We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT place to stay!”
Review of Skamania Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skamania Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were driving in the area and needed a place for the night. We happened upon this and could not have been happier. This was a wonderful "destination" hotel. Though we only spent one night there, it was luxurious. The lobby is gorgeous witha phenomenal fireplace, teh grounds and view are stunning. The spa was great too. The staff was extrememly helpful and knowledgeable about the area and what was open. What a delight and treat it was to stay here. The food at the restaurant was absolutley the best vacation dinner we have ever eaten!
Don't hesitate to stay here, you won;t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank todny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,286 - 2,292 of 2,545 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

First class service and experience. We had not had an opportunity to escape in 10 months, and we were looking forward to just getting away. Not only did we receive the royal treatment while checking in, Noni H. treated us like we were the only guess in the lodge. the view of the river was great and the massages we had hit all the tight muscles after a morning hike. The big wood burning fire place and the rocking chairs were inviting and relaxing. I can't wait to go back for the Sunday brunch I heard so much about.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noni H, Director of Rooms at Skamania Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Scott F,

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience the serenity of our Gorge Room. Your feedback in invaluable and we truly appreciate your kind words. I’ll make sure to pass them along to the massage provider as well. We look forward for opportunity to welcome you back to Skamania Lodge. Brunch reservations can be made by calling our dining room directly at 509-427-2508 or through our hotel operator, 509-427-7700. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any additional comments.


Thank you,
Noni Hughes
Director of Rooms
Skamania Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Skamania Lodge and our most enjoyable. It seemed to us the place was better organized and service improved. Maybe it was due to being off season but the service and attention here was outstanding.

Our room was immaculate and well appointed. Our meals at the restaurant here were faultless and the food excellent. Highly recommended if visiting the gorge area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Was treated by a friend to an overnight at the lodge. We had never been before and were delighted to find a huge wood burning fire to greet us as we checked in. The lodge is wonderful, has just the right "lodge" feel but new and clean. The most impressive part is the view; the lodge sits on land overlooking the Columbia Gorge with back drop of mountains. They have a nice fire pit going outside to sit around and enjoy the view.
Service at the hotel and lounge was great, at the restaurant however we did not get the same experience. Hostess was overwhelmed over a group that came in, but the restaurant was basically bare! She would not seat us saying it would be 20 min. until server could come. We were fine with this and said we'd just get glass of wine and wait. She was still flustered and said it would be 20 min to get this also. We left and went into the lounge and told our story to bartender. The manager came over and we did get a seat. In hindsight should have eaten in the lounge. Food is amazing but server had her mind on other things!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view make sure you reserve it when booking. The view is what makes this lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HINDSFEETHIGHPLACES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Take the waterfall route on 30 in Oregon on your way in or out!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for something with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cujos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Skamania Lodge completely exceeded my expectations. Sometimes "rustic lodge" is code for "dirty bug infested hole," but not here. It is not a luxury lodge, like Salish in Snoqualmie, but it was really charming and well-appointed, especially for a conference destination.

The bad: beds just ok in comfiness, pillows were awful (so glad I brought my own), room temp was hard to get right (your choice - chilly or swelter), and thin doors and walls so you could hear conversations. Only other negative was that there were lots of kids at the pool, though that's pretty normal. There was a gorgeous spa area with sauna and hot tub, but some rude woman had her entire sizeable brood to spa and thought it was completely fine to "holler" at them the top of her lungs and let her grade-school boys run around in the ladies locker room. Not sure what the mgmt can do about inconsiderate people like that... Maybe signs asking that people use low voices to maintain the peaceful atmosphere? Also, I love getting spa services like massage or facials, but the prices were absurd, even for a hotel. (hint to mgmt: offer specials-- you will get a lot more business that way).

On that note, the facilities themselves were great. The spa area was clean and neat, with plentiful towels and cucumber water. Ladies only dry sauna and whirlpool were amazing. Fitness room small but well-equipped. The pool and outdoor whirlpool had too much chlorine for me to use (I'm sensitive to it) but looked nice.

Other high points: spectacular views (we had river view room- amazing!), cozy fireplaces in the front den, bonfire at night. REALLY outstanding service from everyone we encountered, from the front desk to the bartender to the banquet staff. Locals hang out there too and are really nice. Even the banquet food was good! Color me impressed.

Side note: if you do yoga at all, try their yoga class if it's available. So worth the money. I got a private lesson because no one else showed up. The teacher Carol was one of the best I've had, and the tranquil setting of forests and mountains was very conducive to Zen. When it's nice out, they do it outside, which I bet is just awesome.

Plenty of fun things to do nearby: awesome golf course, hiking Beacon Rock, windsports, wineries, breweries. Really wonderful little corner of the world.

Skamania Lodge is a special place and I would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slowdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Our family took our Christmas this year to The Skamania Lodge and had the best one ever. We are still talking about what a great time we had and how much we enjoyed the atmosphere in the lobby with the big fireplace. I have stayed at the Skamania Lodge several times, and I always love coming back for a restful stay. The view and the lodge itself are beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelshellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenson
27.7 km away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
27.6 km away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
793 reviews
2.8 km away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 km away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
31 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
9.7 km away
Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skamania Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skamania Lodge

Address: 1131 Skamania Lodge Dr, Stevenson, WA 98648-6186
Region: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range: $248 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skamania Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skamania Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skamania Hotel Stevenson
Skamania Resort Stevenson
Skamania Lodge Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing