We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elkins Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elkins Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I came into town in unfortunate circumstances so I was looking for a hotel that could make me and my wifes stay easier. This is the place to go when traveling to Elkins. The room were spacious, clean and came complete with a mini fridge and mircowave. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when traveling back to this town.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubble1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    14
    30
    23
    35
See reviews for
30
39
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, WV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I have personally followed the Days Inn of Elkins, WV, from its inception to the present time. Having read reviews of the property, I feel compelled to share my own thoughts. Certainly the building has a history, I knew it in those days back in the 1960s. I also toured it decades later when Harold and Julia Elbon envisioned its conversion to a lodging property. They have done a marvelous job in doing so. Are there businesses on lower floors? Sure, as there are at The Greenbrier and hosts of other 4 and 5 star resort hotels, but those businesses have hours and aren't competing with sleep. The construction of the facility makes it the safest lodging property in town; that counts for a lot for me when I lay my head down at night. And I have done so there...no trouble sleeping that night!! Rowdy guests? That happens. I have been a General Manager of a lodging property. Believe me the weekend crowd is far different from the business travelers through the week, especially sports teams, wedding parties, class and family reunions. That happens in EVERY lodging property. Hotel staff are not prison wardens, nor should they be expected to be. The Days Inn in Elkins is a very fine lodging property owned and operated by some very fine and honorable folk. They are to be respected for what they have done for the community of Elkins by making a valuable contribution to the rehabilitation of a neglected property. They have done and are doing a magnificent job!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toyandtrainfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville VA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I've never been so disappointed and confused by a hotel all in the same visit. When we received our room on the third floor, we had to walk through the first floor hallway, which had various offices ranging from eye dr, bail bonds, therapist, a taxadermy, etc etc. The decor hasn't been changes since it was a hospital, assuming the 70's. The rooms are still hospital rooms, large clunky tv, old recliner chair, microwave on top of a college dorm fridge. sink in room, not in bathroom. bathroom still has handicap facilities, low toilet seat, not tub, just shower, very cramped. overall old, dated, sad state. i just felt gross and unsafe.

Room Tip: Don't do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I visit Elkins regularly, and stay at many different hotels, last year the hampton, the econo, and the year before that, the holiday inn and graceland. this year i stayed in the days inn and the super 8, and BY FAR the Day's inn was the best experience I had. They are pet friendly, and all of the rooms are no smoking. It was an old hospital and still has that burlesque feel. I was impressed with the helpfulness and friendlyness of front staff, as well as the maids. The room was exceptionally clean and roomy, i got a standard double room, and they offered a roll a way bed. Internet was AMAZING, better than it is at my own home. The bed was soft, the blankets were warm, and the view was perfect. The rooms are quiet, and the building is located by the hub of resturaunts in this town. Theres even two IN the hotel. This is 5 star, at the least, and only for about 60$ a night. I will be staying here EVERY time i go to elkins.

Room Tip: Middle rooms (odd numbers) do not have outside windows, just windows out into the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

terrible place... old hospital, i think, converted to a hotel and converted poorly... no individual temperature controls in room... some rooms in middle of building with no windows... no clocks i rooms.. our room had a shower only, which looked like it was last updated in the 1960s... lumpy mattress... unhappy unhelpful front desk clerk. there are new hotels elsewhere in town or try buckhannon about 20 miles away via main highway.

Room Tip: if you have to stay here, make sure they do NOT give you an inside room... no ventilation, no window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhappytrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

As many have stated, this used to be a hospital. There are still Dr. offices and other businesses in the building. We had a big room, would sleep 4 adults (had a sofa bed). Had 2 tv's microwave, fridge, coffee pot. Loved the extra space as we were there 5 nights. Pretty clean. My main complaint would be the air conditioning/heating. They control the temperature, you have a "fan" control. If you are a hot natured person, you'd better bring a fan. The windows would push out at the bottom, letting a little fresh air in. The ice machine is behind the front desk. You have to take your ice bucket and ask for ice. Staff was friendly. Overall ok.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewoka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadiz,oh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

This place used to be a hospital before being converted to a "hotel". It still smells like a hospital. There are 4 floors, but only 2 have rooms for customers, the rest are rented out to local businesses. The rooms are very poorly lit and the internet is poor. This makes it very hard to try to work in the evenings. There is no individual a/c or heat control, just a fan that does not work well. The bed is a cardboard box that is no more than 12 inches off the floor. The "bathroom" in micro sized. It only contains a toilet and shower stall. Thank goodness I am small, because a normal sized person would not fit in the stall. The curtains are filthy and full on cigarette burns, though the place is non smoking. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! I'm in town for 2 days, and the rest of the hotels are sold out or I would have checked out. If I could I would not feel and of the rating marks.

Room Tip: Call the Hampton Inn up the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jab14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elkins hotels
0.8 km away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Iron Road Inn
Iron Road Inn
#5 of 8 in Elkins
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.7 km away
Super 8 Elkins
Super 8 Elkins
#4 of 8 in Elkins
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkins Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkins Inn & Suites

Property: Elkins Inn & Suites
Address: 1200 Harrison Avenue, Randolph Center, Elkins, WV 26241 (Formerly Days Inn Elkins)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elkins Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Elkins Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Elkins Hotel Elkins
Elkins Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing