phone. The bathrooms are tiny and pretty gross, the kind when you want to take a shower after getting out of one. No handtowel hooks over the sink. Some people complain about beds being too hard, I believe that is a matter of preference. I like my mattress harder, so for me it was fine. , However they are rather hard for those who care. When we were there, it was raining, but then it froze, with no sand/salt in sight. My toddler slipped quite a few times on a sheet of ice right in front of the door, which is covered area (the dripping from the roof froze on the cement pathway under the balcony). Had NO luck with the hot-tub - it was lukewarm, and the temperature outside was aroung 30-35 dergrees (c'mon, we Alaskans manage to keep our jacuzzi at 104 even when it is in the teens outside!) All 3 nights the place ran out of hot water... Overall, I would not stay at this place again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Estalilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

The only reason we stayed here was because they had some dog-friendly rooms available. Next time, we'll leave the dog at home and seek out better accomidations. Among the problems were: the slidng door that wouldn't lock, loud neighbors upstairs (partying late into the night), wet carpeting from a plumbing leak in the wall, rickety wooden stand that housed the microwave and refrigerator was about to collapse, mold on bathroom ceiling, no room service, etc, etc, etc. The place needs an infusion of capital to bring it out of the 1970's.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paw5306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Let's see here...

1. Mold spots on shower walls/ceiling.
2. Bathroom sink was draining very slowly. Wasn't fixed after asking.
3. Found dirty socks in between bed sheets, so the sheets were used!
4. Hot tub not working first night, second night it was scalding hot, had to shovel snow in.
5. Could hear neighbors through paper-thin walls.

I don't know how they're still in business. I definately wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, it's not worth it!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

When we arrived we immediately had to have someone come clean the toilet because there was mildew buildup in it. And there was mildew on the showerhead. We needed extra blankets and had to walk through the snow to the office to get them. The beds were hard and uncomfortable and in the morning there was not enough hot water for even one shower.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

For the price, this hotel was alright. Nothing fancy, just a basic hotel. We picked it since it was one of the few that did not require a 2 night stay

The 'free' continental breakfast was just a lot of donuts and coffee.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NA69Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Arrived for 1st visit, reservation made site unseen--
pet owners with dogs everywhere;
back row unit of rooms had "the guys" drunk and partying from the parking lot through the room with loud music playing, spilling out into the grassy area in front. They kept drugging and partying for hours, too funky for me after many hours of travel and wanting to rest.
Furnitures and decor in reception room outdated and worn. Just not attractive anymore.
Internet connection, air conditioner and bath drain didn't work well.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmoney89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.7 km away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.9 km away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
0.1 km away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#12 of 17 in Leavenworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.3 km away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Ritterhof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Ritterhof Inn

Property: Der Ritterhof Inn
Address: 190 US Highway 2, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1357 (Formerly Der Ritterhof Motor Inn)
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Leavenworth
#9 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Der Ritterhof Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short 5 minute walk to downtown Leavenworth, this pet friendly hotel features beautiful landscaped spacious grounds surrounded by the Cascade mountains. Each room opens to a welcoming balcony or patio and features free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, mini fridges and Kuerig coffee makers. Relax at the outdoor heated pool or enjoy the fresh mountain air while sitting in a park like setting. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and free parking. Coin Operated Laundry and BBQ facilities also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Der Ritterhof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Ritterhof Motor Hotel Leavenworth
Der Ritterhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing