We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT Number 1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Reviewed 6 November 2011

HUGE sign at the entrance that says they are trip advisor #1, not really. If you can get beyond the the smell of stale smoke it's ok. Front desk lady was a bit less than pleasant. The old tube tv's were a bit much. The rooms were clean however the building is dirty and dated. For less $ I would recommend, not for what I paid.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim60142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for your response. I'm very sorry you did not have a great experience. After more than 2 years at number one, we did fall to number two in the ratings. We use the banner to help direct people to the inn and wanted to make sure we didn't go back to number one before we took it down, since the new number one still has 40 less reviews than we do. I will most definitely address your issues that you had during your stay with my staff. They love to get feedback and will certainly improve in the areas you mentioned. Thanks again for yor review.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

We checked tripadvisor which said this was #2 on the list. The banner out front proclaims #1 on tripadvisor. I was seriously shocked at how basic! The people are friendly, the rooms clean...In order to have a coffeemaker or anything else you need to pay additional money.(No hairdryer,conditioner, hand cream,coffee or even a closet in the room). The BEST part of the room was the GREATEST shower pressure I have ever exerienced!!! I would stay again, but felt deceived by the #2 rating...you do get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheryl o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

I'm sorry if you felt deceived by the trip advisor rating. Trip Advisor rates based on experience, not ammenities offered. We offer a clean comfortable room with friendly customer service. We are an economy hotel without a lot of ammenities to keep costs down. I'm glad you did notice our cleanliness, service and water pressure. My staff does work very hard to provide a great experience for every guest. Thank you for your response.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

As budget motels go, this Red Roof Inn is really pretty decent. Room was clean and looked recently remodeled with fresh paint, new carpet and curtains. The bed was a little mushy, but overall comfortable. Couldn't beat the price! Though the scratchy towels do remind you of your savings...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2007Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thank you for your response. I agree that we represent a very good value for lodging accomodations. I wanted to also mention that we will be getting more new mattresses over the
next year. Thank you again for your business.

Jon Campbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Overall, this Red Roof Inn is very good, indeed. This Red Roof Inn is what Holiday Inns used to be when I was growning up. No frills, just a clean room for the night.

It's in an excellent location for jumping off to downtown Huntington, or zipping off to the state capitol on business. Finding the road to get into the property, is another matter. I cut through the Days Inn parking lot on my arrival there, simply because the road isn't marked well at all. I think in an answer to a previous commenter, management said the reason was because of a local zoning ordnance. Not exactly the way to encourage business or tourism travel, guys!

Check-in was straightforward, no hassles. This is an older property with outside doors, and what looked like a sizable contingent of contractors or construction workers were staying there during my visit as well. I was in a king room with refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. The rug had one dirty spot, but as it looked like management tried to clean it and failed, I'll give them the benefit of the doubt. Other than that, the room was well kept-up, and the bathroom was spotless. $1.50 per night is charged for a room safe, but it's refunded if you don't use it.

No breakfast comes with the room, but wi-fi was available. This property is a throwback to simpler days of travel. The thought that comes to mind as I close this review is simple -- if this property is #1 or #2, what are the other places in Huntington like? Even with those reservations about this property, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam_Damon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Thanks for your very detailed review. We are planning to get all new flooring in our rooms in the next year and to update the softgoods as periodically needs to be done. I think you sum up Red Roof pretty well, clean, comfortable, and friendly. A straightforward room without a lot of frills, but a very good value.

Thanks again for your business and your review.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I have for several years chosen the Red Roof Inn for it's cleanliness, the friendly service, and the locale. I have stayed there through family reunions, school reunions, and several family funerals. it is just convient for my every need. I will be looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: South side rooms are quieter, and I recommend non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenaPruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Thanks for you great review. We appreciate our many long time guests like yourself and look forward to seeing you on your next stay. Thanks again and I will pass on your comments to my staff.

Jon Campbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the Red Roof Inn in Huntington, WV this past weekend. Upon arrival we found the staff to be courteous and pleasant, our room clean and comfortable with all the amenities as advertised. Our request for fresh towels was honored immediately.
We have stayed here many times before and havenever had an unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Have stayed in all areas of this facility and have found no difference in the rooms or environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Thank you for your kind words. I will pass them on to my staff. We appreciate your business over the years and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

No breakfast, but with the money we saved, we could go out and eat a huge meal.
The furniture was not Ethan Allen, but was comfortable, clean and more than adequate to meet our needs.
If you are looking for a lavish, 5 star motel, then go somewhere and spend hundreds of dollars. If you are looking for a clean, nice, comfortable place at a very reasonable price...........JACKPOT, this is it.
Staff was VERY courteous, helpful, and eager to serve.
Great place.......great!

Room Tip: Go to the Red Roof website and check for discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Thank you for your kind words, I couldn't have said it better myself. No frills, but clean comfortable and affordable with a friendly staff. I will pass this on to my staff since they are really the ones responsible for everything that we do right. Thanks for your business and I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
6.5 km away
Super 8 Huntington WV
Super 8 Huntington WV
#4 of 12 in Huntington
483 reviews
3.1 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 12 in Huntington
81 reviews
7.4 km away
Best Western Huntington Mall Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
8.7 km away
Pullman Plaza Hotel
Pullman Plaza Hotel
#10 of 12 in Huntington
200 reviews
7.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Huntington

Address: 5190 US Route 60, Huntington, WV 25705-2002
Region: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range: $88 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Huntington 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of I-64 near Huntington Mall, Marshall University, and St. Mary’s Hospital, this Red Roof is also just 6 miles from Pullman Square, Cabell Huntington Hospital, and Huntington Civic Center, and less than a 20 minute drive to Blenko Glass and Camden Park. The friendly staff at this location know how to make guests feel confident, significant, and delighted. NEW! Ask about our New River Train Ride packages—they aren’t till fall, but this package will book up quickly! For more information, just call us here at the property. Our friendly team members look forward to providing directions to area attractions. All rooms offer free WiFi and a flat screen TV. Select rooms offer microwave/microfridge units. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. This location offers On Command Video with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Huntington Hotel Huntington
Huntington Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing