We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Use to be a great place to stay, but find service and cleanliness changing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Barboursville
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barboursville
Certificate of Excellence
IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Use to be a great place to stay, but find service and cleanliness changing”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Visit this area about 2 -3 times a year and always stay at this Hotel. This past visit we had to wait 10-15 minutes to check in while 3 employees standing at the service desk were trying to check in one family who had 2 rooms with reservations.?????? Never did figure out what the difficultly could of been.
Noticed that the cleanliness of the room wasn't up to the standard that they use to have.
The bed and box springs were dirty with previous spills of food. I decided I didn't want to look any further for any additonal stains. I think it is time they renovate. We willl be staying elsewhere the next time we visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eile15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    45
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
53
30
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I chose this place based on reviews here. I expected it to be worn, but clean. It wasn't clean. The elevator felt and look gritty. The pool area needed a scrubbing. The room had a gritty feel also. The bathroom was very clean. The bed was comfortable.

Here's the deal - After the talk of smelling smoke, I requested a room far from the smoking rooms. They did not deliver. The room was on the same floor as the smoking rooms. The clerk said I'd smell it 'a little' in the halls, but not in the room. The hallway smell strongly of smoke. I think people who smoke underestimated how offensive the smell is to non-smokers. The room did not smell of smoke. It smelled of cheap air freshener. Lots and lots of cheap air freshener. It smelled like a room that had once been a smoking room and converted to non-smoking use.

That's the problem with converted rooms. It's impossible to get the smell out without ripping out the carpets, painting the walls and trading out the furniture. The upholstery felt dusty and the air freshener smell was overpowering.

We opened the window.

We won't stay there again.

The staff in the morning were very nice. The breakfast was unnoteworthy, but we still won't stay there again. I gave them a bad rating on the Choice Hotel site. This place charges way, way, waaaaayyyyy too much for what they offer.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveler1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

A little tricky finding the place...but worth the effort. The lobby is inviting and cozy. The staff very friendly...especially after a long late-night drive. We loved the indoor pool. Very warm! We asked for a room near the pool...we got the room next to the pool. You gotta like that! The room was clean. The free internet access worked great. We loved the beauty of West Virginia...and we loved the Comfort Inn!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmpatrick63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanesville, IN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

We have stayed here a few times now travelling between Indiana and Virginia, and it is always clean, quiet, parking lot is well lit, and it seems safe. Breakfast could be a bit better, but overall it is nice. Price is comparable to other hotels we've stayed in. Nonsmoking rooms is a plus for us as well.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmkehlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially on checkout.

Pool area was clean and nice, including a whirlpool.

Accommodating of pets with a small fee, which is much appreciated!

Rooms were clean and reasonably nice, but perhaps a bit out of date - could use updating on the comforters and decor, but nothing major.

The best part about the hotel is the location - easy off the highway, directly next to a large shopping mall with lots of nice stores and restaurants, and near a 24-hour Walmart - very convenient for travelers who might need to pick something up or want some options for dinner!

  • Liked — Nice staff, convenient to shopping/restaurants, pet-friendly
  • Disliked — Expensive compared to other similar hotels
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lb6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Very nice hotel. Rooms were rooming and were very clean. Beds were comfy, plenty of pillows and towels. Pet freindly w/fee but worth it. Rocking chairs sit out on the front porch under an awning, and has a patio swing in a grassy area to just lounge. Nice place and freindly staff.

  • Liked — Simple quick and freindly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank buuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willoughby, OH
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

The Comfort Inn met our needs well since we booked a room with a sofa, microwave & fridge. As an extra bonus we were really surprised to find a room with a window that opens -- it was so nice to bring in the fresh air and hear the birds chirp. The property was convenient to many restaurants and was a good base for exploring to the east (Blenko Glass in Milton, WV and many antiques stores in Nitro, WV) as well as the Art Museum/conservatory and city rose garden to the west in Huntington, WV as well as Carter Caves State Resort Park across the state line in KY. Enough to do that we never did get over to the mall across the street! There were plenty of towels by the pool, which was a comfortable temperature.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barboursville
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Huntington Mall Inn
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Barboursville
Holiday Inn Barboursville
#2 of 4 in Barboursville
175 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Huntington / Barboursville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Red Roof Inn Huntington
#3 of 12 in Huntington
336 reviews
13.5 km away
Super 8 Huntington WV
Super 8 Huntington WV
#6 of 12 in Huntington
415 reviews
14.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Barboursville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Barboursville

Property: Comfort Inn Barboursville
Address: 249 Mall Rd, Barboursville, WV 25504-1831
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Barboursville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barboursville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Barboursville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barboursville Comfort Inn® is ideally located off Interstate 64, behind the Huntington Mall. This Barboursville hotel is minutes from the Blenko Glass Company, Marshall University, Huntington Junior College and Camden Park. The Tri-State Airport / Milton J. Ferguson Field is 19 miles away. Guests of this hotel can enjoy full-service amenities, including free breakfast, free USA Today and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests will also enjoy the indoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Choice Hotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Barboursville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barboursville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing