We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Happy we found this hotel. The room was large and very comfortable with a lounge area just outside our door. No breakfast included but didn't really matter as there are lots of little eateries in the town. There was no air-conditioning which could be a problem in the warmer months. Wish we had time to spend more nights there.

Room Tip: We had the Genevieve room which had less steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marlenekirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We love the Palace Hotel. Our only issue this trip was the early recycling truck. The recycle truck started at 6:30 am and the sound of breaking glass did not end until 7:00 am. Awful!!!! We were hoping to get a later check out but front desk said NO. Next time I will ask at check in. Make sure you bring an eye mask. The rooms are so bright. Bummed! We stayed in Miss Abigail's room. The room was comfortable it has a small kitchen. Just perfect for us and our morning coffee. Again our only complaint is the 11:00 am check out.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank happytraveler8132011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We hadn't planned to stay at the Palace Hotel, but we showed up and Kristin at the front desk was fabulous and found us a room. We stayed in Miss Genevieve's room, with its claw foot tub! I <3 hotels with character, and the Palace has tons! I will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: We loved Room #15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aviva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We spent one night at the hotel. The bedroom and bathroom were comfortable and the location is very central. But there was a window above our bedroom that let the corridor light in - impossible to sleep, you could read a book with all the light that was coming in.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NHParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We missed the last ferry from Port Townsend and decided to stay the night. We walked in the Palace Hotel without any reservation but was warmly greeted and was offered a beautiful restored room Marie's Suite #3 for a bargain of $149 plus taxes.
The building has no elevator but it does offer- free parking, microwave, coffee maker with fresh cream in the fridge, dishes, common areas on each floor and free wifi with a good connection. Our comfortable bed was huge with quality linen.
It was mentioned our suite might be haunted and we heard the toilet flush on its own but that could have been a plumbing issue ....
The entire hotel is decorated in Victorian furnishings and style.
Glad we missed the ferry to find this gem!
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Marie's suite was a large corner room with views views views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank advcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This hotel was a great place to stay. We were only there one night but plan to go back and stay longer. Very reasonable price and very attentive staff. It was once a bordello and is done in the Victorian style. All the rooms are tastefully done. We were on the 3rd floor and had a separate bath but we were the only ones with a key. Just a nice place to relax after visiting the great town of Port Townsend.

Room Tip: We had a great view from the 3rd floor and really didn't hear street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sskroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

This is a wonderful hotel. We booked 3 nights here and loved every minute. The hotel was once a bordello and is decorated with Victorian furnishings. It is like stepping back in time with modern amenities. There isn't an elevator and we were on the 3rd floor, but there are places to "rest" as you climb the stairs. The rooms are named for the "ladies" that once lived here. We were in Miss Kitty's room and it was spectacular. The room was decorated just as we expected and the bathroom was huge with one of the best showers ever. The view from the corner room was fun to sit and people watch from. Great view of the water and the ferries coming and going. We absolutely loved our stay there. We had parking in the back and we were able to walk almost everywhere from the hotel. We also liked the chance to peek into the other rooms that were open for viewing. This was a real treat for us to be able to stay here. We hated to leave.

Room Tip: We chose Miss Kitty's room because of the fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.3 km away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
371 reviews
0.5 km away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
274 reviews
2.6 km away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
24 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
22.1 km away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Address: 1004 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: C$151 - C$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Hotel Port Townsend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored Victorian hotel is in the heart of historic Port Townsend. A former bordello with most rooms named after former working girls including Madame Maries suite and Miss Kittys room, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located one block from the ferry dock in the center of many fine art galleries, restaurants, theaters, antique stores, and unique gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Palace Hotel Port Townsend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing