We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cozy cabin in the woods!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Entrance Fish from your hot tub!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Main Entrance
Fish from your hot tub!
Directly riverside, fish from your private hot tub !
Large Kitchen and Dining area
Enjoy the snowy river from your hot tub!
Large screened porch
Picnic on the porch
View from across the river.
Cathedral celing with Fieldstone hearth w/ gas logs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Elkins, West Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Andrea G
Fort Belvoir, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect cozy cabin in the woods!”
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This cozy little cabin in the woods, right next to the river, is exactly what we hoped for! Our family, from Great Grandma to Great Granddaughter came to Elkins to ride the Polar Express. We wanted to pair that with a cozy fun stay in a log cabin with room for all of us. This cabin was exactly that. It was clean. The furnishings were just right for a log cabin stay. Our granddaughter loved her quilt covered bed in the loft. Plenty of hot water for baths and showers. The drive to the train station is only 15 minutes. Thank you!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Room for all of us and the fireplace
Liked least: No dishwasher
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loutaylor...
1 review
“A great getaway. And close to town”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My wife and I rented this cabin from October 31 to nov. 4. We had a great time. The service was great. It was cold when we was there. And between the gas fireplace and the hot tub. We enjoyed the entire weekend. All and all worth the money. Not far from town and attractions. Scenic railroad, right down. In town.

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay87
2 reviews
“WONDERFUL GETAWAY!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had the best time staying in the Rhode. It was very quiet and relaxing. I was scared that being close to the water we would see mice, bugs, & spiders, but I never seen one thing.
The cabin looks just like the pictures shows except the bedding, it had different bed
coverings on them (very nice) and the beds were sooooo comfortable! The furniture was also in super condition & very comfy. The kitchen was stocked very well with pots and pans, dishes & utensils of all kinds. It was a great weekend... we will stay again!!

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cabin, quietness, peaceful
Liked least: The fact I couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncrbrew
the burgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“As always a great get away.”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Wanted to take the GF to CRL for an overnight had a fun day at local attractions and decided to stay at the Rhodedendron. Perfect for 1 or 2 couples and you can easily throw a kid in the loft. Always loved the place, heading back down for a couples get away later this month all 6 of us have stayed in a few of the cabins/houses and love it. Keep up the great work CRL.
Nick

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2014
When we get great responses from guests like you who appreciate our efforts to provide very nice accommodations in a rural setting, it makes us want to do more ! So here is what is in the works for the Rhododendron (and our other properties, too). A nice flat screen TV has been mounted on the wall since your stay A conversion to an updated color scheme and décor is in the works, and we are converting the bed linens to include white duvets. This gives a contemporary, fresh look to our bedrooms. We are re-carpeting the screen porch, and revamping its décor to make it a cozy place to spend a warm afternoon. I think you'll enjoy the improvements when you come back ! Thanks again for taking the time to post a review. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam k
columbia, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lesson Learned”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I booked a week at Cheat River Lodge in the Rhododendron house.
I send my $787.35 (50%) deposit via check. 10 days before my reservation I called to cancel and was told that if they re-rented it I would get my deposit back. I said that is fine. Well I thought that I would get my deposit back for the 3 days that they did re-rented. I was told "no refund" because they didn't rent it for the full 7 days that I had made the reservation for. Yes their policy states that. I just think their policy stinks. So read the fine print and be careful.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2013
What this person failed to add was that the nights that re-rented were at the END of her stay. If we were like most home rental companies/agencies we would have required 100% upfront, and then yes she would be due a refund. The first half of her reservation was not re-rented, and unfortunately the house sat empty. See also does not tell you that we had held this specific property for her exclusive use since May 20, 2013 almost 8 weeks. We do not charge a booking fee for a cancellation, but we require that all nights re-rent. The reservation can be transferred to another person. Certainly it would be better to 'gift' the reservation to someone rather than lose your deposit. When Pam cancelled, the policy was reiterated, and this suggestion was made.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S
Manassas, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect quiet weekend getaway!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin was the most amazing location and was exactly what we were looking for! It was located right on the river, perfect for fishing. The hot tub was so close to the river we could've almost fished right from it. Between the wood burning fireplace, the river right out the door, and the hot tub steps from porch, we couldn't have asked for a more romantic setting.
The staff was extremely helpful and responsive. As soon as we arrived we noticed we would need more wood (we planned on having one going from the moment we arrived until we left!); even in the 4in of snow already on the ground, they came within the hour and dropped off more. They even came back the next day to bring more wood - considering there was now 8in of snow on the ground, couldn't ask for better service!
We will definitely be back to this adorable cabin sometime soon!

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2013
Thank you for such kind words! We are a small non-commercial getaway and we really strive to offer a great service. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisawashi...
Washington dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it here!!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from a great weekend at the Cheat River Lodge...we stayed in the Rhodedendrum. We have stayed at this quiet retreat on two other occasions and have LOVED it. Coming from the DC suburbs, we look forward to the laid back peace and quiet this place provides. A previous review mentioned a bat problem and I can only say that the cabins are in the woods...deep canopy woods located along a river...so if you're looking for a hotel experience..this isn't going to be for you. We never had any problems with bats so it must have been a rare situation. We look forward to coming back again and again...it rejuvinates the soul!!!!

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet and fishing from the deck
Liked least: the kitchen could have had more dining necessities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.