We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, different”
Review of New Moon Cafe

New Moon Cafe
Ranked #23 of 373 Restaurants in Olympia
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Olympia's downtown was relatively deserted, certainly not bustling, the Saturday morning we ventured there. Using our phone to navigate, it was the unique purple exterior paint and a line of people that called attention to this place. I had read about this restaurant's popularity.

Outside, I noticed a circular table with a sheet on it. This was the self-serve signup sheet for a table! It was four deep when I signed in, but surprisingly it was perhaps 10 minutes before someone came for us to be seated. A small interior with tables packed in there, with just enough room for the servers, who visually reminded me that we were in a world of, shall we say, expression, by today's young people, and this area and type of restaurant is one of the hotbeds for that. That aside, service was mostly good, the food was ample and fresh, and it was tasty.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank brifd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 104 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018

We did a spur of the moment trip to Olympia and the one thing we searched for was a good place to eat breakfast. The reviews of this place were great which led us to stop in for breakfast the next morning. Super friendly service and the food was fantastic! We did get there rather early to beat the rush since it seemed to be a very popular place from open to close, and shortly after we arrived every table in the place began to fill up. I would definitely recommend giving this cafe a try and you won't be disappointed! We plan to visit again on our next trip to Olympia.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank llou410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

Really good choice of omelettes with interesting sides like steamed garlic kale or thyme tomatoes. A welcome change from hash browns although they have those too. Funky vibe, lovely staff.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Kirsten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

That New Moon is a Cooperatively Owned establishment is an interesting touch, but it was the breakfast that pretty much blew us away. My partner had the special, which was a "cream cheese, strawberry French Toast" that came out looking like a high end dessert and was sufficiently decadent to satisfy her. I had the Hikers' plate with the Rosemary-Garlic potatoes and one of the best slices of rye toast I've had in awhile. The spuds were superb! It's a very small space but would be worth the wait if got there at peak.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HeadingOut98229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2018

Order BEAST MODE and your life will never be the same. BEAST MODE with hashbrowns instead of homefries is the beast way to go. Find BEAST MODE on the "specialities" section of the menu. Once BEAST MODE changes your life, you will realise that you can squeeze blackberry jam onto your BEAST MODE toast. Then, you will never be able to eat anything ever again because it will never stack up to BEAST MODE and blackberry jamified toast. BEAST MODE cant be beast. BEAST MODE is best mode.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to New Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing