We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Packwood Inn(Packwood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
50
47
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
47
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront lawnyogurtclean roomsgas station across the streetperfect locationwhite passwindy ridgesaw elkeach eveningbreakfast was deliciousmt rainiersausageroom was largewould definitely stay here againelk wanderingstayed here for two nightswithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 112 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights during our recent trip to Washington state. This hotel isn't as close to the main entrance to Mt. Rainier as it looked on the map and is nowhere near a river! We were able to check in early and request a ground floor room which was handy. The breakfast was decent (which is good as there aren't many options in the area) and the room itself was adequate. It was easy to get to the east entrance to Mt. Rainier but to get to Paradise is a long haul on very windy roads. Options for dining are few so I don't know that I'd recommend it over some of the towns just outside the Longmire entrance. Our last day they started mowing the grass at 7:00 a.m. and hit the edge of our room!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

We are close to the Mnt Rainier east park entrance at only 11.9 miles from the Lodge and 21 miles from the park entrance to Paradise. And such a breathtaking beautiful drive through the entire park. And just to be on point~we never ever mow or weed eat our yard until after our guests have enjoyed breakfast(which lasts until 10AM). This is only common courtesy and being respectful. We are sorry there were issues with your stay with us as we strive to give the very best in customer service and to make our guests feel at home while they stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is about twelve minutes from the Ohanapecosh entrance. It is clean and the owner clearly reinvests in the property. The interiors were new and they were putting stonework on the sign by the road. Beds were comfortable. The breakfast was hearty with daily biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs and sausage. There was also cereals and yogurt. It was tasty and kept us going through lunch. The town has two gas stations and three restaurants. I would stay here again. I had my wife and two teenage kids.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, treat our guest like family, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Thank you very much! Sincerely, Larry & Cindy Coonts - Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2017

Our family of three really enjoyed our stay at Cowlitz River Lodge! We had two queens and still had plenty of room. We really liked the extra sink outside of the bathroom. Everything was clean. Lobby was very rustic and nicely decorated. Breakfast was the usual fare with many options. The only thing is we were recommended to try Josies Italian restaurant within walking distance, and we did not enjoy that meal at all. We saw elk roaming the town and also while looking out our window in the morning......saw many with little ones. Very cool. Stay here if in Packwood!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mauisunset2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, treat our guest like family, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Thank you very much! Sincerely, Larry & Cindy Coonts - Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2017 via mobile

Nice motel away from the highway. Good breakfast. Nice staff. Plenty of parking. Love the elk wandering about the grounds! Walking distance to restaurant, market and bar. Trip advisor forcing me to say more, enough said!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, treat our guest like family, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Thank you very much! Sincerely, Larry & Cindy Coonts - Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

Staff were friendly and room was well equipped and sized. Great location after spending a good part of the day around Rainier.
Close to gas, groceries and some fine family friendly dining places.
Very nice sized rooms
Only pitfall was the late start to the breakfast.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jesse N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, treat our guest like family, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Thank you very much! Sincerely, Larry & Cindy Coonts - Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews