We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a little below average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falling Waters
Certificate of Excellence
Albany
1 review
“It was a little below average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The night manager was friendly and welcoming. We, too, had to walk through somewhat of a smoking section to get to our room which was not very welcoming. Being from New York where smoking has been banned just about everywhere it's definitely a shock to be in an establishment where it stinks. Our room was OK, could have used some updating and comfy touches (the comforter was thin and almost seemed like we just had a few sheets on top of us.) There isn't much around the hotel for food, luckily we stopped about 3 exits before to eat. I chose the hotel vs. more pricey hotels around because we only needed it for a short sleep pit stop, and while I don't regret it, but I probably won't be booking a hotel room under $100 again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    50
    36
    8
    11
See reviews for
53
55
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel had a very friendly staff nice location. I stayed on the third floor non smoking room. Unfortunately, i had to walk through the smoking section to get to my room. My room smelled fine but the hallway getting there was pretty bad. The bed was a soft bed, breakfast was just OK for a free breakfast. They had a pancake making machine, biscuits, eggish omelets, cereal, and pastries (hot cinnamon rolls). I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inkevable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Inkevable,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and our friendly staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel corridor especially going to your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This Indian owned and operated hotel had a very friendly staff but its just an OK facility.
We stayed on the third floor and it was part smoking and part non smoking.
We had to walk thru the smoking section to get to our no smoking rooms.
Our room smelled fine but the hallway getting there was terrible.
The bed was a very very soft bed and I woke up with the worst back pain I have ever had from a hotel bed.
The breakfast was acceptable as a free breakfast but I wouldnt have paid for it.
Biscuits were hard and dry, bacon was paper thin and floppy. They had a pancake making machine that made one small thin pancake in about one minute, they looked ok.
They did have a good hot cinnamon rolls.. Just on down the road in Martinsburg, WV is another Holiday Inn, its about the same. In this area the Hampton in Martinsburg is the place to stay, I know as I have been in this area meany times for work.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinPapaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

The folks working at the Holiday Inn Express are a friendly, hard working bunch. They made us feel at home and you can tell they take pride in their hotel. The hotel itself is in need of an update, but overall it was comfortable and in a good location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Compared to other Holiday Inns/Express where we have stayed recently, this one feels below average. It's not terrible at all, but there's nothing really appealing about it either. Room feels old and in need of some renovations. Old box TV (who cares, but now you know), small lines of black mold here and there in the bathroom (not alarming but it's there), and so on.
I guess this is what you should expect from a roadside motel, but a lot of these establishments have really shaped up lately so you kind of expect more and more. Don't be put off by this review, we all slept through the night, the beds were ok and breakfast was all right. But I won't be hurrying back anytime soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JufferJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We were driving from NY to NC and made a reservation here because they had a reasonable rate for pets: $15 each, which was the cheapest we have seen. It is also next to the exit. Our room was on the first floor with a king bed, sofa and desk. We found it to be perfect for what we needed. Temperature was fine, bed was comfortable, floors and bathroom were clean and tv was right in front of our bed a few feet away. It wasn't far from the back door so it was easy to take the dogs out. We were also able to park by the back door and bring our things in closer to our room. They had a two for one coupon for a Japanese Steakhouse a few exits south, called Kobe, which we tried and it was a fabulous New Year's Eve dinner! The only issue we had was that someone three rooms away must have left their dog alone, which you are NOT supposed to do. It went on for hours and when I checked out I mentioned it to the front desk clerk and he said he was aware of the problem and had addressed it with that person.

Room Tip: If you bring pets, ask for a first floor room near the back door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynJ6354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We chose the Holiday Inn Express for an overnight stop as we were traveling with out pet and knew they were pet friendly. We have stayed at many other Holiday Inn Express on other similar trips and always found them acceptable, but this time was disappointed in the facility. The building appeared new from the exterior but found the interior tired and in need of many repairs and improvements. We arrived at 8:30pm and the outside temperature was 40 degrees. Upon entering the room, it was not much above 50 degrees since the heat was not on. You would think that knowing the room was reserved and paid for, they could have turned on the heat. We had reserved a king bed and were given an L-shaped room which was so large that you could barely see the TV from the bed. It was at least 20' away. See an earlier post with the same comment. The center of the room was completely empty and very uncomfortable. We, therefore requested another room and was given one with 2 queen beds and told there would be an up-charge. We questioned the reason for the up-charge, since the rooms are the same price on-line, so they dropped the issue and gave us the same rate as the king room. This room was also 50 degrees and the heat shut off. We sat in the room for 20 minutes with jackets on until the heat was up to a comfortable level. As far as the room goes, there was an old TV which didn't pull-out or swivel in a worn out wooden cabinet, a wall scone with broken glass, a broken night lock on the door, lumpy pillows and a very uncomfortable bed. The bathroom was clean except no cover seat on the toilet. Outside the room, the hallways were in need of upgrading, the stairway had a sloppy paint job and the elevator looked like a service elevator which hadn't been cleaned. The breakfast was cold and unappetizing and the coffee very weak so we ate elsewhere. We should have read reviews before booking at this Holiday Inn Express and not assumed all Holiday Inn Express are of the same standards.

Room Tip: Don't reserve a King Bed in the L-Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flechar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falling Waters
0.4 km away
Motel 6 Martinsburg
Motel 6 Martinsburg
#3 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
7.4 km away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#4 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
11.4 km away
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
#5 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
12.3 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring
15.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North

Property: Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North
Address: 1220 TJ Jackson Drive, I-81 Exit 20, Falling Waters, WV 25419-4646 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Falling Waters
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falling Waters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is just off I-81 at exit 20 between Martinsburg, WV and Hagerstown, MD and offers an amazing night's sleep on new mattresses, an incredible value and friendly service. In the morning, we have a Full Hot Breakfast with Sausage, Eggs, Pancakes-In-A-Minute-Flat, Biscuits and Gravy, Fresh Fruit, Hardboiled Eggs, Baked Goods, Yogurt, Juice, Coffee, etc to get your day off to a great start. We have Premium Wi-Fi, High Def Televisions, and Micro-Fridge units in every room for your convenience. We're also a pet-friendly hotel so feel free to bring your furry ones. Our location is close to Hagerstown Premium Outlets, Charles Town casino, Shepherd University and civil war sites including C&O Canal, Harper's Ferry, Antietam National Battlefield. Make the Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North your next stop on the trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North Hotel Falling Waters
Holiday Inn Falling Waters
Falling Waters Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Martinsburg North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing