We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$131
US$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$108
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$101
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$100
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$109
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
120
87
19
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
87
19
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom suiteatop a hillfull kitchenquiet areacouple milesliving areaa pet friendly hotelstayed longerwafflesstayed for one nightdefinitely stay here againpull out couchfree breakfastbreakfast areafirst floorhousekeeping staffclose to downtown
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 245 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2017

This hotel is in a quiet area that is a little out of the way but is actually close enough to Interstates 64, 77 and 79 to be useful. The man who checked us in gave us a list of restaurants with the approximate driving time to each one. We selected one on the list, used the WiFi to check it out and easily found the place. Our unit was clean but seemed to have the smell of a cleaning agent (a carpet cleaner?). The WiFi was good, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice. Breakfast was pretty good but he oatmeal was very soupy.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TOM-LINDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

The hotel and the service was great. They take pets but they do have a mandatory $100 cleaning fee as well. The hotel is situated on top of a hill and somewhat difficult to find. There really isn't anything close to it to do or eat but other than that it was very nice.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank GRWLR51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

My daughter went to their site to book our 2 bedroom room, but when we arrived it was only one bedroom, for 4 adults. The desk clerk insisted we used a third party service to book our room. The confirmation receipt even showed it came from The Marriott Front Desk. So he said since we used a third party we could not make any changes and refused to do so.

The young female at the front desk was checking in a customer and yawned in her face without covering her mouth or apologizing after the yarn.

Food crumbs under the sofa.

When we called for extra pillows we were told we needed to come get them unless we wanted to wait because nobody could bring them for a while.

Nice that they allow pets, but hallways smell of pet urine.

Overall it is a nice hotel and breakfast is absolutely great, but front desk staff could use some training on customer service skills.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmitchell500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We are always interested in our guests impressions and appreciate being made aware of their experiences. I am sorry that you were not able to get the larger room which you desired. We always want our guests to get what they want. I will make sure that your comments are shared with the front desk and housekeeping staff to make sure this is an isolated incident. We hope to see you again soon..

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2017

This hotel is located 5-10 minutes from the interstate located on top of a hill. It's exceptionally quiet and you will hear absolutely no road noise. The young gal (Taylor??) at checkin was not the most welcoming after a long day. The morning staff was super friendly and stopped by each table while having breakfast to see how things were going.

Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I guess Residence Inn no longer does a light supper during the week but there was a dessert bar with cobbler, ice cream, fruit and sodas.

The reason I'm giving it a four rating is there are no restaurants nearby. You have to drive back to the interstate to find one. After driving 700 miles, we weren't very happy to get in the car again to go out to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

You can tell parts of this hotel have been renovated--which is good. The breakfast area and lounge is nice. The breakfast had these burritos which were very good and had a better waffle bar than other Marriotts. I think the elevator is slow and quite a bit of walking to hotel rooms. Slightly disappointed that each time I went to the front desk (total of 3), no one was ever standing there. I always had to wait a bit for someone to show. Overall, it was a fine Marriott.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank allyouneedistara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews