We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western, Oak Harbor, WA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Western, Oak Harbor, WA”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in September. Oak Harbor is located about 2 hours north of Seattle (including ferry from Mulkiteo), with a scenic drive through Whidbey Island on the way to Oak Harbor. Deception Pass is just a few miles north of Oak Harbor.
The room was clean and spacious. The front desk staff, especially Eileen, was friendly and efficient. The breakfast was more than a continental breakfast - eggs, bacon or sausage, and biscuits & gravy - were offered each day, along with fruit, oatmeal, cereal, toast, bagels, muffins, and WARM cinnamon rolls. Milk, juice, coffee, and hot tea are also offered. The hotel offers cookies & coffee in the lobby in the evening.
We dined at El Cazador in Oak Harbor and at China City, located in the same parking lot as the Best Western. Both restaurants were well worth it.
We hope to visit Oak Harbor again, and plan to stay at the same Best Western!

Room Tip: Request a room away from State Route 20 for a quieter night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slstoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    207
    50
    17
    5
See reviews for
141
170
28
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We did a one day island hopping on the San Juan Islands and stayed here on our road trip south. We passed by some beautiful coastline from the ferry to the hotel, especially Deception Pass. We stopped by and took the trail down to the beach and walked across the ever shaking bridge. It was a good break to stretch out after the ferry ride. Now about the hotel. It was everything we expected and more. When we arrive it was around 5:00pm, There were coffee, tea and cookies out in the lobby for guest. Our room was clean and spacious with very comfortable beds. The O/D pool looked very inviting but we were just to tired to give it a try. DVD players are included in the room and there's a good selection of DVD you can borrow from the front desk. Unfortunately the popcorn machine was broken when we were there. The complimentary hot breakfast was one of the best that I have had at comparable hotel. It has a good selection of hot items and fresh fruit. What impressed me most was the cleaniness at this hotel, everywhere you go, the lobby, common area, hallway, pool and the breakfast area are kept tidy and clean. I will definately come back to this property when I visit this area again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5FrugalTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agassiz, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Our family of 6 stayed here one night and had adjoining rooms. The rooms were very clean and adequate.

We were disappointed with the outdoor hot tub as it was lukewarm and the button for the tub jets was broken. The coffee pot in the room was also broken. Oak Harbor has frequent fly-overs from military jets - when the hotel window was open this noise got annoying.

Overall though, the hotel was nice, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the deluxe continental breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgassizBCgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here one night in early August and overall we were satisfied.
Reasonable price. Clean and spacious room. Good free WiFi connection. Free coffee and cookies in the lobby. Complimentary breakfast is nothing special, but OK.
Water in the outside swimming pool was too cold for our kids. Some other kids were swimming, so it might be too cold just for our kids. They mainly used the hot tab next to the pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Amazing to find this hotel was renovated many years ago as it appears brand new! Cleanest hotel ever! Shiny and sparkles, fresh, plush rooms and bathrooms! I asked the management when it was built as I thought it was erected recently! The entire staff were the friendliest and happiest hotel employees I've ever experienced! They all need a huge raise...especially the cleaning and maintenance employees!!! Wow!! We are definitely staying here again on our next adventures to the beautiful Washington State waterfront! Location is just 10 minutes from the breathtaking Deception Pass Bridge....Drive to the north end of the bridge at sunset for an amazing photo op!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cswbkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is an excellent property for this class of hotel. Front desk staff is welcoming and helpful. Our room was very spacious and well appointed. The WiFi was fast, complementary, and hassle free (eg no constant dunning for obscure passwords). The complementary breakfast had many options and was well done. The only difficulty we had was with the cleaning staff who do not seem well supervised. We were out in the morning until about 11, room not made up. Cleaning person knocked on door at about 11:15 but said policy prohibited her from cleaning the room while someone was there. We invited her to come back at noon when we'd be gone again and she agreed. We were out from noon until 5PM, room still not cleaned. We chose not to call the front desk as we needed to get ready for a social event. This impression of unorganized cleaning staff was also supported by conversations we overheard among the cleaning staff. We also attended a dinner at this venue for about 120 people. It was simple, but well done.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jim_julian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, BC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The 3 of us stayed here while attending the PennCover Water Festival in May. The room was spacious and the beds comfortable. We found the room clean and the front desk staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was average for this type of hotel, nothing special but at least something to get you going in the morning. The cookies and popcorn in the evening was a nice touch. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilli56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
11.5 km away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
266 reviews
21.5 km away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
434 reviews
0.3 km away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
327 reviews
0.7 km away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#3 of 6 in Oak Harbor
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 33175 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-8713 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Harbor - Whidbey Island Located 1 mile from NAS Whidbey Island, Base 6 miles from deseption pass bridge. AAA 3 diamond hotel and China City Restaurant is located on the property. King and queen bed rooms are available. Go whale watching or sit on one of the many beaches located on the north end of Whidbey Island. Rates vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harbor Hotel Oak Harbor
Best Western Oak Harbor
Oak Harbor Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing