We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
28
8
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
8
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small family the barn living room the main house island
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 40 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed in one of the three bedroom cottages with several friends for a week. The cottage itself was incredible, with very nice and comfortable furniture. The kitchen was also excellent and we made several meals. It was always very quiet and in the evening was pitch-black which made for great stargazing. It was common to see deers and other wildlife which made sitting on the porch with morning coffee very enjoyable. The owners were friendly and helpful. The island is full of things to do and we enjoyed a lot of great food and time on the water. I highly recommend this as a perfect escape to somewhere that moves at a slower pace. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We spent two nights this month in Orca. We booked the room through Bayside Cottages. The owners were very helpful and location was good. It is a short walk to town. i.e. restaurants, grocery store, and shops. The suite was well furnished. Wifi worked great. It was quiet and every night deer came to feed in front. It has a full kitchen so one could cook if they wish.

When we booked it, this was the last suite available (only 4 on location). Supposedly sold out, but there was only 1 other couple there in a unit.

Only downside is that there was no a/c. They did provide a box fan in closet which worked well but could be a bit loud. Hottest time of day was between 3 and 6. It did cool off quickly, so one could turn off fan or put on low when going to sleep.

Recommend: The Kitchen's Pot-stickers; Teezers cinnamon rolls (which also has starbucks coffee) and The Brown Bear's savory scone.
The view from Mount Constitution was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We decided to visit Orcas Island for the first time and were having trouble deciding on where to stay. There were many options and each had their own pro/con. My intuition is typically right so we picked the Cypress Cottage of the Bayside Cottages. We are very happy we did! The cottage has an excellent view which lures one to sit on the deck and have a cup of tea or coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. Very difficult to leave the deck! The cottage is cozy so you have to be comfortable with the person you are with. It is the size of a small studio. Full kitchen with pots, pans, dinnerware, coffee maker. We were only there two nights and they didn't change the towels. They provide tea, one bag of coffee for a pot of coffee, hair dryer, beach towels. The only unfortunate part is the lack of bathroom shelving and storage for the suitcase or bag. The pros definitely outweigh the cons so we hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: Cypress has better view than Lummi in our opinion.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WLB0375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We enjoyed our Christmas week at Jim and Betsy Nelson's Peapod Mainhouse and Bunkhouse tremendously. Our family reunion included our two grown daughters and their significant others. The large and well appointed kitchen was perfect for the complex cooking of family meals that was undertaken. The houses were very accommodating with separate bedrooms and baths. The main house is exquisitely designed and beautiful, including comfortable couches in the main area downstairs and a large ottoman on which many board games were played in front of a blazing wood stove/fireplace. The view across the water from our large windows was extraordinary, with Mt. Baker and its sister peaks revealing themselves magnificently in the distance as the clouds lifted. The beach/shoreline just below the property was not long but a jewel. Great for tidepooling and walking the wrack line. A bald eagle perched for hours on a branch just outside our window several mornings. We also appreciated very much the Nelson's hospitality and responsiveness as needed. We hope to be back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Andrewfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the main Pea Pod house and it was gorgeous! The interior was fresh, comfortable and modern. The kitchen was huge, the living room comfortable with a wood stove. Both bedrooms upstairs had their own large bathroom and private deck. We could see dolphins surfacing on the ocean from our front window and the deer were around every evening with their fawns.
We brought a kayak and canoe that the guys were able to walk down the steps to the beach so we could leave them tied to use at our leisure. We enjoyed going down to the beach in the morning and looking in the tide pools and finding bright purple and orange star fish. There were only 4 of us this trip but we would love to come back with more family and rent the other homes that go with it. We enjoyed every moment!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBotzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews