We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
221
31
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
221
31
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front porch hot tub cookies seneca rocks north fork cookie jar other guests mile hike hiking trails bean soup hideaway cabin milky way potomac suite rocking chairs gourmet meal spruce knob direct tv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 266 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2020

My fiancé and I had a lovely weekend celebrating our recent engagement at North Fork Mountain Inn. Ed and Carol were great and very accommodating. Wine tasting was fun, and dinner was great. The location in the mountains is superb, and very close to excellent hiking. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abigailc712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin Fischer, Owner at North Fork Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We love being a part of engagements while staying with us at the Inn. We were grateful to have you keep our streak of successful proposals alive (15 for 15). We always enjoy helping make the special arrangements to create and celebrate such a special occasion. We hope you can return, perhaps on your honeymoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2020 via mobile

We had a wonderful trip for our anniversary and loved staying at the Inn. The Potomac Suite was beautiful, the scenery was incredible, and the food was delicious! My only wish is that we could have stayed a few extra days to enjoy the area even more. We will be back!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kjabram8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed Fischer, Owner at North Fork Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2020

Thanks for sharing your experience with other potential travelers. We always enjoy having guests that choose to spend their anniversary with us. We look forward to your return and hope we can personalize your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2020

The inn itself was beautiful. The view of the mountains were breath taking. The room was very clean. Our welcoming was strange. We were welcomed by someone who initially told us he didn’t work there but then said he would show us to our room. It was very confusing. We later realized he did work there. (We never did meet Ed and Carol) When we took a bath/shower the water smelled like sulfur. We then got into the hot tub but it was very dirty. With COVID going on I think it’s absurd the hot tub wasn’t cleaned. The WiFi also was very slow to the point where you couldn’t load directions. There was also no cell service at the inn which isn’t a problem but I feel like guests should know that before hand. It’s a beautiful place with potential but some updates/cleaning needs to be done.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Reganzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin Fischer, Owner at North Fork Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2021

I am sorry that your experience was disappointing. We have made many changes since your visit. We have installed a new water softener which has solved the problem of the sulfur smell. We have drained and cleaned the hot tub and have a weekly inspection including checking the chemical balance. Because of our remote location there is no cell service and we can only get satellite broadband with maximum download speeds of 50 Mbps but averages more like 15 Mbps. It is also subject to weather conditions.

Our new Covid-19 cleaning procedures exceeds the minimum standards set forth by the CDC and other standards based organizations.

Carol and I attempt to be here to welcome our guests but also have Davis here to welcome them to our Inn. You will always find that we will respond immediately to any customer issues and wish you would have brought them to our attention when you were here so we could remedy the situation.

We hope you will come back and give us another chance to meet or exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2020

We can't say enough great things about the North Fork Mountain Inn. The owners Ed and Carol are wonderfully warm people and they not only make you feel right at home, they do what is necessary to make sure your stay is memorable. The food and drink were awesome. The view from my rocking chair on the front porch was perfect. Our room was peaceful and quiet and perfectly decorated for a mountain getaway. We look forward to our return visit in the fall when the foliage is turning and highly recommend you give this place a try.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BobB1681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed Fischer, Owner at North Fork Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2020

Bob thanks for your glowing review. It is so encouraging to us when we hear from guests like you that have enjoyed their stay. We always try to personalize the guest experience and enjoyed getting to know you. We hope we can improve and make your next visit even better. Thanks for sharing your experience with other potential guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2020

Wonderful property. The hosts are wonderful and warm, nice people who seem to love what they are doing. My room was nice, loved the mattress! Room was clean and nice large bath. To arrive at the lodge its a 10-12 mile ride down a very pleasant paved road. Steep drive is not paved but take it easy and you'll be fine.

Once you arrive at the top of the drive to the lodge its a panoramic mountain view. Very remote and quiet location, miles from anything,

Food was good, served promptly and hot. Both meals were good. Very likely you will eat here. Very good value for the price paid for this very nice property.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTravelRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin Fischer, Owner at North Fork Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2020

Thanks for your wonderful review. It is always so encouraging to receive reviews and feedback such as this from our guests. We pour our heart and soul into to delivering excellence and a personalized experience for each of our guests. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews