We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful, practical respite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orcas Island Bayside Cottages
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Mount Baker Suite at Bayside Cottages provides a peaceful, practical respite from the hub-bub of busy life. I visited from the East Coast, first to family on the coast of Oregon, then north up the coast to Anacortes, WA, and over on the ferry to Orcas. This unit at Bayside Cottages included a large bedroom space with a comfortable king-size bed, an alcove with a double-bed, a living room, and fully-equipped kitchen space - perfect for two friendly couples. The 2nd story deck overlooks the back-yard and provides views of Mt. Baker and the bay (forgive me if I have mis-labelled the body of water). A very nice place to stay; pleasant, no-nonsense, and non-intrusive hosts (if you're looking for chatty, hands-on inn keepers, look elsewhere); and a naturally beautiful, interesting island to explore and enjoy. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Each cottage/suite is different - check out the photos online and/or call Bayside for more info.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWMitchell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed in one of the three bedroom cottages with several friends for a week. The cottage itself was incredible, with very nice and comfortable furniture. The kitchen was also excellent and we made several meals. It was always very quiet and in the evening was pitch-black which made for great stargazing. It was common to see deers and other wildlife which made sitting on the porch with morning coffee very enjoyable. The owners were friendly and helpful. The island is full of things to do and we enjoyed a lot of great food and time on the water. I highly recommend this as a perfect escape to somewhere that moves at a slower pace. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent two nights this month in Orca. We booked the room through Bayside Cottages. The owners were very helpful and location was good. It is a short walk to town. i.e. restaurants, grocery store, and shops. The suite was well furnished. Wifi worked great. It was quiet and every night deer came to feed in front. It has a full kitchen so one could cook if they wish.

When we booked it, this was the last suite available (only 4 on location). Supposedly sold out, but there was only 1 other couple there in a unit.

Only downside is that there was no a/c. They did provide a box fan in closet which worked well but could be a bit loud. Hottest time of day was between 3 and 6. It did cool off quickly, so one could turn off fan or put on low when going to sleep.

Recommend: The Kitchen's Pot-stickers; Teezers cinnamon rolls (which also has starbucks coffee) and The Brown Bear's savory scone.
The view from Mount Constitution was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We decided to visit Orcas Island for the first time and were having trouble deciding on where to stay. There were many options and each had their own pro/con. My intuition is typically right so we picked the Cypress Cottage of the Bayside Cottages. We are very happy we did! The cottage has an excellent view which lures one to sit on the deck and have a cup of tea or coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. Very difficult to leave the deck! The cottage is cozy so you have to be comfortable with the person you are with. It is the size of a small studio. Full kitchen with pots, pans, dinnerware, coffee maker. We were only there two nights and they didn't change the towels. They provide tea, one bag of coffee for a pot of coffee, hair dryer, beach towels. The only unfortunate part is the lack of bathroom shelving and storage for the suitcase or bag. The pros definitely outweigh the cons so we hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: Cypress has better view than Lummi in our opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WLB0375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We enjoyed our Christmas week at Jim and Betsy Nelson's Peapod Mainhouse and Bunkhouse tremendously. Our family reunion included our two grown daughters and their significant others. The large and well appointed kitchen was perfect for the complex cooking of family meals that was undertaken. The houses were very accommodating with separate bedrooms and baths. The main house is exquisitely designed and beautiful, including comfortable couches in the main area downstairs and a large ottoman on which many board games were played in front of a blazing wood stove/fireplace. The view across the water from our large windows was extraordinary, with Mt. Baker and its sister peaks revealing themselves magnificently in the distance as the clouds lifted. The beach/shoreline just below the property was not long but a jewel. Great for tidepooling and walking the wrack line. A bald eagle perched for hours on a branch just outside our window several mornings. We also appreciated very much the Nelson's hospitality and responsiveness as needed. We hope to be back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Andrewfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the main Pea Pod house and it was gorgeous! The interior was fresh, comfortable and modern. The kitchen was huge, the living room comfortable with a wood stove. Both bedrooms upstairs had their own large bathroom and private deck. We could see dolphins surfacing on the ocean from our front window and the deer were around every evening with their fawns.
We brought a kayak and canoe that the guys were able to walk down the steps to the beach so we could leave them tied to use at our leisure. We enjoyed going down to the beach in the morning and looking in the tide pools and finding bright purple and orange star fish. There were only 4 of us this trip but we would love to come back with more family and rent the other homes that go with it. We enjoyed every moment!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBotzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

On the quiet, isolated but beautiful side of Orcas Island are the Bayside Cottages. The Lummi cottage which had an occupancy the same day we checked in was turned over to us very clean. While they mention they have a beach, the reality is it is not the greatest stretch of coast and required a steep, dangerous trek - depending on your fitness level and dexterity. On the positive side, the view from hill where the cottage was located was seemingly infinite and while not panoramic due to the foliage, it was still sublime. The private porch was a great place of contemplation and relaxation. The Lummi cottage was well appointed and upscale but a couple of design flaws were there was nowhere to put our personal items and while I love the idea of going asleep to a moonset and waking to a sunrise, when they are glaring you in eye without the option of a shade it is less enticing than it sounds. The bathroom was large with an excellent shower head. I very much appreciated the kitchen area, which was new, clean and had lots of counter space to prepare meals. Use of the outdoor gas bbq was also a huge plus. While the unit and property had its pros and cons, it was a overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachvsMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olga
13.8 km away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
272 reviews
11.3 km away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
13.5 km away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#2 of 11 in Orcas Island
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orcas Island Bayside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcas Island Bayside Cottages

Address: 65 Willis Ln, Olga, Orcas Island, WA 98279-9538
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Olga
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Olga
Price Range: C$20 - C$332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orcas Island Bayside Cottages is a collection of family homes,small cottages and studio apartments. Each one is unique. Some offer spectacular waterfront locations and water views with beach access near Obstruction Pass and Olga. Some are located near Eastsound Village a short walk from all the shops and restaurants. Each rental offers a wonderful place to use as your home away from home while you enjoy all that Orcas Island has to offer. For detailed information and pictures of each cottage please visit our web site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orcas Island Bayside Cottages Hotel Olga
Orcas Island Bayside Cottages Washington/Olga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing