We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location close to Mount Rainier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cowlitz River Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Stayed here 2 nights so that we could visit Mt. Rainier. We had a second floor room and it was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was delicious. Cindy, the manager, was very helpful and welcoming. The elk came up in yard in the evening and I got a picture of a baby elk which was exciting. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 46ameliay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We do our very best to give the best in customer service to each of our guests while they are here. We hope that your will stay with us again should you come back in the future.
Sincerely,
Larry & Cindy Coonts - Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights during our recent trip to Washington state. This hotel isn't as close to the main entrance to Mt. Rainier as it looked on the map and is nowhere near a river! We were able to check in early and request a ground floor room which was handy. The breakfast was decent (which is good as there aren't many options in the area) and the room itself was adequate. It was easy to get to the east entrance to Mt. Rainier but to get to Paradise is a long haul on very windy roads. Options for dining are few so I don't know that I'd recommend it over some of the towns just outside the Longmire entrance. Our last day they started mowing the grass at 7:00 a.m. and hit the edge of our room!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cardbucfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

We are close to the Mnt Rainier east park entrance at only 11.9 miles from the Lodge and 21 miles from the park entrance to Paradise. And such a breathtaking beautiful drive through the entire park. And just to be on point~we never ever mow or weed eat our yard until after our guests have enjoyed breakfast(which lasts until 10AM). This is only common courtesy and being respectful. We are sorry there were issues with your stay with us as we strive to give the very best in customer service and to make our guests feel at home while they stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is about twelve minutes from the Ohanapecosh entrance. It is clean and the owner clearly reinvests in the property. The interiors were new and they were putting stonework on the sign by the road. Beds were comfortable. The breakfast was hearty with daily biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs and sausage. There was also cereals and yogurt. It was tasty and kept us going through lunch. The town has two gas stations and three restaurants. I would stay here again. I had my wife and two teenage kids.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, treat our guest like family, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Thank you very much! Sincerely, Larry & Cindy Coonts - Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Our family of three really enjoyed our stay at Cowlitz River Lodge! We had two queens and still had plenty of room. We really liked the extra sink outside of the bathroom. Everything was clean. Lobby was very rustic and nicely decorated. Breakfast was the usual fare with many options. The only thing is we were recommended to try Josies Italian restaurant within walking distance, and we did not enjoy that meal at all. We saw elk roaming the town and also while looking out our window in the morning......saw many with little ones. Very cool. Stay here if in Packwood!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mauisunset2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, treat our guest like family, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Thank you very much! Sincerely, Larry & Cindy Coonts - Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Nice motel away from the highway. Good breakfast. Nice staff. Plenty of parking. Love the elk wandering about the grounds! Walking distance to restaurant, market and bar. Trip advisor forcing me to say more, enough said!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, treat our guest like family, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Thank you very much! Sincerely, Larry & Cindy Coonts - Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Staff were friendly and room was well equipped and sized. Great location after spending a good part of the day around Rainier.
Close to gas, groceries and some fine family friendly dining places.
Very nice sized rooms
Only pitfall was the late start to the breakfast.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jesse N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, treat our guest like family, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Thank you very much! Sincerely, Larry & Cindy Coonts - Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We stayed here for two nights and found it a good place for visiting Mount Rainier national park. Easy ride to both entrances. The room had two beds and the window looked out onto a meadow where we saw elk grazing morning and evening. It was very clean with a decent size bathroom. I was impressed with the pottery beakers and glasses, no plastic! Parking was right outside the room and the breakfast was fine. We ate one evening at the local pub which was a bit like a Wild West Salon, noisy but the food was good, beer served in jam jars. Not too impressed with the pizza place across the road pizza was rather stodgy. Both were within walking distance from the lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, treat our guest like family, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!
Thank you very much!
Sincerely,
Larry & Cindy Coonts - Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Packwood
5.9 km away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
181 reviews
0.7 km away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
218 reviews
25.8 km away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 km away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
2.8 km away
Crest Trail Lodge
Crest Trail Lodge
#3 of 5 in Packwood
257 reviews
31.1 km away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowlitz River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowlitz River Lodge

Address: 13069 US Highway 12, P.O. Box 488, Packwood, WA 98361-9720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Packwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Price Range: $162 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cowlitz River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 unit Lodge located at the base of Whitepass in the heart of Packwood, Wa. Beautifully updated and renovated rooms, with refrigerator, microwave, Keurig Coffee maker, hair dryer, and iron in each! Included in your stay is a full Hot Breakfast every morning (Belgian Waffles, Sausage, Scrambled Eggs, Biscuits & Gravy, Yogurts, Muffins, Bagels, fruit, juices, etc.) Wi-fi in the rooms and Dirrect TV! The elk hang out in our front lawn almost daily. Enjoy the scenery! Short drive to Mt. Rainier and Mt. St. Helens. Visit us while you hiking, fishing, hunting, skiing, visiting the mountains, and for the local Huge flea market held on Memorial Day and Labor day weekends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cowlitz River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowlitz River Hotel Packwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing