We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveller rating
377
86
21
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
377
86
21
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housewinter cottagethe cottagesmy husband and icourse mealserenity suitewine pairingbeautiful groundsget awaydining roomfire pitcouples massageromantic getawaynext morningsunset suitefiletsouth suite
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 490 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2018

Most amazing inn I've ever visited! Setting is gorgeous, room was amazing, service was beyond 100%....and the food at the restaurant defies description! Treat yourself to a stay at this gem! But plan to stay a bit! There are so many lovely spots on the grounds to have a wonderful glass of wine or cup of tea, read a book or just soak up the lusciousness!

Room Tip: Try the Bamford Suite
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

While Charles Town may be a local casino destination, this little inn/B&B south of town is totally unlike it. You get a lovely manor house, a spa, and wonderfully converted outbuildings in a lovely setting.

It's been almost exactly four years since I last visited. Last time was great, and this time was every bit as good.

The place is small, so there will never be a crowd there. There is plenty of parking, once you come down the tree-lined lane and across the babbling brook. Check-in is easy and quick, in a tiny little office in the manor house.

We stayed in the Serenity Suite, back up the road about 300 yards, above the Gatehouse Spa. It's a 3-minute walk and a 30-second car ride down to the manor house. The suite is above the spa, with its own private entrance in the back. We experienced no noise or other intrusions because of the spa. Parking is right out front. There is a small deck area outside the suite door with a table and chairs, if you're keen to sit out and take the air.

The room was very nice, with central air, and a window A/C unit as well. There is a wonderfully creaky kind-size brass bed, and a small wet bar, with a sink, and a small, unstocked fridge There is a wall-mounted gas fireplace which lights immediately and does in fact heat the room beautifully. The bathroom is a gem, with dual vanities, a separate shower and tub, and a custom-made two-person sauna. Awesome. There are plenty of bath/shower amenities, too, and lots of towels. The bathroom, though, is somewhat narrow, and situated under the sloping roof, can be an acrobatic endeavor for those over six feet tall.

At check-in we were not told of turn-down service, so I was more than surprised to return to the room after dinner to find the room unlocked. I had locked it, and the staff who had done the turn-down had neglected to lock the door behind them. Usually, this is an optional service, and usually it's sorted out at check-in; we didn't talk about it.

Dinner was great in the manor house, true foodie stuff, in a small and intimate dining room in the main house, with excellent service. Be prepared to pay more, though, as it's expensive.

In the morning you get a set breakfast, which is included in the room. Same dining room, and again, service was outstanding. There's also a Keurig in the room, if you're keen to say in and make your own.

Note there is no pool at this location.

Bottom Line: this is a quiet, secluded spot for couples looking to spend time together, and these folks know how to get it done. This was another great visit, and I'll be happy to return, and to recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Serenity Suite is good, but is away from the main house, as are the "cottages."
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rugby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Thank you so much for all of your kind comments. We deeply appreciate it! We're sorry that you were not informed about turndown service at check-in, as it is normally addressed at that time. We will review these issues with our staff and appreciate you letting us know. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

Spent 2 nights at the Hillbrook to celebrate a wedding anniversary. Simply can't say enough about the room, service, and food...at all a very reasonable price. They were flexible and accommodating and helped make a great escape for us.

Room Tip: Downstairs room was still very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here yesterday and what more can be said than unforgettable. There are very few places where all the staff, the food and the overall experience coalesce together to make your stay feel so special, like you're the only ones there. This is one of those places.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank airfboy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018

We stayed at the Hillbrook Inn for my wife's 40th birthday. What a great experience! The staff was fenominal, restaurant was great and facilities were beautiful. I will say one word of caution - we stayed in the South Suite. This is perhaps the most beautiful room I have ever been in - period! But, if you have any aversion to noise, you can hear people walking upstairs - it is a big deterrent to the room. However, we told the staff and for our second night, they blocked out the room above the South Suite so noone could rent it. What a great touch - because of that, we will be back. I'll definitely book the upstairs room, though. If you are looking for a whole house to book - the Hawthorne house can not be beat. Would be great for an extended family or group of couples/friends. Don't hesitate going to this inn!

Stayed: February 2018
Thank EATravels2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews