We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Judith Ann Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Judith Ann Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed in the Lexington suite for my birthday at the end of September. We came in on a Thursday night and were planning on leaving Saturday morning, but were enjoying our stay so much that we extended for another night (they were nice enough to rebook the room for us Saturday, even though we had not reserved it). The suite is very nicely laid out, and very clean.

I enjoyed the jacuzzi tub with its view of the Pacific very much - as I'd expected - but was surprised how large the deck is. We ended up spending a good deal of time out on the deck, enjoying the sound and sight of the ocean. We got nearly all our meals as takeout, since we liked the room so much.

A few (very minor) caveats - it's odd that there is no chest of drawers for folding clothes. There is only one nightstand and bed lamp in the bedroom. There's plenty of room for both another nightstand and a small chest, and those would be nice conveniences. I have no complaints at all with the kitchen appointments - everything we needed was there. Bring your own coffee if you're junkies like we are and need more than one pot. Filters were provided, although I had brought some just in case. There's a toaster for that morning bagel, and a full-size refrigerator.

I walked down the dune path to the beach, and found it fascinating. The dunes are their own ecosystem, quite separate from the beach. It's not a short walk, but it's an easy one, and the beach itself is spectacular. We could watch the big kites from the deck, too.

We found the hotel very quiet - granted, we were there offseason and came midweek, but even when people started coming in on Friday and Saturday, the staff had obviously made some effort to book the rooms such that people retained their privacy. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, checking several times to make certain we had everything we needed.

Take advantage of the midweek coupon special on the website if you can - it's a great deal. I didn't check out the view from the first-floor rooms, but I suspect you'd see mostly the dunes, so if you want to see the open ocean, the second-floor rooms have a fantastic view.

We did sort of wish there was a barbecue available, but given the hassles that would create for the inn, I'm not surprised they don't provide them. The televisions are aging projector models, probably due for a replacement, but who comes to a place like this to watch TV anyway? (There were quite a few movies worth watching in the office for borrowing, although we'd brought our own.) We opened the fold-out sofa and had ourselves a movie night one blustery evening; it was very cozy and very relaxing. We didn't watch the television at all, so I can't say anything about the channel selection; I did notice they had the music channels on when we came in (there are surround-sound speakers built into the walls, which is nice), but I mostly wanted to listen to the ocean. There are ceiling fans in the bedroom and living room, which do a nice job of keeping the air circulating. The skylight in the bedroom is an unfortunate choice; I understand why they did it (the room needs the light), but it makes it hard for a night owl like me to sleep in, since there's no way of shielding the light.

We found the inn convenient to everything we wanted to see in Ocean Shores - there's an IGA and a liquor store just down on Chance a la Mer, and pharmacy and tons of gift shops as well.

Room Tip: Definitely select the second floor; it's worth the extra few dollars for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geniph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judann, Manager at Judith Ann Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thanks very much for the review, so nice to see such a detailed description. I am impressed with your writing. Pleasure to have you at the Inn. Incidentally all my other suites have new flat screen TV's but the Lexington Suite 201. Tried to get owner's of that suite to go another way. You can see how that discussion went. I believe the argument was they were holding out for newer oil filled LED TV technology and the tube TV was superior in lifespan to LCD TV's. Maybe review comments will help persuade owner's of this suite to reconsider their TV selection so I am grateful you included commentary on the TV in your review. Hope the future brings you back to our door.
At your service,
Amy Bohn
Manager, Judith Ann Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    24
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
109
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

My hasband and I recently enjoyed our 1 yr anniversary the second time around and let me just say that we had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Judith Ann Inn. It was our 1st time there but believe me it won't be our last! We brought our own food and wine and we barely left the room because everything you need is there from the well-stocked and fully equipped kitchen to the large jazzuci tub in the living room. They even had a washer and dryer in there! We stayed in room 105 the Charleston Suite and it was beautiful. If you haven't stayed here at the inn give it a try and believe me you won't regret it one bit! Thanks to Amy and Yolanda for everything!

Room Tip: Check out the rooms online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judann, Manager at Judith Ann Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you so much for your high praise. We enjoyed having you. Glad to hear you will visit us again.
At your service,
Amy Bohn
Manager, Judith Ann Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

My boyfriend and I spent the weekend there for our 2 year anniversary. The suite was wonderful! We were on the 1st floor, and could see the ocean just barely above the dunes when we stood on the little porch.
The jacuzzi tub in the living room was really fun, it was very entertaining to sit indoors in a hot tub and watch a movie. (And in Western Washington, you really only get a few months of outdoor hot tubbing weather anyway, so the indoor one is genius!)
This specific room had not only a large tv, but a bluray player and an xbox. We were not even sure it was going to have a dvd player! It also has a full kitchen stocked with almost any kitchen utensil or tool you would ever need. We did have problems with our toaster, but Yolanda was awesome enough to get us a brand new one. :)
The only thing that was iffy was the path to the beach, but that's not the hotels fault at all, and they warn you that its really just a deer trail. Bring a stick to knock down spider webs, or walk down the street to the main road.
All in all, we are going to come back during the winter storm season, and request this room again!
-Lara and Erik

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbg1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLYMPIA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Judith Ann Inn during mid-week, after Labor Day. The top story suite we had was well appointed, nicely decorated and clean. This was our first stay and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the inn. The mid-week discount made this inn worth the trip. We did have a noisy walker below, but not constant and was a minor set back. We definately would come back again and would reccomend it to anyone who is looking for a quality place to stay at Ocean Shores, WA.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSOLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

On first glance everything looks great. When we went to bed there was a terrible odor. The bedspread actually reeked of a horrible odor. The spa had not been cleaned and the bathroom floor was dirty also. For the price, this is not worth it. I would not recommend the Judith Ann Inn and we would never stay there again. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Elodie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judann, Manager at Judith Ann Inn, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thanks for taking the time to critically review our property. We welcome the opportunity to improve.

Although I must say we were shocked to see this review. We checked these folks in early and in passing they commented favorably on their suite more than once. If anything did not meet with their approval we would have happily corrected it without hesitation!

We do wash the bedspreads and we have extras for every room. Manager's cell phone number is in the suites. We really want all our guest to be happy. If something isn't right for "You" please tell us so we can fix it while you are here! Pick up the phone and ask for a bedspread and one will be provided.

On average we spend an hour an a half cleaning each suite between guests. This includes sanitizing the tubs with hydrogen peroxide. So with all the time and cleaning products used we are curious about what this guest perceived that made them think we had not cleaned. Really would like more details to ensure our excellence. We want to see what you see, smell what you are smelling. People have varying degrees of sensory sensitivity and our platinum rule of customer service is treat others how "they" want to be treated not how "you" want to be treated.

We do our best to be the best but pencils still come with erasers and thankfully it is not a requirement to be perfect. Live and Learn.
At your service,
Amy Bohn
Judith Ann Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Very comfortable, clean and well maintained. We had a great time. Bed was very comfortable, the hot tub in the room was used quite a bit, great amenity. We will definitely return. Manager and assistant manager were very friendly.
M. Ross & J. Pierce

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judann, Manager at Judith Ann Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thanks M & J for taking precious time to review us! We are grateful for your assistance in helping other discerning individuals find us. Look forward to visiting with you again. Amy and Yolanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
242 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

More an apartment than an Inn, but it was large and comfortable, with a distant sea view. Not keen on Ocean Shores itself, which was long and spread out. We walked to the sea from the back garden of the Inn; a long walk, but pleasant enough, through the scrub and onto the beach. Lovely to see the deer. A good location. We were showed the apartment and the staff were were very helpful, although there did not seem to be facilities outside the apartment itself.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.2 km away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
1.4 km away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
3.1 km away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 km away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judith Ann Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judith Ann Inn

Property: Judith Ann Inn
Address: 855 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9593
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Judith Ann Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled like a treasure on the beach in Ocean Shores, you will find the newly finished Judith Ann Inn Ocean Shores resort. The timeless elegance will sweep you off your feet and leave you breathless! The architecture was inspired by the turn of the century southern mansions, and posses all of the charming characteristics you would expect of this time period. Grand staircases and magnificent pillars greet you as you make your approach. As you ascend the staircase, you feel as though you have stepped back in time. Each of the 9 suites is furnished and decorated in replica period furnishings, creating a truly unique experience for its guest(s). The Judith Ann Inn caters to intimate getaways. Whether that means getting married out on the balcony overlooking the ocean, renewing your wedding vows, or meeting some friends for a girls' weekend out! It is guaranteed to be memorable. The views from the balcony and two-person jetted tubs are simply breathtaking. Built right up to the protected wildlife area of the dunes, you experience the perfect balance of nature and the majesty of the ocean surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Judith Ann Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judith Ann Hotel Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing