We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Durbin and Greenbrier Valley Railroad
Save
Review Highlights
Fun and scenic

We (four 50-ish adults) rode the "Durbin Rocket" in mid-September. The scenery was lovely. We could... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Time_Lady
,
Johnstown, PA
We're going back!

We went here for Polar Express in December 2015 and are going back this year, December 2018. What a... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Sara M
,
Broad Run, Virginia
Read all 316 reviews
  
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
180
89
27
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
89
27
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parlor car cookies high falls cheat river tygart flyer cold cuts train ride sandwiches salad great ride lunch buffet hour trip dinner train return trip strawberry shortcake tables and chairs durbin rocket
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 316 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We made our reservations a day or two in advance and the tickets were already printed at the ticket office at the train depot. The depot has many unique gifts and also free literature for all of the attractions in the area. We were informed by loudspeaker when to board and were greeted as we boarded the train. The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable with all of the sights and questions that all of the riders asked. There was always at least one staff member on each train car to inform the passengers what to look for along the trip. A buffet lunch was served and the food was plentiful and good. A server came around constantly and served or refilled drinks. The train went to a waterfall in a very wooded secluded area along the Upper Cheat River. The train stopped and allowed all of the passengers an opportunity to walk to the waterfalls and take pictures. Overall it was a very pleasant endeavor and would recommend it to anyone. There are a variety of trains and length of trips to take. I'm sure it would be a great ride when the leaves are changing too!

18  Thank pensfan7187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a four hour trip through the mountains with a stop at the water fall on the Cheat River.
Definitely recommend the upgrade to the Parlor Car- well worth the extra few dollars for better viewing, sit down table service for lunch, and free soda, lemonade, etc.
The regular coaches are tables for four, not regular railcar seating. All tickets include lunch, either buffet, or custom-made sandwiches in Parlor Car.

8  Thank Walter53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We were in the car where a lunch was provided and it was well worth the extra expense compared to the regular cars. Tables and chairs were placed to provide the maximum view with every table along the side of the train, by the windows. Lunch options were sandwiches or salads and were very good, if not extraordinary. Children under 12 were not allowed in this car which was a plus. I think the time on the train would have been too long for young children to enjoy. We enjoyed the scenery to the Cheat River Falls and then got off the train and walked down to view the Falls. Plenty of time was allowed there before we reboarded and returned to Elkins. The walk down to the Falls would be too difficult for anyone with mobility or balance issues but is not long or strenuous. There was some broadcast commentary on the trip but not too much, most of the trip allowed for quiet conversation or enjoying the views in silence. This was the most relaxing part of a trip where we focused on the beauty of nature in West Virginia and I highly recommend it.

10  Thank GPM-Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We took the New Tygart Flyer trip on July 28th, 2011. We were all excited about the trip but soon became disappointed because it was more than an hour into the trip before they put out the lunch buffet. The train was slow-moving, but it was still swaying a bit as we made our way to and from the buffet line. There were cold cuts, cheeses, tomatoes, lettuce and onion for the sandiwiches. Bags of chips, packaged condiments and lemonade or iced tea were included. Sodas and candy were available for purchase. I was expecting a better lunch, but what we had sufficed considering there is no kitchen on board. Once we got to the top, we were only given 20 minutes or so to see the Upper and Lower Falls. Everyone is forced to congregate in a very small area and the rocks were a little slippery. (My daughter actually fell while negotiating through the rocks). The trail down to the falls would be very difficult for anyone who requires a walker or who has trouble walking. It was a so-so trip. I would not do this trip again.

9  Thank sjbeacham316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2011

rode in regular passenger car we had to travel to backoff train to fix our own meal while traveling ,car swaying and brakes applied older people and small children had to carry their drinks and plates of food back to their car and seat themselves, no easy feat,very dangerous music on train was not good,drinks were not good ,warm, veiw of falls could not be enjoyed if you were hadicapped ,lady that was server on train not the friendliest nerver smiled. would not recommend this to my friends way over priced for the view and overall trip seen embarresed by all the junk along the ride for such a beautiful state.do not use restroom at the high fall stop never been cleaned outside toilets

11  Thank srowe04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews