We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night before Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Wa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Night before Cancun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed the night before we left for cancun. The room was very nice. Bed was very comfortable and the wake up call was right on time. Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lthomas1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay! Cancun - how fun. I hope that your trip is/was successful and stress free. Please come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    117
    29
    15
    12
See reviews for
116
91
22
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
College Place, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Very nice hotel with omelets, fresh fruit, biscuits & gravy, killer cinnamon rolls, etc. for breakfast.
Room was very nice with view of Spokane River. Very friendly staff. We really enjoyed the
English bulldog at the front desk.

Room Tip: Rooms 207, 307 & 407 have views of the Spokane River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
I am so glad you stayed with us! Thank you. And I appreciate your great comments. For the views and the service there is no other hotel like ours in Spokane. We love our guests, we love our jobs, and we love serving people. I have an amazing staff that does and incredible job at doing their job. From front desk to breakfast bar, to housekeeping, laundry and maintenance, everyone is engaged and glad to be working. It shows in their quality of work! Thank you for recognizing them! I will share your comments with my supervisors and my staff! Please come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

stayed here after their sister property out in the Valley was full - there were smoking rooms left, but we didn't want those, so the Valley called ahead to get us rooms downtown. Kudos to both properties for teamwork.

Location is nice, up on "the Rock" - very convenient to downtown & Gonzaga. Several blocks off of I-90, fwiw.

Free sandwiches, beer, wine, lemonade in evening, then milk & cookies!

Resident bulldog "Bebe" was asleep most of our visit, but it's fun that there's a dog here as well as out in the Valley HI-Ex.

Bathrooms are kind of small, but adequate.

Rooms on first floor north side have both interior and exterior doors.

We would stay again. Just wish there were a swimming pool. :-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDUB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the Spokane Holiday Inn Express's. We do both strive to make our guest feel at home. Since we don't have a pool, we do offer $5 passes to the YMCA for a family of 4 which is about 1 mile from our location. Thank you so much for staying with us! Please come back a visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I really like staying at this hotel. The property is pretty much what one would expect of a Holiday Inn Express: basic, clean, and well-valued. Where The Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown really stands out is its staff. I've stayed here twice and was both times impressed by how helpful and genuine their service was. Everyone was so pleasant and sincerely interested in making sure my stay was comfortable and that I had everything I needed or wanted.

Also on staff, in addition to the humans, is Bebe, a kind dog who lives behind the front desk. She's very calm and, if you don't see her, you're not even likely to know she's there. So, if you're not a dog fan, not to worry. She poses for photos at request but mostly just sleeps, relaxes, and lazes about. She adds to the at-home feel of the place.

The location is not directly downtown but is, in good weather, a very pleasant, ten-minute walk through the park and across any of the footbridges into downtown proper. Downtown there are plenty of restaurants, some shopping (including major department stores Nordstrom and Macy's), and a large cinema. If you don't feel like walking or if the weather isn't agreeable, they'll shuttle you there at your request. Once I walked downtown for dinner but preferred not to walk back: I phoned the hotel and the shuttle was there in five minutes. The park, basically at the hotel's front door, is very nice and is not to be missed.

Speaking of the shuttle, they do run a shuttle to and from the airport. It's handy, convenient, and a very nice amenity that'll save you taxi fare. (It does not run 24 hours but runs late and early enough that most guests will find it useful.)

The hotel's hard product is good and along the lines of what one would expect. There is apparently a renovation and upgrade underway, so things may be upgraded if you're reading this some months after my stay. I don't give such a short mention of the rooms and common spaces to indicate they're anything less than comfortable, well-kept, and nice, but, for me, what this property offered that set it apart was certainly the people working there.

If travels take you to Spokane, I can certainly recommend this well-kept, comfortable property and its wonderful and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. My staff is truly amazing!!! I appreciate them so much and I am so glad that you provided such great comments. I shared your comments with my staff at our recent staff meeting. And our hotel truly has been transformed to look like a historic building. The first phase is complete! The second phase which will expand the breakfast bar and lobby will be done sometime in the near future; most likely this fall. We look forward to you staying with us again should you travel to Spokane and we welcome any suggestions on how we could be better. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

They were remodeling last time I went but I know they alway offer great service.

Room Tip: A room facing the river is always nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIAboytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for sharing! Good news!!!! We are almost finished with the first phase of the exterior of the hotel!! Everything will be back to normal in about 10 days. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This place was great. We loved having a balcony room facing the river walk. Really provided for a nice romantic getaway. Already planning to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goel60820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience here "On the Rock". We do have incredible views from our hotel, especially on the Spokane River side. Our exterior renovation is almost complete. The parking lot should be cleaned up and the first phase complete by the end of March. We are looking forward to an incredible summer season! Please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
accrosstheland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is a pretty typical HI Express. It is a large property and sits up on a hill so normally you would have a good view of the area.
They are currently redoing the outside of the building and hale of it was covered with plastic. They were putting up scaffolding to cover the other side when I was there. They said the work would be done in the spring I am guessing may if the weather holds out for them.
They have a fairly typical TV lineup though I did not watch it I did see the card.
The breakfast area is small but that is supposed to be redone also.
This hotel is very close to the convention center and there are several restaurants in the area.
I would stay there again if I come back to Spokane.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockboyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lscook, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Yes, our hotel is currently wrapped in plastic. The good news is that the later half of February, we should begin to see some of the finished product and begin unveiling the exterior. This will open up our windows and our views. We are due to be finished with the exterior renovation by the middle of March. We are so excited to share our "new" look with our guests and the community. Later in the year we will be expanding the breakfast bar and the lobby. We strive especially during this time to "impress our guests" and make those lodging needs, while in Spokane. stress free. Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to sharing our "new" hotel with you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 km away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.3 km away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
1.3 km away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
1.2 km away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown
Address: 801 N. Division St., Spokane, WA 99202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Spokane
#7 Family Hotel in Spokane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel is an excellent location for business and leisure travelers alike. Perched above the city with a 360 degree view, our hotel in Spokane is close to Spokane shopping, dining, and all that downtown Spokane has to offer. We are a stone s throw from the Spokane Convention Center, and serve as a home away from home for visiting Gonzaga University, EWU, WSU, and Whitworth University. Our Spokane Hotel is also a great place to stay when coming to Spokane to see a Broadway Show at the INB Performing Arts Center, Concerts at the Knitting Factory, Concerts at the Spokane Arena, Chiefs WHL Hockey and Spokane Shock Arena2 Football at Spokane Veteran s Memorial Arena. For the best service in any Spokane hotel, search no further than the Spokane Holiday Inn Express on the rock! We are 100% non-smoking, complete with exercise facility, business center with free printer use and Internet access, free high-speed wired Internet in every guest room, free deluxe Continental breakfast as well as cookies and milk every evening. Make your reservation now; your room awaits. All you have to do is come prepared to experience that which memories are made of at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Spokane hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Spokane Downtown Hotel Spokane
Holiday Inn Spokane
Spokane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing