We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Resort with Gorgeous Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cave B Estate Winery & Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Overpriced Resort with Gorgeous Views”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The best thing about Cave B was its views. We checked in at noon, but since our room wasnt ready yet, we did the wine tasting while waiting. $7 per person for 10 sips of their reds and whites. I enjoyed almost every wine we tried. We also decided to have a snack after the tasting. The tasting room sells wedges of cheese for $3...we got a gorgonzola and dubliner. We enjoyed it with a bottle of red we purchased. Great way to start off our weekend getaway.

We stayed in a cliffhouse (#13). I asked the front desk staff about their wifi - its advertised as free. She says it's available in our cliffhouse, however my iPhone and iPad couldn't find any signal. I call front desk from our room and they told me to unplug the phone and search for the signal again...still nothing. Oh well.

The cliffhouse is amazing! Along with the views, it has a great bed, a tub, a shower, and living room area. Everything in the room was great, except for the multiple dark stains on the leather sofa.

We tried out the spa, I got a facial and my boyfriend got a massage. Both were not good. For a $200 bill, plus tax -we expected more.

Dinner at Tendrils Restaurant (their only dining option) was overpriced and mediocre at best. We ordered a bottle of cab, trout cake and salad appetizer. The sirloin and the chicken for entrees and bread pudding for dessert. Small portions. We left hungry and $210 poorer.

Our overnight getaway cost over $700 and was definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    122
    64
    33
    20
See reviews for
65
320
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My partner brought me here as a total suprise - I knew we were headed for a winery, but couldn't have guessed we'd be staying in a yurt! The accomodations are fabulous (like luxury camping) and the views can't be beat (well, maybe a little later in the season, it will be prettier). Waking up in the middle of the night and gazing at the stars through the huge skylight was gorgeous. The bed is super comfortable and the heater kept the yurt comfortably toasty even with the temperature dropping overnight.

The tasting room is lovely, the wines are nice, the servers are informative and entertaining. The restaurant was nice with wonderful staff - I truly felt spoiled. I can't wait to hit the hiking trails this morning. I would love to come back in the autumn sometime.

What a peaceful, relaxing place.

Room Tip: Yurt #2 has no other yurts in front of it, so the view of the gorge and vineyards is uninterupted an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Cave B is a unique and remarkable hotel and winery. The views and the geology of the location are very memorable as is the service. For me, however, I cannot say enough about the staff, in particular, Leroy, who is at the front desk nights. I had a particularly distressing event while there and Leroy's professionalism and assistance brought a much welcome resolution to it. I will always be grateful to the hotel and to him.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We recently enjoyed an anniversary get-away at this lovely inn/winery. We've heard many wonderful things about this spot from our own customers over the past few years, and we were delighted to find the rave reviews come true! We stayed in one of the cliff suites--a gorgeous private "cabin" with floor to ceiling windows looking out over the magnificent views of the gorge and surrounding plateaus. A huge double-sided fireplace, comfy leather couch and deep soaking tub made relaxing so enjoyable. The estate wines are good, the restaurant may be trying a bit too hard to come up with interesting combinations of food that have little cohesiveness and the pricing of the meals is pretty steep (a la carte chicken breast for $34 is a little high, we think) . Still, it's a wonderful spot for a special getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is a unique property which my wife and I totally enjoyed. It may not be for everyone.

The hotel is in a very remote area. Cell phone service is spotty. There is minimal TV reception. They provide a collection of out of date DVDs that you can borrow.

The ground-level cave rooms should be avoided. They have an amazing views but afforded no privacy from the common area lawn. The rooms have a sort of "do it yourself" luxury quality. The decor is somewhat nonstandard and lacks a cohesive theam that would be seen at a more commercial property.

I would not bring children here.

The property is situated in an active winery. The trails connecting the buildings are rough and not all that well maintained. This would be difficult for a person with mobility issues.

The restaurant was excellent every time.

The service was good. Parking, bell service, valet etc are limited by small staff and the layout of the property(not 4 or 5 star prompt).

What a great place to disconnect from the world and reconnect with someone special!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiNbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
221 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I would give this place 5 stars if only a few things were tweaked.

We went away for a romantic getaway in March for a weekend at Cave B. First of all, I am impressed with their service. I had arranged for a bottle of wine and cheese plate as well as a birthday surprise in our room but the day before I had to postpone our getaway a few weeks. They were super nice about it and made sure our spa reservations, dinner reservations and the wine and cheese were switched with no problem whatsoever. Finally we arrive...what a spectacular location, right on the cliffs of the Columbia! It is truly breathtaking. I have not seen a more amazing location in Washington. Every employee we came in contact with from the moment we walked in the front door to check out was incredibly friendly and helpful. We headed to our Cliff House and I was stunned at the views from the windows. The wine and cheese were there as promised. The room is tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. After settling in we headed over to the tasting room for some wine. The tasting room has wine related gifts, snacks, water and other gifts for purchase. We tasted all the wines and honestly I was quite impressed. (and we do a lot of wine tasting) We left with two bottles and two free glasses (a nice touch). We explored the property before dinner and were amazed at what a quiet and beautiful location this place is in. We shared some wine while watching the sunset over the gorge and wow! We had dinner reservations but we didn't really need them as the restaurant was fairly empty. We had impeccable service and I was pleasantly surprised at the top notch food. It was more than I expected. Their menu isn't extensive but what we did have was fantastic. We headed back to the room to watch movies and just enjoy the quiet (and boy is this location ever quiet) We slept fantasticas the bed is incredibly comfortable but shut the shades, the rising sun will wake you up early!
The following day they had a complimentary continental breakfast set out but honestly for a continental breakfast it was really good. Fresh fruit of all sort, coffee, tea, juices, granola, pastries and they had two kinds of quiches for an additional charge. The quiche was fantastic. We spent the day hiking down to the river, unbelievable views but it's a bit strenuous...be prepared for a good workout. In the late afternoon we headed to the spa. It is small but quite comfortable, clean and well set up. I had the "Indigenous Bliss", a chardonnay sugar scrub and hot stone massage. It was amazing, relaxing and delightful. My partner had a deep tissue massage and although his massage was good he said his therapist was WAY too talkative and that made it hard for him to relax. We had eaten at the restaurant the night before and as they had a limited menu and we wanted to stay in we didn't eat there again. Luckily we had brought some food with us. I was wishing however that they had room service of some sort. I did call and see if I could get an order of their bacon-wrapped prawns (delicious) to go and they did accomodate me. We really didn't want to leave but when we did we were relaxed and renewed.

The ONLY negatives of the trip and the reason I rated it "almost": I found a couple of hairs on the bed and one on the coffee maker.. The teapot provided had dirty water in it. The massage therapist for my partner was too talkative and kind of ruined his relaxation. The in-room guide said they had a breakfast buffet on Sundays (we even checked the dates) and we planned on this. Not so, just the continental. The DVD player had seriously limited capabilities, they need to upgrade this. This place is in the middle of nowhere and if you forget something you're in trouble. They should offer amenities such as toothbrushes, etc. Some sort of room service would be fantastic if you just want to stay in. A jacuzzi on the porch of the Cliff Houses would be an amazing touch.

All in all, this was an amazing trip and I would go again in a second, however with just a few tweaks such as attention to detail with cleanliness, less talkative massage therapists, added amenities, an updated in room guide, room service and perhaps some rooms offering jacuzzis this place could be a top notch destination.

TIPS: This place is in the middle of nowhere and towns are far away. Make sure you pack everything you need. Also, it's QUIET and activities are limited. I wished I had brought a book or two. Although they accommodated me with a take-out request, there is no room service and there is a limited menu. Bring snacks! It's DARK at night, if you walk around the property at night, although the walkways are somewhat lit, bring a flashlight. Bring your hiking boots!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cliff House 12. It is on the very end, quiet and secluded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I'm always a very positive person! The view and hiking around this property is magnificent. The desert sounds and smells were very new. The hotel itself lacks the same. The dog poop and cigarette butts outside the door to my room was disturbing. When I asked the front desk to pick it up, they picked up one & left the rest, which hindered my 5 am walk from taking place, I stayed on my patio. The restaurant does not fit the surrounding environment. The menu does not offer enough verity and portions of food to let alone hike but make it from your room to the dining room. With that being said the staff was very helpful but the bill was explosive! I rate this portion of my stay a 1-2 of a 10. I purchased dessert, I was unable to carry the tray & dishes to my room on the poorly lite & uneven pathway to my room safely. Shame on you for doing this to your customers. I could not image hiking and wanting a nice meal and receiving 6 bites of duck and 2 bites of salad! My bill for a bottle of wine two Jacks and 2 meals that left my stomach growling at 3 am was $ 205.00. It is no wonder the place is for sale! Fix this and fast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
39.8 km away
Best Western Rama Inn
Best Western Rama Inn
#1 of 3 in Ephrata
154 reviews
0.0 km away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
13.8 km away
Crescent Bar RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 km away
Sunny Springs Resort & Campground
13.9 km away
The Suites at Crescent Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave B Estate Winery & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave B Estate Winery & Resort

Property: Cave B Estate Winery & Resort
Address: 344 Silica Rd NW, Quincy, WA 98848-9468
Region: United States > Washington > Quincy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cave B Estate Winery & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave B Estate Winery & Resort offers breathtaking views of our own estate vineyards, the Columbia River and the state's most dramatic gorge location. Cave B Resort offers 55 guestrooms, including 15 stand-alone Cliffehouses, 12 Cavern Rooms, three Inn Suites, and 25 Desert Yurts, as well as Tendrils Restaurant, The Spa at Cave B, award-winning Cave B Estate Winery, and a dramatic cliffside outdoor swimming pool. Come for a weekend, a true Washington State vacation, for a romantic getaway, or for a concert next door at the Gorge Amphitheater. Experience outdoor adventure, one of the few estate wineries in Washington State, and a landscape like no other at one of the Northwest's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Cave B Estate Winery & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cave b Inn And Spa
Cave b Hotel Quincy
Cave b Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing