We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Side trip for lunch in an idyllic roadside setting”
Review of Ranch House BBQ

Ranch House BBQ
Ranked #18 of 373 Restaurants in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed October 15, 2018

We were heading south on I-5 bound for Portland, and I figured the Olympia area would be a good spot to stop for lunch. Thanks to a Tripadvisor search, I found this place for us, which involved a detour down US 101 and state route 8. Scenery was lovely and we arrived at the restaurant easily, thanks to our GPS. This is one of those gitchy roadside places that had the potential to be bad (e.g., license plates on the ceiling, hog sculpture outside), but we really enjoyed it. Service was efficient. We shared a sampler plate on our server's recommendation. Our chosen sides were baked beans and slaw; it also came with a homemade cornmeal muffin. We managed to salvage a few leftovers from the meat assortment to feed to our grateful dogs. Food was straightforward and homemade tasting - just what we were seeking. We could have benefitted from some extra BBQ sauce for dipping, but once we started eating, we didn't bother stopping to ask. We were so grateful not to be eating lunch at some faceless chain at the side of a freeway. Recommend it.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kayteeYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 202 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Located right off the highway, this is a fun stop for a bite. Out front, one is greeted by a large metal pig sculpture. The fun starts. Inside, the ceilings are covered in license plates from all different states. The menu focuses on meat, but there are sandwiches, salads, and yummy homemade desserts. Out back is a lovely dining deck surrounded by flowers and towering trees. Great service
Joyful atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank UpNOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2018

This was my third visit here. The staff is so accommodating and friendly. The food is great and fresh and the bar staff - wow! They have options for those who don't want just BBQ. They are a bit off the beaten path but well worth the drive. They do technically close at 8pm but that is a small inconvenience. Best BBQ in the area hands down.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mjsoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

Prompt, cheerful service. Really good food, We had the chicken and RIBS. Really good.
This place REEKS of good maintenance. EVERYTHING is dusted, watered, looked after, Very, very nice. Lots of stuff around that is artistic.
Definitely stop here.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

This restaurant is in the middle of no where, but if you're lucky enough to be passing by it you will definitely not regret stopping. The food is amazing and surprisingly upscale. The restaurant was packed, and now I know why! Some items seemed a little pricey, but the portions were big, so sharing an entree worked perfectly. I'm bummed we didn't get to try the wings, but 13.50 for a 1/2 dozen seemed crazy. Based on everything else we got I'm guessing they would've been amazing! Everything is handmade, even the unique seasoning they put on the corn (super fresh and tasty!!) Got a huge Rib Eye to share, and lots of sides to go with it. It was ALL good. This is totally worth going out of your way to try...my guess is once will not be enough!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ranch House BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing