We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One place where I won't be going again”

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Woodinville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NE 145th St.
Description: Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients..
Reviewed April 4, 2018

The first thing noted is the small card presented in an attempt to justify a mandatory tip of 20% added to each bill in 'fairness.' See picture of same. Not that all this mandatory tip directly goes to the server, but is used to offset normal restaurant expense. And, it is not that this store charges ridiculously low prices to justify. One guest ordered what turned out to be a very small piece of fish without any extras for which the charge is $38. Rest of the diners has the equivalent of snacks (soup, sandwich, bruschetta, etc.) that, including the one wine and beer ordered resulted in a total bill for five of $186. My flatbread, Italian sausage flavored, was tasty, but pricey at $16. Could a got a pretty good hand crafted pizza elsewhere for a lot less. Very noisy; impossible to carry on a conversation without yelling yourself hoarse. Place was jammed for a We nite and folks seem to be enjoying themselves, possibly prior to seeing how much they paid for the privilege. Very limited parking in cramped lot.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mikesuefle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 508 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2018

A poor review 3 weeks ago said that the food was burnt food. I wish our food was warm.
Pasta was cool and the bold was cold! Pasta was tasteless.
It was so loud that we gave up trying to talk.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 54GaryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

This was a pre birthday celebration for my wife and me. The parking lot was jammed packed. It took us 2 times around until someone pulled out and we had a primo spot.
The restaurant was crowded inside and out with a commensurate noise level. We were given a great table against the brick wall and the glass front of the restaurant. Our conversation was comfortable and private even with the din around us.
The service and food were spot on. The calamari was tender, hot and tasty. We ordered small plates including a flat bread, crab cakes and a mushroom tart. The food came out at appropriate intervals and temperature. The wine list was extensive as one might imagine.
The value and experience were bonuses.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank paulhI6401GF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

We had a small family dinner before going to Benaroya Hall which is a block away. Dinner was excellent. I had the MALBEC-BRAISED BONELESS BEEF SHORT RIB. I wished it had been a bit larger portion it was so good. Parking with validation is only $5.00 for a couple hours.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 37geraldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018 via mobile

Burnt food? Really?
First my baked Brie was burnt, ( and I don't mean dark or over cooked, I mean part of my he too was black) then my bacon wrapped meatloaf arrived burnt as well. The edges of the bacon were charcoal.

I understand every chef can have an off night sometimes, but someone at the pass should have caught it. Burnt food should not go out to a customer.

I have been going to Purple in Kirkland since they opened. I occasionally go to the downtown location as well. I was excited to find out there was a location in Woodinville as that is close to my house. However I really don't know if I will give this location another try.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank lauramY4987YZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purple Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Purple Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing