We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Night's Sleep in a Brothel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2016

What fun to stay in an 1889 Victorian building with a checkered past, its 19 rooms named for the infamous ladies of the night who once worked here. Set on this lovely seaport's main drag, across the street from the bay, the Palace features spacious, ultra-high-ceilinged rooms, nicely kept Victorian furnishings, several comfy sitting areas and yes, a very steep stairway leading up to its second and third floors. The climb to your room is worth it!

Room Tip: Miss Lou has a king-sized bed and a great view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2016

The Palace is an authentic Victorian style "painted lady" hotel on PT's most interesting and historic street along the waterfront. Each room is unique, and like all the public areas, furnished in nice period antiques, with lots of lace and quilts. A favorite spot is the 2nd floor library for sitting. However, a lot of the old upholstered furniture isn't terribly comfortable for sitting.

The housekeeping is excellent and rooms have coffee service with real cream, not powder, small fridge, and micro. My room lacked sugar packets.

Some rooms feature grand bathtubs, so if you fancy that, request it. a couple of the rooms have bathrobes, but not all, so request that as well if it's important. Other rooms don't have en suite bathrooms, something you might want to verify when booking.

I appreciated the reading lamps and oscillating fan. A charging strip, magnifying mirror and dressing mirror would have been convenient.

Amenities are minimal, just soap and shampoo, so bring your own conditioner.

There are lots of stairs, so be prepared to carry your luggage up.

The hosts are really nice and helpful. Recommended for a unique overnight or two.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beachwriter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I am flat out in love with this hotel, despite the steep stair climb to our amazing Marie's Suite. My husband and I are 65+, so despite gym & yoga, we do have some mobility issues, but great help was available for my overpacked suitcase, so all ended well- very well indeed. Our suite is light filled, charming and yet fitted out beautifully with every convenience. A delightful melding of historical whimsy with modern convenience. I could just happily move in for an indefinite period of time, filled with the decadence and opulence of our Victorian era suite. This hotel served as a brothel at one time in its colourful history and we snagged the Madame's Suite! Perfect- We are already planning our next trip!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Peebs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

The Palace Hotel is an interesting hotel. Full of antiques and charm. The doors of the vacant rooms are left open during the day allowing you to take a wander around. The service at the front desk was friendly. Our room, Miss Simone's, located on the third floor was clean but in need of a make over. The carpeting was quite dated among other things. As has been mentioned by many other reviewers there is no air conditioning which for me wasn't a problem but my friends found the room too warm. There is private parking in the back of the hotel which is nice because the hotel is located in the heart of downtown Port Townsend. Most of the shops and restaurants are within walking distance. The room prices are reasonable in my opinion. I would return again to the Palace Hotel if I am in PT.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I were attending a concert and decided at the last minute to spend the night in Port Townsend. The palace hotel was right downtown, close to everything and the hotel staff were friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. We would gladly stay there again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Fredrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We just stayed one night midweek in august. I loved the character and general feel of the hotel. central location makes strolling downtown for dinner easy and fun, clean rooms, ours had a kitcheonette with a real size coffee maker, microwave and full size fridge. however, if you're in town during a heat wave, there is no a/c. sleeping with the windows open is okay, but you'll get some street noise if you're early to bed folk, and the seagulls in the morning all excited about garbage day can start you off earlier than you'd like. that being said, I would definitely return - we had a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel, built in the late 1800's, is very clean and historical. On the main street in Port Townsend, there is plenty of shopping and places to dine. There are 3 levels in this hotel, all stairs. So probably not good for people who cannot climb a lot of stairs. Several rooms have water views and are reasonably priced.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mikesQ7787RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.3 km away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
364 reviews
2.6 km away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
323 reviews
0.5 km away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
24.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
2.3 km away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Address: 1004 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $212 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Hotel Port Townsend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored Victorian hotel is in the heart of historic Port Townsend. A former bordello with most rooms named after former working girls including Madame Maries suite and Miss Kittys room, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located one block from the ferry dock in the center of many fine art galleries, restaurants, theaters, antique stores, and unique gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palace Hotel Port Townsend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing