We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a Fairy Tale!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 11 Tacoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
1 review
“Like a Fairy Tale!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Two days ago, we entered Thornewood and it’s enchantment. As I slept, I had magnificent dreams of years gone past. Thornewood has a great history and unending warmth, romance and charm. These two days were a respite for both Doug and I. As we leave today we go back to the real world, now we have a place to hide and enjoy romantic times together.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    23
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
122
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vail, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

The restrictions put on my daughters wedding were terrible. They would not let anyone into the Castle until 4PM. The wedding was at 4:30 and it was pouring down rain. They met me at the door and wanted an $800. Damage deposit and informed us that unless everyone was out of the gates by 10:00Pm they would charge me $800. I had made all of other payments on time.
I stayed in the Lake House and was informed if I lost the remote to the gate they would charge me $500. The castle is beautiful but the whole evening I was concerned about getting everyone out on time. Not a very bride friendly place. The bridesmaids all commented that they would never have their wedding there. They also charged $500 to have a rehearsal there on top of the fees for the Castle. They put a real damper on the evening.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank hanegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornewood-Castle, Manager at Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Please allow me to clarify a few points mentioned in this review. We are a rental only facility and we were not the wedding planners or caterers for this event. Like most facilities we are rented for a specific period of time. The time period is chosen by the customer. On this particular occasion, the client rented the facility from 4:00 PM until 10:00 PM. Apparently they planned the wedding ceremony to start at 4:30 PM, which only allows them 30 minutes to set up the entire ceremony, reception, catering, and do all of this while guests would be arriving. We require a security deposit, which is standard practice for many facility rentals. For our customers’ convenience and satisfaction, we have not required the deposit to be paid in advance. Instead, as a courtesy, we have accepted payment on the day of the event and in almost all cases it is returned it at the end of the event. Normally our customers are appreciative of this. The security deposit is clearly stated in our contract and applies to all of our customers. This customer was well informed about our product and policies both verbally and in writing. We delivered our facility when promised and it was beautiful according to this bride and her mother. We understand a wedding is one of the most important days in an individual's life and we will always do everything possible to make sure the event runs as smoothly as possible. Our customer’s satisfaction is our greatest reward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Let me start by saying that the castle and gardens were breathtakingly beautiful and I challenge you to find a more incredible setting. We stayed for 2 nights and there were weddings on the grounds both days. As B&B guests we were given access to the castle interior, the gardens and the lakefront. There was only one other room rented on our first night and the very friendly woman on staff took us on a personal tour of all of the empty rooms, unlocking each one and telling us stories of her time spent working at Thornewood. The owners, Deanna and Wayne Robinson, could not have been more acoommodating. We were treated like guests in their home and they tirelessly answered all of our questions, and as we were there celebrating our birthdays they even gave us a lovely gift! As for the breakfast, one of us is vegan and the other vegetarian - they were very careful to provide delicious and appropriate meals for both of us, served with a garnish of tiny flowers. Lovely. I could go on and on but I won't - suffice to say that the room was clean and beautifully furnished and ours was equipped with a little kitchenette that was perfect for our stay. The only downside I saw was that the carpet on the main staircase is worn and could use some TLC, but that did not in any way diminish our enjoyment of this wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Be sure to view carefully online - not all rooms have kitchenettes and some have the bath in the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

There is no place quite like this for its grandeur, comfort and accessibility. Perfect to get together with friends coming from different directions. We all enjoyed staying with you and I hope we do it again. I liked the low profile style of hosting: our rooms were generously stocked and well prepared to anticipate a range of needs, so we had no reason to call for anything. Similarly, breakfast was a huge offering of a variety of foods, certainly something for most everyone's preferences. Only needing to ascend two flights to our rooms would discourage us, but the art surrounding the awesome staircase, and some thoughtfully placed chairs cheered us onward and upwards. And Errol says Hellooooo!!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank agingwithattitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, WA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

I feel intimidated trying to match some of the earlier reviewers. Suffice it to say the castle is as close as most of us will get to staying in Hearst Castle (if you've been there in California, you know what I mean) The owners have a huge passion for decor, for history, for a warm personal visitor experience.

This is the nicest place you will ever stay. If you have stayed anywhere nicer, you have so much money that you have people you have hired to read these reviews for you and you're not even seeing this.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

This truly IS a castle! How often can you take your wife for a romantic weekend getaway at a place like this? It is breathtaking! The setting that surrounds this bed and breakfast is so amazing, it must be seen to be believed. It sits on a beautiful lake surrounded by dozens of some of the tallest trees I have ever seen. The rooms are ornate and contain untold fortunes in antiques. My wife and I loved the food almost as much as the setting, and we are planning monthly getaways to enjoy this beautiful place. It is a must see.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ranier55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

We didn't actually stay in 2007 (our 9 nights included late 2005/early 2006) but that's as far back as the choice allows.

The moment we stepped through the huge wooden door, we felt the peace and serenity of this incredible castle. We arrived on Christmas Eve and were promptly invited to share the evening with Deanna and Wayne and their families and friends. From that to the incredible room (Grandview Suite) to the food to the service to doing the tango in the great hall, we enjoyed every second of our stay. Since we were the only guests for a few of the nights, we had the run of the castle. We explored every room and immersed ourselves in castle history. The breakfasts were wonderful and the staff so friendly. We plan to return just as soon as our lives will allow.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liberty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tacoma
17.5 km away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
15.8 km away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tac...
#1 of 1 in Lakewood Pierce County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
No photo provided
5.1 km away
Best Western Lakewood
Best Western Lakewood
#1 of 5 in Lakewood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
8.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens

Property: Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens
Address: 8601 N. Thorne Lane S.W., Tacoma, WA 98498
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornewood Castle Inn And Gardens Hotel Tacoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing