We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leaving Stress behind!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boreas Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Long Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boreas Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Long Beach B&B and Inns
PNW
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Leaving Stress behind!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I recently had business in Long Beach and stayed at Boreas Bed and Breakfast. As soon as I walked in, I knew it was just what I needed. Bill showed me my beautiful room and gave me a tour of the shared areas. Everything was just beautiful and screamed comfort.
I started by taking a walk from the property out the back door on path down to the beach. It was as if I had left work and everything behind and could breath. On returning the feeling didn't leave. The inn just has a cozy, relaxing, pampering feel.
A big shock was how comfortable the bed was. I travel a bit and have never slept in a bed that I can compare to mine at home. I could have just stayed here, except I would miss my family ;) Both Suzi and Bill were wonderful hosts and know everything in the area and full of suggestions. They asked what I liked for breakfast and had different options for me and met my needs exactly. The food and fresh fruit was wonderful. Coffee and tea always available.
I will certainly return to Boreas. Hopefully next time it is with my husband in tow and not business, as I can see it as the perfect Romantic escape for the two of us. Can't wait.

Room Tip: I loved the Dunes suite. Ground floor with a door out to the jacuzzi and back yard. All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lookingforsun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
116
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Our weekend at Boreas Inn was peaceful perfection! We felt like family being welcomed home. The bedroom suites were nicely appointed with a cloud-soft feather bed and furniture reminiscent of days gone by. A welcoming and private hot tub offered relaxation and the path to the beach gave time for peaceful reflection. The best part of the trip was the chef quality breakfasts; no communal continental meals from Suzie and Bill! They carefully prepared each dish with love and the presentation looked like something out of a cooking magazine, with fresh, edible flowers adding color and beauty! I look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Stargazer room offered peakaboo view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

It's been over a year since we stayed at Boreas Bed and Breakfast and I wasn't sure right away what to write. I recently got an email discussing some sort of offer and I realized that I not only didn't care to stay there again, I didn't even want to hear about the place any more. Thus, I felt it was time to post these feelings here. I see that another reviewer reported that they were dissatisfied with their not having been told about the timelines for eating and Susie's having been upset with them. I believe what they wrote. Our experience was more having to do with the entire breakfast experience. First, the positive part. Upon our arrival, Bill greeted us and gave us an extensive tour of the place and engaged us in a friendly conversation. We had called and asked about our dietary needs prior to making the reservation and were assured that we would be quite satisfied with an excellent breakfast. Our dietary needs are not complex. We don't eat meat. We do eat seafood and all dairy products. When we were chatting with Bill, we brought this up as a reminder and mentioned that we would like some sort of protein with our breakfast, and he said he would be making an egg dish that sounded really good. Then came the actual meal and apparently Susie decided she was making breakfast and it was going to be a different menu. No concern whatsoever was given to our diet and we were left with a meal that was tasty, but devoid of any sort of protein that we could eat, but plenty of options for those who ate meat. When we said something after it was obvious that all the food that was going to be served was already on the table, we were treated as if we were really putting the kitchen out. Heck, a couple of fried eggs would have been just fine, but I guess that wasn't an option. We were offered some vegie sausage patties made of different grains and flavored to taste like meat, which was in a sort of take it or leave it offer. Frankly, I don't really like the taste of fake meat, but I ate some out of hunger. It would have been just fine if they didn't want to cater to our dietary needs and they had simply told us their kitchen didn't work that way, allowing us to stay somewhere else in the first place. Or maybe if Bill had been allowed to cook as was originally expected, it would have been an excellent meal. Or even if Susie had cared to remember that she had assured us our dietary needs would be considered and she had asked us if the new meal plan was okay. We truly felt that breakfast was going to be what she wanted to cook and anyone who didn't like it had better keep it to themselves. Great location and it was especially nice to meet some of the other folks who stayed there, so overall we had a good time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sshifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susieatthebeach, Owner at Boreas Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Inn and your experience here, particularly with me. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. We would like to make it right for you!

I would like to apologize for seeming not to be concerned about your dietary needs. On a two night stay we usually alternate a high protein egg entree on one day alternating with a pancake entree served with chicken sausages or for our non-meat eating guests, a garden burger or other substitute protein on the other day. We also serve at least two other courses, a pastry course and fruit entree. It may be that you were here on a "pancake" day and that indeed is less protein-laden! When guests feel that they aren't getting enough protein on a "pancake" day, we usually scramble them some eggs on the spur of the moment or by previous agreement. We really do care about you and if we seemed to not acknowledge your needs, we are terribly sorry. We usually make people happy, not upset. So when we disappoint, we sure do like to hear about it right away so we can make it right for you immediately and at least feed you what you would like to eat. We are sorry that you felt so strongly and we didn't know it. We will do almost anything to please our guests. If you would like to give us another try, I will do whatever we can to make your experience perfect. We would like to offer you a free night to give us another go. Or if you would prefer to be removed from our mailing list, please advise us and we will take care of that.

Thanks again for your feedback. Again, we apologize for disappointing you. Let us know if there's anything more we can do for you.
Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Lovely three nights at the Boreas Bed and Breakfast Inn. The Inn is located on the Pacific and affords great walks on the beach. All guests have access to the Inn's private jacuzzi. Our room and bathroom were spacious, attractive, and clean also very quiet. The Inn offered a number of comfortable common seating areas. Susie and Bill could not have been more personable and helpful. They know the area extremely well and offer excellent recommendations for dining and sightseeing. They also offer a phenomenal breakfast every morning. We look forward to our return.

Room Tip: The garden room on the first floor off of the diningroom was quiet and had its own private patio loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Boreas is a wonderful get away location, our room was lovely, breakfasts were fantastic, Susie and Bill amazing and the area a pure joy to explore.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leisureventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centralia, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

From the moment we walked up the fragrant flower laden walkway and into the welcoming entry we felt like we were the two most important people in town. Bill gave us a thorough tour of the house and the grounds as if to say, "This is your home and we want you to feel completely comfortable and able to enjoy everything". And we did! A leisurely walk out to the ocean, a nice dinner in town, a relaxing soak in the private hot tub, and a wonderful rest in the beautiful Dunes room, topped off with a delicious breakfast and rich conversation with the other guests left us with only one regret...we hadn't planned to stay a second night! Bill and Susie have achieved the perfect balance of professional and personal service!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mettp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukie, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Without a doubt the Boreas Inn is the best possible place to stay in the Long Beach area.
The location, accommodations, food and hospatality is amazing. For those who have never stayed at a bed and breakfast, you are in for a treat. Susie and Bill will create an experience you will long remember.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
4.2 km away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
0.7 km away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.5 km away
The Anchorage Cottages
The Anchorage Cottages
#4 of 8 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Inn at Discovery Coast
Inn at Discovery Coast
#1 of 7 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.1 km away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boreas Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boreas Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Boreas Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 607 Ocean Beach Blvd N, PO Box 1344, Long Beach, WA 98631-3979
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boreas Inn offers ocean-side peace, luxury and intimacy paired with award-winning breakfast cuisine in a resort-style setting. Boreas is class without pretense! Five exquisite guest rooms, all private baths, one with spa. Very private spa by the dunes offers the best hot tub experience on the coast! Full concierge service. One stay at Boreas and you will never want to go home again! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing